We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for location and comfort”
Review of Fountainside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountainside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good choice for location and comfort”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and fast. The room had all the usual items and a well stocked bar fridge. Buffet breakfast was good and serves from 7-10am. Parking is a little limited but so far so good - got one every time. The Mall is a short walk up the road and the harbour not too far either. For convenience and comfort a good choice when you visit Hobart.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    489
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
187
662
86
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel doesn't really look the goods from the outside but it is very nice inside. The rooms are well appointed and cosy. We were on the first floor so there was a little bit of traffic noise but it wasn't too bad. The mini-bar prices were very reasonable and the breakfast was great with plenty of choices of cold and hot food and a good cereal range. For $11.80 it was great value. We needed to travel over the bridge every day so it was very handy being the first hotel you come to from that way so easy to get around. It is walking distance to pretty much everything you'd want and the staff were happy to help with any requests we had. I'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably want a higher room for traffic noise and lights from fountain but an ear plug did the trick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Yes, not often these days do you come across any product and or service that is better than advertised. Well the Fountainside Hotel is an exception, great staff, great service - good food!


Will stay again.

Room Tip: Go to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave22362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay at Fountainside. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The mini bar prices were as cheap as shop prices, the buffet breakfast was great value, and the wifi was free!

The room was extremely clean and the mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. The portacot was practically new. Only thing we would have liked that the room didn't have was shelves in the wardrobe (hanging space only).

We'll definitely be staying here again! The location is great as well, just a short walk to the docks and the CBD. Salamanca Markets are only about 15min walk away. The hotel was easy to get to via the airport shuttle and close to buses.

Room Tip: Our studio apartment was located on the corner of the building so had a window along one wall as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It far exceeded our expectations for many reasons, buffet breakfast was only $11.80, dinner was around $24 which included main, salad bar, yummmy soup & tea/coffee. The rooms fantastic! Service perfect!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jarvisbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here after reading about it on TripAdvisor. We asked for a room up high on booking and got the 7th floor with no problem. The service was exceptional and the staff were very helpful when we arrived, getting extra pillows and helping with the air conditioner. We had no problems parking as we got in early each night then walked to dinner in restaurants close by, though we ate dessert in the restaurant at Fountainside one night and it was nice too. Breakfast is great value for money so I recommend it highly. The only complaint I have is that the bathroom had no exhaust fan, which was a problem in such a small bathroom. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and only minor maintenance issues were detectable, so it is certainly well worth the money you will spend. We would certainly stay here again if we went back to Hobart.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Best value for money! The rooms were modern, clean, and nicely renovated. The bed was amazing. The shower was huge. The mini bar items were marked at grocery store prices (beers were $3.50, candies and snacks less than $3). The hot buffet breakfast had a huge range from eggs done two ways, bacon, sausage, roasted tomatoes, to cold cereals, yogurt, toast, and fruits. They had a range of juices, coffees, and teas. All of this for only $11.80pp!!! We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend to anyone staying in Hobart!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountainside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountainside Hotel

Property: Fountainside Hotel
Address: 40 Brooker Ave, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#3 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountainside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal address in Hobart for both business and leisure. Walk to the CBD, Historic Waterfront and Salamanca and it's an easy drive to all main attractions in Southern Tasmania. Quiet 4 star rooms with luxurious beds, and air-conditioning for a great nights sleep. Broadband internet, Austar, offstreet parking, breakfast and dinner prices available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fountainside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountainside Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing