We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a little out of the way”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The decor is a little dated but the comfort of the room and the bathroom made up for it. The beds were very comfortable. Give it a couple more years and the hotel will be retro. The hotel is 3.5km from the centre of Hobart, there is a bus stop outside but buses are infrequent. Taxi fare into Hobart is around $10. There are some shops and restaurants about 1km away. If you are in Hobart to see the sights and don't have a car then the hotel is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetpeaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Perhaps the one thing that is missing from the name is the "Casino" bit. While it wasn't a huge problem, knowing we were staying at a casino would make a difference as neither of us gambles at all. The distance from the car park to the room can take you around 5minutes, again not a huge problem but it is a fair hike.
The room itself was large enough and was clean and recently painted, but I'm not sure who they consulted on the colours as it's quite overbearing being in a dark coloured (dark khaki really?) room. A bit of light coloured paint to the walls and ceilings would do wonders. Perhaps the designer 30 years ago thought people would like rooms shaped like Trivial Pursuit wedges, but I am sure the novelty has faded.
Staff and amenities were fine, eating was also reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marko2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to recognise the great value that Wrest Point offers, with 5 restaurants and 4 bars under one roof there is certainly a lot of choice. We are constantly reviewing the decor and making enhancements and will take your comments into account for the updating which is ongoing. The trivial pusuit analogy is a good one, many guests enjoy the uniqueness of our property and this is just one them.... Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have reviewed this hotel previously. Not much has changed except that WiFi is now free and TV is better. Neither of these are particularly important points, but I think demonstrates that management is listening to its guests. Rooms are still somewhat faded, but the bathroom in my room had been upgraded and was sparkling. Staff friendly and helpful. View over Mt Wellington great, but windows were a little dirty. Room quiet service good. A return stay is a definite

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Yes, we certainly listen very carefully and take all of our customer feedback very seriously - thankyou for pointing out the enhancements we have implemented and I am very glad you had a memorable stay. The free wi-fi and flat screen TV's are certainly being appreciated by many of our guests who also enjoy the spectacular views of Mount Wellington. Our windows are cleaned on a regular basis however I will certainly review the schedule to make sure it is adequate as we don't want anything to take away from the great views. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Pathetic service from concierge not willing to help with luggage....Asked check in staff where to park our car and with a finger pointed over there somewhere..room very dated with paint color I haven't seen since my teens...babysh.t yellow I think yuck...mountain view yeah right more like car park view..

Old and worn fittings and bathroom was like mould everywhere..yikes...carpet worn and smelled of cigarette smoke...

Dined one night in Pier One and meal was cold and when bought to staff attention they just laughed and walked away....

Goodbye wrestpoint and will never recommend or stay with you again....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WE_R_OFF_and_RACING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your open opinions with us, we certainly appreciate your honesty. I was dissapointed to read that you were not satisfied with the service you recieved, it is certainly not a reflection of our usual standards of service and your comments have been passed onto the relevant people for action. Kind regards, Andrew Fox, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My partner and I were looking to spoil ourselves after working hard this whole year. Wrest point staff were amazing. Friendly, warm and so helpful. The room was fantastic ... king size bed and views to die for. We felt thoroughly cared for and rested when we left this hotel. Meals are available to suit any budget and the proximity to the city and harbour was an added bonus .. thanks so much to all the staff at Wrest point.

Room Tip: We chose the top rooms facing the harbour. Bed was so roomy and comfortable and AC hardly noticeabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

It was great to read you enjoyed our service and facilities so much, the king beds are indeed very cosy and the views amazing. When you need another hard earned rest from work then please think of Wrest Point again - it's a great place for R&R!
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We flew into Hobart to do some touring around Tassie & booked in to Wrest point for the first two nights. We were amazed by the beautiful panoramic view from our 12th floor room. Even though it was celebrating it's 40th birthday it was in quite good shape. The service was so good, a porter met us at the door & took our luggage up to our room & our hire car was valet parked. We were made to feel so important that we were waiting for the papparatsi ( not even sure of the spelling ) to run up & start snapping photo's of us. With heaps of places to eat within the building one didn't need to go out to eat. We found the buffet restaurant very good. There is a fine dining restaurant too. The King size bed was very comfy & plenty of fluffy towels in the bathroom.
We were so impressed that we booked a night for when we returned from our tripping around & sadly had to fly home to Brisbane the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower with water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irened11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

It sounds like you have a great stay here in Tassie and it was good to hear the rockstar arrival we gave you - all part of the service! Next time you visit you'll have to try out the fine dining Point Revolving Restaurant, it is truely something special. Thanks very much for taking the time to post the positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've stayed at Wrest Point on a number of occasions in the last few years and it seems to slowly be getting better each time. I stayed in room 906 and whilst the carpet and interior looks like its been there for 40 years it was nice to see a crisp clean white quilt on the bed instead of those horrible brown blankets and 1950's covers, this room also had a spectacular view across the river and towards Hobart, would be hard to get sick of that view. There are a number of bars and places to eat and they are reasonably priced, Sandy Bay is not far away from the hotel and there are a number of restaurants to pick from there if you so desired.

The hotel itself has a lot of potential, a little bit of money and this could be a world class facility. There were a number of concerts on at the hotel the weekend I stayed, this obviously meant increased occupancy and I paid a premium price for this which left me feeling a little ripped off but I will be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidsilver78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Over the past months we have been updating the bedding with new crisp triple sheeted linen and doonas so it is great to hear you enjoyed the new configuration. The view is indeed fantastic and is commented on by many of our customers also. Thanks for pointing out the fantastic line-up of entertainment we have as well, there is always something coming up.
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
726 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £85 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing