We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrest Point Casino” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wrest Point Casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The last time I visited this property it was tired and in need of a refurb. I recently visited the hotel on business and was pleasantly surprised with the newly refurbished rooms. They were very spacious and comfortable. I travel a lot on business and it is difficult to sleep when you are away from home. I slept really well at this hotel as the bed was very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurants for both dinner and breakfast were very nice. Lovely views from the room. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It was great to read your comments Rosie and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit. We have made numerous improvements over the past 12 months so it was nice to recieve recognition for all of the hard work our housekeeping and maintenance teams have done. The team are all very customer focused so it was good to hear you enjoyed our service too.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Fox
Wrest point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    360
    178
    55
    26
See reviews for
129
402
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hi my name is damien Auksorius , I stayed at wrest point over the Christmas break , the pool was awesome and the all you can eat Buffett was excellent also , have to recommend this great place, the gaming area also was very well layed out and if you needed a drink you could just press a button on the pokie machine , a big thumbs up

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for posting your comments Damien and it is great to hear you enjoyed Wrest Point over Christmas, it's a great place to stay all year round however particularly when the Sydney - Hobart boats are coming down the Derwent. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a "secret room" at a 5 star hotel in Hobart on Last Minute. The hotel turned out to be Wrst Point. When we checked in, they put us into Wateredge- a very old, motel style room about 300 metres of corridors and elevators away from Reception.
We immediately rejected the room and they "found" us a room in the tower. This room was acceptable but about 3 star in our view.
Breakfast was ordinary, the hotel decode was 1980.
I would look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pottsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to pass on your thoughts regarding the hotel and I was saddened to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. The Tower rooms are AAA rated (not self rated) as 4.5 star however we certainly respect your opinion and realise they may not suit everyones taste.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Wrest Point Hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was on the 14 floor and had great views and was clean and tidy. However the yellow mustard walls took some getting used to. We thought it would be a good idea to have dinner in the Loft Bistro at the hotel one of 5 restaurants. Unfortunately it was not a good experience. The chargrilled squid had not seen a chargrill - it was more like boiled squid and almost inedible. The seafood platter was generous but the seafood was not fresh and appeared to have been frozen. Having said this our buffet breakfast in The Coffee Shop was very nice with a good selection. Overall our stay was good and the $5 valet parking was value for money.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few dollars and get a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It is great to hear your overall stay at Wrest Point was a positive experience, thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts. Many guests comment on our great breakfast selection so it was good to hear you enjoyed this also, thanks for letting us know about your experience in the Loft - your feedback has been passed onto our Executive Chef who is looking into it.

Kind Regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in the Water's Edge section and really loved the views. The customer service was fantastic - all the staff were friendly and helpful (even the off-duty ones). When we returned to the Hobart area a week later we opted to stay here again. This time we were in the Tower. Again the staff were super. A big shout-out to Shally in reception who was extremely helpful, courteous, and friendly. If we visit Hobart again we would most certainly stay here, probably in the Water's Edge as the view was spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinfathisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Great customer service is what we are all about here at Wrest Point so thanks for recognising this after your recent stays. Thanks for posting these great comments, I will be sure to pass them onto Shally who I know will be thrilled. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you're next in Hobart.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Easy to get to be taxi. Check-in was a breeze, The room was clean and tidy, but a little dated. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The overall décor is tired and dated but clean and functional. Fantastic views in a great location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carfolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
It sounded like you had a very enjoyable stay Carfolyn, thanks for sharing this on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear the team was attentive and helpful, comments which we recieve regularly and are very proud of. The location is the most spectacular in Hobart in my opinion so thanks for pointing this out as well. Hopefully we will see you again soon if you can get away from the sunny Gold Coast.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a pleasant stay, overpriced for the standard of the room, they really need a makeover, who sleeps in a double bed in quality accommodation these days,need at least a queen size bed and clean fresh modern decor

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your views on the decor and bed Shazpeta. Apart from a couple of rooms, Wrest Point offers mostly a queen/single configuration or a king bed. Next time you stay please request a king room and I am sure we will be able to accomodate your request.

The rooms decor is constantly being updated so hopefully you will plesantly surprised on your next visit south, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.1 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing