We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location & Value for Money”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had the oportunity to stay in both Double Room & Studio Apartment during our Hobart stay. Spacious, clean & well maintained. The Studio Apartment has a double bed & 2 single beds in addition to a full kitchen. Good location and only a short walking distance to Franklin Wharf & Salamanca Market. Friendly & helpful staff. Free Wifi available. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pggenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is clean, the staff was nice and it's a fine place to stay the night. If flying into the Hobart airport, I recommend the shuttle, as the taxi fare was quite expensive. The absolute best thing about this hotel was the mini-bar. I am certain that I have never said that about a hotel before. It was totally stocked with great items at very inexpensive prices! They will also replace anything that you would like more of (like the $4 beers!). Very easy to walk to the marina and Salamanca from here, as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erin328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 1 night with 2 adults 2 children under 18yrs. We were on level 6 (cnr room). We did not here the traffic noise as others have mentioned. I did however here the elevator during the night. That is my only negative. We were not in Hobart to spend time in our hotel so the location was paramount to our holiday. It is perfectly located for lovely walks to the Salamanca markets, Daci & Daci bakery and the Marina for seafood. 15 minute drive to Mona and 10 minutes drive to Cascade Brewery and Louisa's Walk. Very clean rooms, one double and two single beds for the children. Very reasonable rate we paid $159 for our one night. Receptionist helpful and friendly and very easy parking all around the base of the buidling. Would definitely stay again if back in Hobart.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydneytraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Best hotel we ever stayed! Spacious room with king size bed, mini bar, fridge, and bathroom, free wifi in room. Clean and tidy with large windows. Staff very helpful. First hotel to take off from the airport shuttle bus, 10 minutes to city centre and Franklin Wharf where we went to have fish and chips and oysters every day. Breakfast reasonable price with basic food for breakfast. Very comfortable accomodation after all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had a room on the first floor, and it was a little noisy early morning and late afternoon. It was not enough to disturb me, though. Handy location to the city. Restaurant provided lovely basic dinner. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deskfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great value hotel with friendly staff, free parking, free wifi and movies, clean rooms and cheap breakfast. Thanks trip advisor for the tip. Loved our stay. Easy walk to the city and marina area. The hotel looks a little drab on the outside but has been nicely renovated inside. Rooms are quite large with very clean and fresh linen and bathroom condiments. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinecoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times, with my husband and with friends. It never ceases to amaze. Comfort, cleanliness, service and location. As usual, we all appreciate the breakfasts, dinners and mini bar prices. Best hotel ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraL2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 47 in Hobart
1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £80 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing