We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in the tower and had a great view of the water from the ninth floor. The rooms in the tower are not big. Two and adults and 2 kids under 8 fill the room. That is fine as we didn't spend much time there. The rooms are clean which is a big deal for me.

Modern? Not so much. But I'll take clean over that.

The breakfast included in the room was really average at best. For the girls it was fine. A little bit of everything but it was really quite average and not worth the $$.

The property is okay. On. Sliding scale for Hobart it's hard to say, but it's not comparable to what you'll get in the other capital cities. Just so you set your expectations, not to ward you off.

The staff is friendly and helpful. I won't discourage you from staying here, it's nice. It's just not awesome.

Room Tip: Face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnsey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Cleanliness is indeed very important to our guests and we take it very seriously so thanks for recognising the fact the room was sparkling. I was dissapointed to read your comments about the breakfast, I will certainly make sure we review this asap as it's such an important meal we need to make sure we are giving our guests the best start to the day. Thanks for sharing your balanced view, it is much appreciated.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    360
    178
    55
    26
See reviews for
129
402
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Although Wrest Point Casino has been around for a long time, it does have some charm. The location is lovely with great views of the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and Hobart.
The accommodation is spacious and very clean, and very Hobart. A bit old fashioned with plenty of timber. Not sure this all comes together in the foyer, with a multitude of different colours, and building materials. I think the front door and outside could do with a little TLC. The staff are all very helpful and courteous and this makes it a very nice place to stay. The full breakfasts are good with a touch of Tasmanian produce, in the jams and honey. I am very disappointed in the amount that we were charged to change from at Wotif booking, and this will definitely impact on our staying here again. We tried the Pier One restaurant which is in part of the casino complex.
The food was good, however it did lack imagination and although the quality was there the flare wasn't.
Thank you again to the pleasant, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Harbour view. Some of the accommodation is quite ordinary in the older part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Wrest Point, I was glad to hear you enjoyed the comfortable rooms and that we looked after you well. Your observations about the food in both Pier One and the Coffee Shop buffet are great as it gives us the opportunity to continue with some concepts and amend others. The decor is something we continue to update, thanks for sharing your views on this also.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We jetted down to Hobart for the weekend to escape Melbourne, celebrate my gorgeous wife's birthday and reset our food and wine appreciation.
We chose Wrest Point as although we have been to Hobart a number of times we had never staid in this iconic building. I found it astonishing that this is the highest building in Tasmania!
Our taxi from the airport in was edge of your seat stuff, heavy rain and an F1 driver at the wheel. They cant have speed limits down here?
At Wrest Point we were happy to get out and enjoyed their immediate hospitality.
Our room on the west side had great views down along the beach, with ducks and a black rabbit adding to the view. The outlook is just superb from ever where you look from.
The rooms are big enough the bed a joy to sleep in. The fact that we could open a window and enjoy the fresh air made the whole visit so much better.
The staff and facilities at Wrest Point made us welcome and comfortable for the weekend. I can recommend a stay here anytime. Rooms, they all have views that you will not tire of. A marvelous weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of either the mountains and the hills surrounding or the fantastic ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Wow, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us, what a great way to celebrate your wife's birhtday - she is very lucky! Thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed for Six Days in Early March to Celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary, we were upgraded to the 16th Floor with great Mountain views. We went to the Pier One Restaurant and the Food and Service were Excellent. Went up to The Revolving Restaurant for Cocktails one afternoon the Service and Cheese platter was great. Overall Wrest Point was awesome. It was great to receive the Newspaper everyday at our door, was not expecting that, nice touch. We will be back one day to stay at Wrest Point and to explore more of Tasmania.

Room Tip: Higher Floor room in the Tower were nicer and quieter no road noise from Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience and congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary - that's a fantastic achievement. We look forward to welcoming you back for another anniversary some time soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid March. Very good location, nice surrounding with beautiful view of the harbor. An aged hotel but properly managed and well maintained. Room was spacious and spotless, comfy bed and very clean bathroom. Staff were nice and friendly.

Had tried the breakfast and dinner buffets at the coffee shop but quite average with not much choice. The dinner at Pier One Restaurant was good and tasty, value for money, but way toooooo slow, had spent almost 2.5 hours there for a 3-course dinner, guess it's not a major problem for most people as there's nothing much to do at night anyway. Free self-serve beverages at the casino was also a plus, the coffee was great. All in all, it’s a nice hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor of the main building have much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cckc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for sharing your comments about Wrest Point and it was great to hear you enjoyed the fantastic view and comfortable room. Your comments regarding your dining experiences are much appreciated also as specific feedbacks such as this allows us to improve our service and offerings for future customers, something that we work particularly hard at doing.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Upon booking our room online my wife and I were very excited for our stay at Wrest Point. It was supposed to be a 4.5 star accommodation and our room cost $159 for the night. It boasted great features and a view over the water. When we got there however, the room looked quite dated and bland.
We didn't arrive till about half past 7. So we were given our 2x room keys and given basic directions. It was a fair walk we discovered. Our room was 130. We went up the stairs, turned right and went down the hall. Took a left that took us through some double doors (which needed our room keys). Went straight ahead (following the signs) It said rooms 120-135 (or something) this direction. So we followed the hallway until we got to a "T" intersection. To the left was rooms 300-315 and to the right 316-325. There was no sigs ANYWHERE for our rooms. We discovered after about 10 mins of looking around we needed to take an elevator downstairs 2 floors to the ground floor. Very frustrating.
Upon entry to our room, there was a large white stain on the bed quilt which looked awful so straight away we pulled it off the bed and put it on the floor. At night we wanted to close the curtains however the curtain rails did not reach the wall so there was a massive gap that people could see right into our room (not even lace reached the wall). We had the poke one of the chairs against the wall which then pushed the curtain closed a bit more.
At night it was very clear to hear the people stayed in the rooms either side of us. My wife said while she was in the bathroom she could hear another woman in the room next to her easily, even combing the knots out of her hair.
The beds were comfortable however, and we did have access to some limited pay-tv channels. The bathroom did not have a fan however, so after a shower the mirror was completely fogged up, and if someone needed to go to the toilet, there was no way of removing the smell.
We did enjoy a nice dinner at the Riverview restaurant (which is more of a bistro type meal). Nice views, good price and delicious.
I did also like the idea of the complimentary newspaper outside our door in the morning. That was a nice surprise. To sum it up, for $159 per night, we would have expected a bigger room, or if not bigger, something a bit more fancy, or if not fancy, maybe atleast something not on the ground floor.
Will we not be staying here again.

Pros:
Complimentary newspaper
Comfortable Beds.
Riverview Restaurant good value.

Cons:
Expensive for what we experienced.
Dirty bed quilt
Curtains that dont close properly
No fan in bathroom
Paper thin walls.
No clear signing directing how to get to room

Room Tip: Try and get a room which is not on ground floor. They are old and outdated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dahje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks Dahje for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay, the specific details are very valuable for us to ensure we deliver consistently great experiences for future customers and also give us the opportunity to rectify particular issues like signage, curtains etc. It was good to hear you enjoyed the Riverview Snacks bistro and complimentary newspapers. Thanks again for providinf feedback and our sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed fro three days recently for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and were located on the 1st floor in the old building. Very dated but clean. En suite very/very small. TV on a swivel but unable to turn completely due to the fact it was in a wall unit. Nearly needed a cut lunch to get from our room to the main part of the casino, up a very old lift with poor markings then in and around corridors. A bit of a chuckle we purchased a ten game Keno at the casino and by the time we had got back to our room three games had elapsed. Would have liked to have stayed in the main building for our special event but you take what you are given. We dined in three of the restaurants and could not fault any of them. (Slightly overpriced but very delicious.) Staff were exceptional in every way. Next time I would insist that our room was in the main building and not in the bleaches. Room 126 miles away.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building. Views are heaps better and closer to restaurants and gaming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colbenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience and congratulations on reaching your 25th wedding anniversary - that's a fantastic achievement! It was great to hear you enjoyed the food from our various restaurants and the great customer care which our team constantly delivers. We would love to welcome you back some time soon into one of our Tower room which have spectacular views of the Derwent and Mount Wellington. Thanks for your constructive comments also, it is much appreciated.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.1 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing