We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great clean hotel in an amazing location. Across the rd from the harbour and a very short distance to salamanca markets.

Rooms are standard but the beds are amazing. Good tea and coffee making facilities and the bar downstairs was nice.

Staff were very efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: Even number rooms face harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,225
    1,431
    280
    67
    34
See reviews for
707
1,494
177
1,197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked 3 king harbour view rooms at the grand chancellor for the 3 night stay the staff at check in were very professional and friendly and were happy to help us with other things like parking our hire car which we forgot about at the time of reservation our rooms were above expectations very good location with a view of harbour and bay easy walking to every restaurant and the market and all tours The staff made up our rooms each day we had a buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant (the tasman)it was also very good We have also stayed in Hobart at 3 other locations in the past but now we will choose to stay here.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1010----1028------1030 they were all king harbour view rooms a bit higher would be even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete_and_feral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in a harbour view room and it was worth it. Just stunning day and night. The staff were very polite and helpful. The room was clean and the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Great location for everything there is to see and do in Hobart. Lovely lobby bar and excellent restaurant. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leafylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel during the recent Dark Mofo festival.Booked a room with water view and what a pleasant surprise when I opened the door to our room on the 18th floor.
Huge lounge room with ajoining bedroom looking out over the magnificent Derwent river and harbour below..The hotel is in a perfect position for walking to all the main attractions in Hobart
Did not want to close the blinds as the view was so stunning. Would have no hesitation staying here again

Room Tip: Pay the extra and make sure that you book room with water view preferably high up as the water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenhall1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I found that this was a great place to stay to watch the boats come in following the Sydney to Hobart yacht race, but was also close to Salamanca Markets and in a very scenic and historic part of Hobart.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Comfortable bed and pillows. Good location on the waterfront. Staff on the whole friendly and most were efficient. Hard to get into restaurant (even though more than half the restaurant empty)so ended up giving up eating elsewhere as lots of choice nearby. They must close off part of the restaurant and not use it as an hour later it was still half empty even though they could not seat me (solo traveller) Windows not very soundproof as I could here the takeaway calling order numbers when ready. Great views worth the extra for waterfront as Dark Mofo light show was on. If you like standard city type hotels this is for you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cebbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel staff were exceptional; no matter how busy, they were always happy and helpful.

To note, they had a massive evening on the Saturday, Black Mofos (MONA derived food n' light festival) on the water-front and Tasmanian orchestra event next door; the former close its doors at dusk (full capacity) so they migrated into the hotel lobby (180% full by 8 pm) and dining room packed (100% full), then they queued 15 deep for a coffee in the lounge bar; so was not till 9 30 pm could we get an order in for dinner.......the staff remained cool and collected (a real credit to them all !!!!). Compliments to the hotel's G/Mgr as well (has implanted a true hospitality attitude).

We'd planned to do a Hobart trip (over a 3 day week-end) to see MONA and trip thru the Saturday markets (at Salamanca), but keep getting delayed due to work commitments. We finally secured mid June and booked the G/C hotel as was great price n' close to all things wanted (harbour - MONA ferry), the Salamanca markets and food eating venues.

The hotel remains a "grand dame" at the water-front, stands high and stately (......interesting point, it's 10 stories high, but they exclude 13th as well as start numbering floors from 10th, another Tasmanian idiosyncrasy ?). Arrived via the airport bus shuttle around 10 30 am, no hassle find available rooms - we' booked "green" rooms, and an up-grade was offered, took it too. Rooms are upsized of massive - king bed, desk n' chair, side table with TV and a single and double lounge chairs set-up with a coffee table.... still had enough room to swing 10 cats !!. The "green" room discount when we booked meant ($20/day off r/rate), if you wanted towels changed, they still did it and if more soap or shampoo, you just had to ring housekeeping.

Dinning room (Tasman) was tried on the Friday (quieter than Saturday, see note above), steak was excellent, service profoundly helpful - the young waiter even went across the hall to the lounge bar to get the draft beers we'd asked for).

Weather was perfect - all 3 days, sunny, cool and delightful. MONA was excellent !!

A perfect week-end break made even better by the G/C hotel and it's excellent staff.

Room Tip: Definitely; take the "green" room discount (saves them washing towels) and go for the up-g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deckchairtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Property: Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing