We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fountainside Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quest Savoy(Hobart)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Spa
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,278)
Filter reviews
1,278 results
Traveller rating
688
513
60
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
513
60
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini barshop pricesbusy roundaboutfree parkingtop floorbuffet breakfastbotanical gardenslarge tvlight sleepergood sizecity centreshort walksized bedwithin walking distancean easy walkfamily roomsalamanca markets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 1,278 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Absolutely loved stay here. Comfortable room with a fabulous bed. Changed our booking to stay here on our way to Geeveston, complimentary parking, excellent restaurant, cheap mini bar prices. Well appointed rooms and very clean. Would highly recommend stay here. Arrived earlier than expected and they were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We chose this hotel purely on price/availability but found it to be comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff.
We were well within walking distance of the central harbour, museums, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Although close to a major road, we were not overly aware of traffic. Our room had a pleasant open view across the nearby park.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was super sceptical about staying here - it was so cheap that I was near on convinced that it was going to be a horrible experience. Nonetheless, trying to save money, we booked it in anyway, and I was beyond surprised.

The bed was huge AND comfortable, the bathroom was newer and cleaner than some 4 star places I've stayed and the mini bar was so god damn cheap I nearly died.

If you have traveled to Hobart before, you will know how expensive most accommodation is - Fountainside is a place I will recommend to any friend taking a trip to the Apple Isle. It's in a great location - we walked everywhere and the staff were lovely and helpful in any way.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 62 with a view of the fountain.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelseaMelbourn... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We only paid $99 per night in the King suite room plus $11.80 for breakfast. The room was spotless with a great view of the fountain. Staff were very helpful as well. The bed was huge and the most comfortable i've ever stayed in by far! I expected it to be much louder considering its placement next to a main road but it was not. Would defiantly come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

this is our r third time we have stayed at the Fountainside Hotel/ we have stayed at a very popular hotel facing the harbour and this was a much friendlier location. the staff all welcomed my husband and myself , the breakfast available is only $11.80 and dinner around $24 all delicious. would reccemmend this hotel to families and couples

Room Tip: we stayed on the seventh floor and it was still only $139 per night
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews