We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to see a Tasmania Tiger”

Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.35*
and up
Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #12 of 113 things to do in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Art that inspires you. Cultures that connect you. Stories that move you. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery is a Tasmanian Government organisation.
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

This is a great attraction to stop in at during a day of sightseeing. The museum tells stories of Tasmania's past and houses numerous artifacts you won't find elsewhere - including a Tasmanian Tiger (Thylacine) exhibit. A visit to the museum & gallery is an educational, enjoyable and at times moving experience for all ages. Entry is free with donations welcomed.

1  Thank NicoleStanhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Thank you so much for a lovely review of TMAG. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, in particular our Thylacine Gallery, which is definitely a moving experience and a museum highlight. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bond store"
in 37 reviews
"natural history"
in 34 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 22 reviews
"special exhibition"
in 12 reviews
"free entry"
in 42 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 11 reviews
"antarctic display"
in 19 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 63 reviews
"great displays"
in 12 reviews
"few hours"
in 54 reviews
"rainy day"
in 32 reviews
"native animals"
in 12 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 41 reviews
"tiger"
in 37 reviews
"tasmania"
in 321 reviews
"donation"
in 51 reviews
"glover"
in 13 reviews
Filter

724 - 728 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2015

we were waiting to go to lunch sunday and thought that we would have a look around. As it was free entry it was great to fill in 20 minutes. not much to look at really it was interesting but I don't know if id go again anytime soon.

the best part was the world war and animal areas.

Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review TMAG, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

If like me you enjoy the old style of exhibits with no flashing lights etc then this is the place for you. With a lot of very interesting things to take you back to the early days of Hobart If you also have an hour to spare you can also go on a separate discovery tour and meet a man of several different characters who really takes you back to the beginning of Hobart time

Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review TMAG. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and our exhibitions. We're also glad you had a chance to experience Settlement Secrets, a theatrical tour of TMAG offered by an external provider that delves into the history of the buildings on our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

What a great little museum and art gallery! This was a very pleasant surprise. The redevelopment of the building has been sympathetic but has also resulted in spacious exhibition rooms which are all easily accessible. As for the exhibits themselves, I found them all very interesting and appropriately grouped.The staff were very friendly and not at all intrusive - I could see no sign of the "menopausal hags" noted by a previous reviewer. As a side issue, I would hope that TripAdvisor could moderate some of the reviews. I find the term used by that reviewer particularly offensive to women and would not like to see it again.
However, onward and upward to Level 2 and we realised that our parking was due to expire and it was time for lunch. A quick visit to replenish the meter and it was off to the cafe for a very pleasant lunch. Plenty of choice in the menu, good coffee and great service. Then back to the Antarctic and the Medals and Money exhibitions. What I really enjoyed about the museum was the selection of particular aspects of Tasmanian life to focus on. There has been some criticism of the lack of convict history but given the other museums in the area, notably the whole of Port Arthur, I don't see that as a deficiency at all.
All in all, a very good experience and I would visit again.

Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely review of TMAG. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and really appreciate your kind comments - we will pass on your feedback to our front-of-house staff. Do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Definitely not the biggest museum or art gallery I've ever come across, but the displays were absolutely top notch!! Lots of interesting things to see with areas focussing on polar exploration and the Antarctic, native wildlife and habitats, coin collections and cultural exhibitions, including an extensive and very moving display on the Indigenous cultures of Australia, particularly Tasmania. Definitely worth exploring for a couple of hours!

Thank nadiag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath U, Communications Officer at Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Thank you very much for your lovely review of TMAG. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're next in Hobart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing