We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Located at city center and lot of places around. Good quality beds. Slightly on the expensive side but better than the rest... Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,948
    1,315
    264
    63
    33
See reviews for
648
1,347
162
1,040
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This place was just what we needed after booking into several bad places we did a last minute booking here and did not regret! The rooms were conformable with all you could need, great brekky. And Collin and Nicholas on concierge gave personal travel advice that provided us with memories never forgotten. My husband and I are not generally chain hotel people but this place was fabulous. Location incredible with the most wonderful staff. It was perfect. We would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Grand Chancellor for a magical stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

After some disasters up in Launceston we raced back to Hobart. We booked our room at 6pm! Arrived at 9pm. Amazing Hotel! Staff fantastic made us fell so relaxed! Room so comfy and clean beds amazing ! Breakfast so yum ! Tips and knowledge of Hobart fantastic ! If I ever do return I be staying here! Oh so close to everything good in Hobart!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of our room, having overlooked this hotel several times before. Our room was pleasantly furnished, the bed was very comfortable and good size bathroom. Our room overlooked the marina which was a beautiful sight. Plenty of relaxing chairs and also a good work desk. Complimentary wifi was appreciated. There were also sitting areas in the lift foyer area of some of the floors, which was excellent for quiet reading or meeting guests. Only disappointment was breakfast - not much of a gluten free offering on the continental buffet. Did love the plunger coffee included though. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Try for the marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with work. Fantastic location, helpful staff. The pool was warm and the gym had the equipment I needed. Breakfast was good, tidy. The rooms are spacious and the showers awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trizzia710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
250 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in February 2014 before visiting Bruny Island. Paid around 385 AUD total including self parking during the stay in the basement (booked through hotel's own homepage and got a discount since we didn't need to have the room serviced). Got a mountain view room (with a bit of sea view), I believe it was room 1823. Big carpeted room of a good standard, good bed with nice linen, big writing desk, small sitting area, lots of closet space. All the amenities I could ask for except for a in room safe. Nice bathroom with big shower. Staff was friendly and helpful. The price was a bit steep compared to what I would pay for the same standard in Europe but considering the low number of hotels in Hobart and the general price level in Australia I think it was a fair deal and the hotel didn't disappoint in any way. We didn't have breakfast included and picked up some yogurt and fruits from a nearby supermarket and bread and pastry from the famous bakery Daci and Daci and Daci not far from the hotel. There are also many restaurants nearby.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed overnight for work. The hotel is well located: walking distance to the city, restaurants and Salamanca Place. My room, on the 17th floor, was modern, clean, comfortable and spacious. There is a large bar/restaurant at the front of the hotel which overlooks the harbour; a nice spot to perch and watch the world go by. All the staff I met during my stay were friendly and extremely helpful. Parking is available and very reasonably priced.
When next in Hobart for work or pleasure, I will be returning to the Grand Chancellor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the waterfront in central Hobart, Hotel Grand Chancellor provides you with the ultimate in accommodation with majestic views over the Derwent River, Mt Wellington and the city.Just a stone's throw from the city as well as all of Hobart's many tourist attractions, Hotel Grand Chancellor is the ideal base for your Tasmanian holiday or business trip.All rooms are 32 Sq m in floor space and furnished with a king or two double beds and completed with a MODERN contemporary décor to suit all traveller alike. Ensuite marble bathrooms are spacious and include a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing