We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent harbour views, service and comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent harbour views, service and comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights post NY eve, then further 2 nights on 5th and 6th Jan. Without doubt one of the best harbour views (from Constitution Dock / Davey Street facing rooms). We paid a little extra for ‘renovated’ room with harbour view. Only issue is lower level carpark is not accessible by lift. Regardless, short walk to many attractions including Constitution Dock, Salamanca Place and city centre. We found an excellent breakfast café a short walk away called Harbour Lights Café. I recommend the Eggs Florentine with a side of sautéed mushrooms. (Enough for 2 people). And they serve the best coffee in Hobart. A must is a visit to MONA at Clermont. Best to travel by boat from Constitution dock. Boat leaves several times a day. For sea food lovers I recommend the Blue Eye across the road at Muirs.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for ‘renovated’ room with harbour view (Davey Street facing rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,953
    1,317
    264
    63
    33
See reviews for
648
1,351
162
1,042
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived on 28 December and stayed until 2 January. We had an excellent waterfront room and saw the Constitution Dock goings-on at the best. Yachties from Sydney, Melbourne and Launceston arrived at the finishing line - great view of it all. It was a short walk to Salamanca Place where the market was as well as a week long food and wine exhibition. People were really happy, plenty to do in the street and it was all safe. he hotel is a 3 min walk from the CBD and has an undeground car park. Staff were tops, restaurant breakfasts were good value and there's a gym/pool if you have the energy. Recommended to people who like a modern and well sized room in a convenient location. Tip: get a boat/ pre paid ticket to Mona Gallery from the nearby dock front shop - avoid the (substantial) queues. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJR01_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights mid December. The Hotel has a great location and the harbour rooms have magnificent views. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant one night which was really very good and thoroughly recommended. They must have some great chefs as the breakfast would beat plenty of much pricier hotels. The hotel is an easy stroll to the ferry to MONA, which is a "must do" of Hobart. We stayed at the Henry Jones Art Hotel on our return to Hobart, and I would much prefer the rooms at the Grand Chancellor, even with their tired bathrooms.

Room Tip: Go for the harbour/river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerSydney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This hotel offers a great view of The harbor though it could invest in more soundproof windows as the street noise below was the only issue we had. The bathrooms were clean and the showerhead was fantastic. The concierge was very helpful and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I stayed at the Grand Chancellor Hotel, Hobart, for one night, 23/12/2011, in a Harbour View Room on the 12th Floor.
The room was lovely, comfortable, and had everything you could want - including a superbly comfortable bed. The view was magnificent.
However, the bathroom looked as though it had had a "half-way" renovation. Lovely granite floor with matching bench top. Wonderful 3-way mirror. BUT - an old bathtub, with mouldy tiles on the wall above, and a shower over the bath with a shower curtain. I spent my shower trying to stop the curtain from clinging to me! Most unpleasant. If this is the only style of bathroom, I would not stay there again. I really love a good shower after a day's sightseeing!

Room Tip: Check what type of shower it has, and get the rooms with the Harbour View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Consistently very good standard. Beautiful views. Restaurant has great food. Close to docks, Salamanca and a short walk into the city. Check in staff efficient and courteous.

Room Tip: Have the river view. I have stayed here every year for past 12 years. Never had a noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelheaps15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Husband and I arrived at Hobart on 9th Dec. We were supposed to stay at GCH for 1 night as part of our 10 day self-drive trip around Tasmania. However, upon check-in, reception informed us that we would be "bumped off" to another hotel down the road due to certain problems with their rooms. They were apologetic about it, and even offered a bottle of wine as a token of their apology.

As we were doing a round trip around Tasmania, we were due back at GCH on 18th Dec. Due to unforeseen circumstances, we rang up GCH to request for an additional night prior to 18th. The staff accommodated our request and offered a free upgrade for our room on both nights to a harbour view on the 17th floor. To put things in perspective, the view from our hotel window would qualify as a picture postcard view of Hobart on any tourist brochure.

There are other hotels who would have feigned ignorance about the first "stay", booked us into a standard room second time around and charged us for the extra night. GCH took the trouble to make it up to us and we truly appreciate the kind gesture. A big Thank You to all the GCH staff who helped us end off our Tasmania trip on a happy note.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the waterfront in central Hobart, Hotel Grand Chancellor provides you with the ultimate in accommodation with majestic views over the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and the city.Just a stone's throw from the city as well as all of Hobart's many tourist attractions, Hotel Grand Chancellor is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip.All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary décor to suit all traveller alike. Ensuite marble bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing