We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have often stayed at the Fountainside when in Hobart and in various styles of room. Without exception the stays have always been very good, with comfortable large rooms and a great breakfast. We will usually also dine in the restaurant for dinner, and although the menu hasn't changed in a while it still represents excellent value. The Fountainside is a rarity among hotels in that mini bar and restaurant prices are all excellent value and not inflated. As well a personal visits I often need to stay in Hobart on business and although my employer has contracts with several bigger name hotels I will always choose the Fountainside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonnieTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Nothing cheers me up more to see a mini bar priced to convenient store. A can of coke is $1.50, another hotel will easily cost you $3.00 or more. Why would I pay something at twice or thrice the price in another hotel?

The rest of the hotel had been said enough by other comments, top quality.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank XavierShoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight in a family room, which was well appointed, clean, spacious, modern & quiet. Free Internet was a bonus. Cheap buffet breakfast was a winner with our teenage boys. Kitchen in room was a bit limited. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank MoBileJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed again at Fountainside - in a double room. Room safe spacious - we've stayed in both apartment and double style. This is the only place we now stay when in Hobart. Best quality and value for money you will find. Staff (without exception) are friendly and helpful & location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiverDream2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I, active senior citizens, stayed in Fountainside Hotel Hobart for two nights in November 2013. Our room was well very appointed, very clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and approachable (despite being very busy) and the location is excellent. Situated 100 metres from the Theatre Royal, ten minutes stroll to the waterfront and excellent restaurants, fifteen to Salamanca Markets and the city's main shopping centre. The only down side was an absence of undercover parking which is only a problem when raining and poor WiFi reception on upper levels. We have become so accustomed to this almost everywhere that it has become an expectation (which is disappointing, as maintaining family contact whilst on holidays is very desirable). We tried to book two nights for our departure from Tasmania a fortnight later and they were booked out. Overall a very pleasant experience and best value for money in Hobart.

Room Tip: If arriving by car from Hobart airport study a satellite map carefully to work out the correct appro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel was great value for money and the staff was very nice and helpful. The location is good, within walking distance to the wharf and Salamanca Place where all the good restaurants are. The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This hotel deserve its review status. The rooms are quiet due to double glazing and thoughtful positioning of the lift, the beds very comfortable, and the staff extremely helpful. It is a short walk to shops, restaurants, and the memorial gardens. The breakfast, while not gourmet, is plentiful and great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
724 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 47 in Hobart
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing