We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives and negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you want to stay in a large Starwood/Marriott/Hilton-type hotel in Hobart, the Grand Chancellor is pretty much your only option. I spent a couple of nights here on a work trip in May and all in all I was happy with my stay.

Positives:
- Waterside location.
- Large spacious rooms, recently renovated, good bathrooms.
- Really excellent buffet breakfast. Great selection, efficient & friendly staff. The restaurant runs like clockwork.

Negatives:
- A slight feeling that the hotel is trying to extract every cent possible from its customers. When I checked in, the clerk at the front desk ran through a long list of options and upgrades and the extra price for each. It was my first visit to the hotel so I wasn't expecting anything extra for free but I couldn't help thinking that if most hotels were as empty as he was making the GCH sound, they would offer some of the things he mentioned as complimentary.
- Diabolically bad and over-priced WiFi. I had to ring the help desk three times in my two days at the hotel - the kid on the line was obviously very used to taking the same complaints I had, which was that every time I started a new session the WiFi gateway wanted me to pay, even though I'd bought a 2-day pass the first time I signed in. The WiFi didn't work at all in the restaurant and was flaky in my room.

I would recommend always using a booking site like Wotif if you're considering the Grand Chancellor. Room prices seem to vary wildly. If you can get a room for around $150 and don't care about WiFi, I'd recommend giving the GCH a go. I would not recommend it at the rack rate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pumbelchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,647 - 3,653 of 4,474 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a weekend in hobart for my husband's birthday and although we normally stay at Old Woolstore chose to stay at this hotel. We booked 2 renovated rooms and couldnt have been happier. The thought that went into the bathroom design was ingenius, Being female and having the mirrors positioned to see the back of your head (to see what your crazy hair is up to) was great. Checkin and checkout was proffessional and efficient. Had great water views and although on busy road traffic not a problem.

Room Tip: Opt for a water view on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank cjb008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Visiting Tassie from Melbourne, arrived at HGCH and were pleasantly surprised to receive a free upgrade to a suite! Room was amazing with fantastic views, staff incredibly friendly and helpful! Wish we were staying for more than one night! Will definitely stay here next time!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Danica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

There is not one bad word I can say about our stay at this hotel. We got a room on the 16th floor, corner room with view to the bridge and mountains. The room was very spacious, king size bed, great heating and very clean bathroom. Reception was helpful and offered to book us restaurants, cleaning staff was also helpful when we needed some help with the lights in the room.

I only dipped my toes in the pool but the water seemed warm and inviting. The location of the hotel is very convenient, the barracks are right opposite the main entrance with restaurants and galleries. The dock is picturesque and the best seafood restaurants are just across the road as well as Mawson's Hut and Hobart museum.

Only 5 minutes walk to Salamanca place and ferry stop to Mona. We will book there again. Check their website for specials.

Room Tip: Corner room was next to the stairs so we had no neighbours at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Viktoria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel is old and run down inside apartments including the Harbour View Rooms, price is average. Pool was a disappointment. Customer Service great. Food Overpriced DO NOT order room service, expensive and food quality poor. When booking online take advantage of ALL discounts as the front desk won't amend. If visiting Hobart, pay a bit more and don't stay here. View nice but only on floors 17 - 20.

Room Tip: Rooms with Harbour Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NightOwl1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm not going to lie Grand Chancellor was not my first option to stay at in Hobart. After visiting late last year and staying at the Sullivans Cove apartments we wanted to stay at something a bit more boutique on this visit, but everything was booked out. Well I take my reservations back, this hotel is just what we needed for one nights stay. Great location, friendly staff and very comfy beds. We will definitely be returning here.

One little niggle....some of the furniture has some wear and tear and the TV is not very good. But who's there to watch the telly!!

Free WIFI though ++++++

Room Tip: Book a room facing the water, they have big windows that let you take everything in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jess Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My room's TV entertainment system was broken and couldn't be fixed and I made the mistake of asking for another room.
The manager must have wanted me to suffer for complaining because the new room was hideous. It was next door to the gym, unrenovated and the 'mountain view' was a water tank. There were plenty of upgraded rooms available but they wanted me to pay extra. Why should I pay when the TV system didn't work?

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Shane441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £80 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing