We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Ok we know it's a fairly unattractive hotel and hard to believe it's number 4 on Trip Advisor BUT the warmth and hospitality I experienced was delightful. It's like a country motel wrapped up in a high-rise. The 7th floor rooms are in their own category with heated toilet seats and comfortable king size beds. The restaurant offered homely delicious meals for a bargain $24 for soup/main/salad bar and the steak was perfect and the chicken breast moist and succulent. The staff are friendly and there seems to be a lot of repeat corporate travellers recognising a great deal. The hotel is on a main road overlooking the large fountain/roundabout and hospital/medical precinct but I didn't hear any noise. An easy 10 minute walk into town but I would suggest taxis to and from the property at night if you were on your own.

Room Tip: The 7th floor rooms away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    480
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
184
655
84
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rural Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here our first night in Australia. I have to say that it is a little forgettable. I remember it being comfortable, but nothing off the charts. The parking felt a little stressful--we got the last parking space at the hotel the night when we arrived. The food was not fantastic (we had dinner at the hotel because there wasn't anyplace else to eat that seemed close and fast enough to get to after traveling or 30 hours). All that said, the price was right, and while I wouldn't want to spend a week here, I definitely would stay here for a day or two if I were in Hobart and didn't want to splurge on one of the more expensive places.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay. Walking distance to alot of attractions and shops. Would Definitely Stay here Again :) I cannot fault anything about this hotel. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Big screen tv and king size bed on the top floor. Seat walmer on the toilet. Was refreshing!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a very handy spot in the centre of Hobart - walking distant to the Harbour and Salamanca Markets and all the restaurants and cafes in town. However it is on a main road and all the rooms look out over a main roundabout, so keep that in mind if you're a light sleeper. Since the traffic isn't too heavy it's not a huge issue, but it may affect your sleep-in.
Room was really tidy though, and bathroom and amenities were all great.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetting_gal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The good:

- Great staff
- Value for money
- Good location
- Great mini-bar pricing

The not so good:

- Choice of options for breakfast was very average. No fresh fruit, for example
- Room was somewhat cold-ish, heating system seemed to be temperamental
- Only 1 set of towels was provided, although it was 2 of us in the room

We had a pleasant stay, but it was not an outstanding place as some of the reviews implied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I read the reviews of this hotel which led me to choose it and it did not disappoint. The staff are friendly, helpful and polite. One thing which astounded me was the mini-bar. Not the normal astronomical markup on drinks and snacks and they try to promote the local products. The room was clean and the bed so very comfortable. Next time I travel to Hobart this will be my hotel of choice. Thank you so much for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Klog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband on our honeymoon last year. Stayed for 10 nights. Great room, comfortable, big, clean and great service will stay there again. Close to everything stayed here an explored Hobart

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Property: Fountainside Hotel
Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing