We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot to stay”
Review of Macquarie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macquarie Manor
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“great spot to stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights for work. It was booked under the WOTIF mystery deal at $99 per night, which is a bargain for this level of accommodation.
Only complaint was that the bed was past its use by date and needed replacing

Room Tip: Room 1 gives you a decent view, although its mainly buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    83
    62
    31
    14
See reviews for
18
157
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked this hotel for 5 nights through Wotif"s Mystery Deal. The location was fantastic and the service efficient. Our 2nd floor room was very large (1 queen sized bed, one single and a sofa bed) and at the back of the property. It was clean, warm and very comfortable. The room's decor was a little dated but in keeping with the historic ambiance of the building. Salamanca Place and the ferry to MONA a mere 10 minute stroll away.On arrival a front door key is provided for access when the reception is closed. There is some off- street parking . Parking is also allowed on Macquarie Street at the weekend. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility problems should ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a small hotel which attempts to respect the full heritage of the building. Decorating is good, staff are very friendly and helpful. Being small and family run, there is no 24/7 front desk and the facilities are adequate, so I'm not sure it is four star. Daily room refresh could be more comprehensive. The hotel is perfectly situated a block away from the city and two blocks from Salamanca Place.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are very elegantly appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked this property online, and turned up around 7pm to find it locked, with no response to doorbell or phone. We left messages, calls were never returned. This is no way to run a business.

The room was easily large enough, although oddly set out with vast space and high ceilings but tiny bathroom.

Room Tip: Leisure Inn is across Macquarie Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goat-whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As with some previous reviewers on this site I was very nervous when this place turned out to be the mystery 4 star hotel I had booked through Wotif, after reading about some less than great experiences. So much so that when we had to go to Hobart a day earlier than planned I booked the extra night at another hotel. So was relieved to be greeted by a delightful receptionist who led us upstairs to our very spacious (cavernous actually with 12 foot ceilings) room. We didn't have breakfast there but the dining room looked nice & the hotel is dotted with nice old antiques. The location is also great if you like to be near everything.

However I really can't see how it is rated as 4 star. To us it felt like a boarding house, albeit it a nice one. Our room had beds with antique headboards but otherwise wasn't anything special & definitely not a room I wanted to loll about in and enjoy. Our windows looked out on to what we first thought was a sun room but soon realised was a thoroughfare to an exit, perhaps the car park, so couldn't enjoy the city view at night as had to draw the drapes so that passersby weren't looking in at us.The bathroom was small but perfectly ok, apart from a rotting skirting board which wasn't a good look. If like us you have a 4WD then parking is an issue. One of the main reasons I booked it was because it was centrally located & advertised limited parking but when the booking was confirmed I then saw on the site that parking was for smaller vehicles only & we would have to park on the street - which should have been clearly stated on the mystery site.

On the morning of our departure the room phone rang briefly at 9am which we wondered if might have been an unrequested wake up call & because the place had such an institutional feel to it I joked that there would probably be a clear out siren at 10am so there was much hilarity when the phone rang at 9.59am and it was reception asking us what time we would be checking out.

Don't panic if you end up booking this as a mystery deal as its perfectly ok, just don't expect a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

If you like old fashioned British guest houses, you'll love this place, but otherwise I found it just a bit 'old' without being boutique at all

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfortable with warm friendly staff. Booked on wotif as a mystery deal, great value.
Continental Breakfast good value at $10.
Room was enormous and quiet, even as located on a major road.
Ensuite had efficient heater light, good large shower, good quality towels and very clean.
Would stay at again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadefes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Manor

Property: Macquarie Manor
Address: 172 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macquarie Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the middle of Hobart City. Walking distance to major tourist city attractions. Limited Parking is available at $15.00 per day on a first in, first served basis. The guest lounge , bar and breakfast restaurant is very contemporary in design and the room rates are designed for the budget traveller. Rooms are large, air conditioned with modern bathrooms. Check in is between the hours of 2pm and 7pm. Check out is 10am Luggage storage is available for $5.00 per day. A continental breakfast is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macquarie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Macquarie Manor Hotel Hobart
Quality Macquarie Manor Hobart
Quality Inn Hobart
Macquarie Manor Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing