We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space”

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.05*
and up
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #9 of 136 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Art that inspires you. Cultures that connect you. Stories that move you. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery is a Tasmanian Government organisation.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great space”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The recent renovations have really paid off at TMAG. It's great for families and those who are interested in learning about Tasmanian history. Not a whole lot to see, but definitely worth a visit if you have time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us - do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    335
    83
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Do the free tour at Bondstore”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The has has been given a new lease on life. One of the best parts of TMAG these days is the bond store. I highly recommend sitting up in the top floor of the Bond store and watching the film of the settlers vs. first inhabitants. If you are there Wed-Sun at 1pm you have to do the free tour. It is engaging and insightful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elllli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of TMAG. We're so glad you have enjoyed your experiences at the museum, in particular our free guided tour of the Bond Store. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I always enjoy this museum. It is very interesting. Lots of things to see, touch and smell. There were staff on all levels and they were very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Thelit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of TMAG! We're so glad you have enjoyed your visits, and look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A real sense of history from the moment you enter.Not a large museum but full of wonderful exhibits and historical pieces.
Easy to move about and the staff are very helpful

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenhall1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to TMAG. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us - do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Take the time to visit TMAG when in Hobart. It has many displays relevant to Tasmania and its surrounding oceans providing an insight into Tasmania's European and Aboriginal past. My favourite exhibitions include the colonial art and furniture display and the Tasmanian Aboriginal Gallery. The museum is relatively small but allow at least 3 hours to cover all exhibitions. Take the time to visit the cafe, a nice break during your visit. Museums can be a challenge with children but the exhibitions on Tasmanian birds and animals should provide plenty of interest. Entry hours are 10am - 5pm and it is free.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikedh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of TMAG. We are so glad you enjoyed our exhibitions, in particular our Colonial Art and Tasmanian Aboriginal galleries. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing