We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfortable”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Warragul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A fabulous view from the seventh floor overlooking a beautiful harbour. Staff very helpful and hotel very comfortable, good choice of restaurants. Although hotel is an older style it is very good value and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor facing harbour are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fay u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Fay, thanks for taking the time to post your comments. The Derwent River is indeed spactacular and the views from the Wrest Point tower are amazing both day and night. It sounds like you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    375
    181
    58
    31
See reviews for
134
428
43
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Don't go for the casino, or the antiquated service, go for the view! Stay in the tower which gives you the most wonderful view of Hobart's harbour and city. The Water's Edge was lovely, but the tower gives you the height. Staff are lovely, there is just nothing extra on offer - feels quite retro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank We_3_Travellers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and point out the great views from Hobarts most iconic building - the Wrest Point Tower. It was great to hear the team looked after you well, it sounds like you weren't able to enjoy the 5 restaurants, 4 bars, gym, pool, tennis or mini golf which I was sorry to hear. Hopefully you will have time to try these next time, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Haven't been to Hobart or Wrest Point since it opened 41 years ago and it is still one of the great places to come and stay.
It's not as cool as Crown Casino or as brash as Star but what the position and the people offer make it unique and worth the trip.
Restaurants are very good and service is the same.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Wrest Point is perched right on the water and Tasmanians (particularly at Wrest Point) have a unique approach to service which is always warm and friendly so thanks for pointing this out! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the next time you return, thanks for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Upon arriving was informed we got an upgrade, bonus start.
Jan at reception greeted us as long lost friends, and VIP guests.
Our room on the 4th floor in tower was wonderful. (As we were originally booked in the mountain view, this upgrade was just exceptional)
We had full buffet breakfast for two included in our stay and could not fault this, we ate a full hearty breaky every morning ( a total of 4 mornings)
We also had the buffet evening meal in the same restaurant, The Coffee Shop. Fully contented with a great choice.
Riverview Snacks gave a great choice of light late night meals. The Thai Green Chicken Curry was yummy.
The gaming machines were like any other, hungry little suckers.
Only small complaint would be that either the heating or bathroom exhaust fan (couldn't pinpoint which) was a bit noisy at night while trying to sleep.
Overall a great time was had with all staff friendly and inviting, especially Jan at reception.
Will certainly be returning. This was not our first stay at Wrest Point and will not be our last.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Marianne, it was great to hear we were able to provide you with a free upgrade so that you could experience one of our Tower rooms. Jan on reception is a real gem and looks after all of our customers very well, I will ensure your comments are relayed. It was great to also hear you enjoyed the restaurants and we look forward to welcoming you back again some time soon.

Kind Regrads
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Recently stayed at Wrest Point across 2-nights in a tower room. Check-in for myself and my 2 colleagues went smoothly and as outlined in our booking 6+weeks ago, all 3 room charges were placed on the company credit card. This was confirmed upon check-in. Rooms were ok, but outdated. Shower cubicle too small and the shower head un-controllable. My room was more expensive than my 2 colleagues, despite being 3 rooms next to each other, although reception did correct this when I raised the matter after check-in.
Next morning I met with a client in one of the downstairs cafes, after standing in front of the employee behind the counter for 30 seconds, we were finally acknowledged and ordered a cappuccino and skinny latte - but we received a tuna sandwich and some milky substance meant to be a latte. This employee failed the minimal standards for customer service. Upon checking out after the 2-nights, one of my colleagues was requested to pay with their own credit card, and the receptionist stated there was no record of all 3 rooms being on the one credit card - again, customer service failure. Then when I proceeded to check out, and pay for all 3 rooms, reception advised the maximum I could charge to my debit card was $1,000, but the room totals were just under $1,200. Instead of just working with me, the 'guest' I had a receptionist who thought it more appropriate to argue.

Room Tip: Pick a room, although more expensive, facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Kirk, thanks for letting us know about your experience at Wrest Point and the inconsistencies with the service you recieved from some of the team. I was dissapointed to read your comments which have been relayed to the relevant managers to follow-up on, feedback such as yours allows us the opportunity to review our procedures and is extremely valuable so thank you again for passing these on.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

From reception, level of accommodation, food quality and service found everything and everyone very professional and of high standard although carpeting in some areas is quite tired.
Would definitely stay again and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience and it was great to hear you found the team to be so professional. We are constantly updating the carpets and decor so hopefully next time you visit there will a noticable change. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This latest trip was my first time in Hobart for six years and I am pleased that I chose the Wrest Point for my stay. I had a room with a fabulous view; consistently friendly and helpful service from the moment I walked through the door; good food and great company.

Room Tip: Try the executive suites on level 15 - Room 1503 has a magnificent view of the city and bridge. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watermannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It sounds like you had a great time so thanks for sharing this. The 15th floor Executive Suites are indeed spectacular and spacious and the views are amazing as you point out. Hopefully we can welcome you back some time soon (and before 6 years go past again).

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Wrest Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Property: Wrest Point
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. Other key features include: - Free Wi-Fi in all accommodation rooms - Free FOXTEL channels - Individually controlled air-conditioning and heating in all rooms - All non-smoking rooms - Solid constructed rooms for quiet night sleep - Free car parking and valet car parking service available - Saturday shuttle bus service available to Salamanca Market ($5pp return) - Free access to health club with indoor pool, gymnasium, sauna and spa - Free access to onsite tennis court and mini-golf - Comprehensive 24-hour onsite security monitoring and staff - 24-hour Reception and Guest Services Desk - Water ferry services accessible from the hotel pier - Casino entertainment - Live international and national entertainment acts Enjoy the comfort, space and wide-ranging facilities of one of Hobart's premier hotels, a range of entertainment offerings and located close to Salamanca and CBD precincts. Wrest Point is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing