We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired”
Review of Blue Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Hills Motel
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Could do with a major revamp as it is in a great location but old, dirty and dated, carpet filthy and curling up at the edges. Clean towels and sheets but think its a bit cheeky to say if you don't wash your dishes you will be charged a $20 cleaning fee. Limited parking, first in first served. Have stayed in much better for much less

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We hired a multi room self-contained apartment. It was, to put it lightly, disgusting. The only saving grace was the sheets were clean, but the carpets were filthy, the kitchen was dirty, the bathroom was falling apart and covered in mould, the apartment was freezing with severely inadequate heating, and the beds were uncomfortable.

Don't stay here. It's terrible.

Room Tip: Rooms that aren't in this hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zeckz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stay at Blue Hills after booking a room sit unseen, bad move. My room was cold, they could have put my heater on as I had booked my room hours earlier. Had to wear my beanie for a few hours until the chill was off the room. I was greeted by a bad smell, it was something between loo cleaner & mold. Speaking of mold, the bathroom had plenty of it. The shower was over the floor & if you are tall best to sit down.I have to say that the linen was clean & white but everything else was grey & dirty.Yes it is close to the CBD but not close enough to walk there & walk all day.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. You cando alot better for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buneep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we immediately noticed it was very outdated, which usually wouldn't bother me so much, however, we get taken to our room and we firstly discover we have no towels. I then noticed a couple of ants in the room. I didn't worry about it and we went out to lunch and came back to our towels on our beds (I called for them). I went into the bathroom and discovered that the number of ants was ridiculous and there was no way we were staying in this room. I asked for a new room which we were given. The next room was a little larger but equally as outdated with the smallest TV I've ever seen (old style TV). The whole place had an unwelcoming feel to it... although the staff were attentive when I asked for things. There is no food at the hotel so you need to travel down the street for any meals. There is only a handful of car parks so sometimes parking on the street was required. Whilst this was one of the cheaper options for accommodation around Battery Point, I feel like it was still overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

stayed there a few times before we know it's cheap and you pay for what you get but . The room was patched up different colour patches on the walls carpet had we think liquid plaster spilt on it and left to set . bath room had sanding dust in it every where and the towel rail kept on failing of the wall . Had to ask for soap ,like I said have stayed there before on a few times nice and close to bars and resturants but our room should not be let out for the night .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. On Wotif they were the only two hotels left in town with rooms under 175.00 on the days we were here, due to a big cycling event. Clean tidy large room, friendly staff. No breakfast room but they have room service breakfast. We were late at checking in and they called to see when we were going to be there, even though we had an international mobile, rather than letting us arrive late to find the service desk closed. One excellent feature is free internet for as many devices as you need. This is a huge help when travelling with two with four devices. This is something that the big hotels still totally rip customers off by making them pay large amounts, usually per device. What is that the cheap places can do it for free??

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Kiwiinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Our family room (1 double bed, 1 single bed) was great, just 10 walking minutes from Salamanca Square, and the Wooden Boat Festival at the Harbour. The room and bathroom was clean, beds made daily, fresh towels daily if requested, basic coffee/tea facilities. No microwave or cooking allowed in rooms without kitchenette. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Free wifi, or use of computer at reception. We will certainly book here again next time we stay in Hobart.
Hotel & rooms are basic budget accommodation, no fashion statement but neat and tidy. Austar tv.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southern end (Crelin Street) are quieter than room on northern (Sandy Bay Rd = main tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 249Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#37 of 47 in Hobart
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#34 of 47 in Hobart
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#35 of 47 in Hobart
127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tower Motel
Tower Motel
#45 of 47 in Hobart
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Plaza Motel
Mayfair Plaza Motel
#29 of 47 in Hobart
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hills Motel

Address: 96 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Hills Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Battery Point
Best Western Hobart
Hobart Best Western
Blue Hills Motel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing