We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, comfortable and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This latest trip was my first time in Hobart for six years and I am pleased that I chose the Wrest Point for my stay. I had a room with a fabulous view; consistently friendly and helpful service from the moment I walked through the door; good food and great company.

Room Tip: Try the executive suites on level 15 - Room 1503 has a magnificent view of the city and bridge. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watermannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It sounds like you had a great time so thanks for sharing this. The 15th floor Executive Suites are indeed spectacular and spacious and the views are amazing as you point out. Hopefully we can welcome you back some time soon (and before 6 years go past again).

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    366
    181
    58
    29
See reviews for
132
415
42
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

the service here was exceptional. the rooms were nice and had everything we needed, we had a nice view of the water on the side... a little old and tired feeling to it but a good place to stay for the price non the less. very close to the centre of Hobart and the ploaces to eat were great. not much of a casino gambling wise compared to the Crown etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Excellent service is what we are known for so thank you for the recognition of this, the team was thrilled to read your comments! It was nice to read that you feel it is a good place to stay - we like to think so also and are always updating the rooms and appreciate your comments in relation to their age. We continue to make improvements to the whole property and hopefully the next time you stay with us you will notice these.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

As regular travellers to Hobart Tasmania we thought we would splurge and stay at the upmarket 4.5 star Wrest Point Tower.

The staff were professional and friendly and our room on the 3rd floor of the tower had wonderful views overlooking Sandy Bay, the Derwent River with the Tasman Bridge in the distance.

The room was relatively small, with movable furniture being a desk, 2 chairs, tub chair, round table and queen bed. I had to move the table to access my side of the bed. One glass in the liquor cabinet was dirty and I left this out to be replaced when the room was serviced.

We dined in the Buffet for dinner and the same venue was used for breakfast. On both occasions, the variety of food was poor. I believed they should have focused more on local produce which is in abundance in Tasmania eg salmon, oysters, cheese and wines. and if this increased the cost of the dinner buffet, so be it. We paid $35.00 pp.

Overall we were rather disappointed in Wrest Point.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonforr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about Wrest Point and I was dissapointed to read we did not live up to your expectations. On a positive note I was pleased to hear the team was professional and friendly and that the views were wonderful. The food offering in the buffet is always evolving so thankyou for your suggestions, we take all feedback very seriously and will look to make some adjustments shortly.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A nice hotel experience just outside the town centre. If you're looking for a proper hotel in Hobart, this is one of the few options. Overall clean and in a nice location next to the water, nothing particularly remarkable though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for your review Anya and for pointing our Wrest Point's great location on the water, the views are indeed amazing up and down the river. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The last time I visited this property it was tired and in need of a refurb. I recently visited the hotel on business and was pleasantly surprised with the newly refurbished rooms. They were very spacious and comfortable. I travel a lot on business and it is difficult to sleep when you are away from home. I slept really well at this hotel as the bed was very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurants for both dinner and breakfast were very nice. Lovely views from the room. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It was great to read your comments Rosie and I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit. We have made numerous improvements over the past 12 months so it was nice to recieve recognition for all of the hard work our housekeeping and maintenance teams have done. The team are all very customer focused so it was good to hear you enjoyed our service too.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Fox
Wrest point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hi my name is damien Auksorius , I stayed at wrest point over the Christmas break , the pool was awesome and the all you can eat Buffett was excellent also , have to recommend this great place, the gaming area also was very well layed out and if you needed a drink you could just press a button on the pokie machine , a big thumbs up

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for posting your comments Damien and it is great to hear you enjoyed Wrest Point over Christmas, it's a great place to stay all year round however particularly when the Sydney - Hobart boats are coming down the Derwent. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a "secret room" at a 5 star hotel in Hobart on Last Minute. The hotel turned out to be Wrst Point. When we checked in, they put us into Wateredge- a very old, motel style room about 300 metres of corridors and elevators away from Reception.
We immediately rejected the room and they "found" us a room in the tower. This room was acceptable but about 3 star in our view.
Breakfast was ordinary, the hotel decode was 1980.
I would look for another hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pottsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to pass on your thoughts regarding the hotel and I was saddened to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. The Tower rooms are AAA rated (not self rated) as 4.5 star however we certainly respect your opinion and realise they may not suit everyones taste.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing