We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed their for 4 nights. Location is great. We enjoyed the comfortable hotel facilities. The bed is quite comfortable. Only thing is that you have to pay for the Wifi. But it is a quite nice hotel recommended for couples.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xun X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,918 - 3,924 of 4,789 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for almost a week, just recently and were extremely pleased and satisfied with our stay. Absolutely top notch accommodation, fantastic views, and amazing food, both in the lobby cafe, as well as the restaurant. Great service, and definitely the place to go for an amazing waterview and amazing service. If ANY downsides i might mention, i guess it would be the buffet breakfast-although there certainly was a FANTASTIC spread, and range of great food and drink options, we did find every morning we had it, that all of the hot food was actually cold, even though it was all held in the serving things designed to keep food hot. I wont go on about that too much, as that was our ONLY complaint really, i would highly recommend the grand chancellor to ANYONE!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms, on the higher floors, you will not regret the amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a great spot to stay, the view is amazing.
close to food, weekend markets.
the restaurant (tasman) at the hotel does a really good buffet breakfast
The only down fall is no two bedroom apartment's : ( otherwise its a perfect hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel & it really was the nicest hotel we've stayed in. First night we had dinner at their Tasman restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. High tea here is also a must, only $25 per person and you get so much food and tea, plus the views are gorgeous of the bay!

Our last morning at the hotel we had breakfast here (the only time) was very odd. Everyone else was seated and asked if they wanted coffee, but we had to sit ourselves and was only asked when we were up getting food. Another member staff then came up to me and asked if I had checked out as I would need to settle the bill. Felt like this was a bit rude, like we were just going to run out without paying. Food was ok and very overpriced for what it was. We had much nicer breakfast's outside of the hotel.

Check out was also a bit of a disaster as they charge a 1.5% surcharge on credit cards (even though ours was a debit card) apparently when you check in and they hold your card they can only mark this as a credit card. I find it appalling that the hotel will most likely make so much money from surcharges, especially after they had already made so much money from us.

Overall the experience was amazing and we will most defiantly be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay with cash so you don't have the 1.5% surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Janey_4190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded to a sea view and it was spectacular looking out the window over the harbour. Tasman Restarant was also superb. Breakfast was not as good as the dinner. Would definitely come back again. Staff were noticeably very friendly and courteous

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fanoftassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Room was a bit too ordinary for the money we paid. But the sea view from the room was wonderful. Breakfast was very poor. I couldn't believe they serve food which is so unappetising. Therefore we had our dinner outside of hotel.
It was good to have a ferry terminal to MONA museum in walking distance.
I will stay in this hotel just for the sea view though.

Room Tip: Get the sea view room. You won't regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Huntsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The new decor in the redecorated rooms is very basic - no cushions for the chairs and no pictures on the walls (there was a bit of printed fabric on one wall for a picture). The tap for the new bathroom sink leaked really badly and I had to put towels all around it to stop it going all over my stuff. Having said that, it is in a brilliant location (although very ugly to look at from the outside) and the staff are friendly and knowledgable. It has a nice welcoming atmosphere. It is quite well sound proofed so you can't hear people in the other rooms. Air conditioning is easy to adjust, quiet and works well. The gym is pretty minimal but has everything you need and the pool looked exceptionally clean. I didn't eat at the hotel as there is such great food close by, including Pilgrim Coffee just around the corner for fantastic coffee and a great breakfast menu. There is a car park underneath for $9 per night, or you can park outside the hotel pretty cheaply. Overall this is a highly functional, perfectly good hotel, very clean and quiet, and the views from the front facing rooms are excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and facing the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anchor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart

Address: 1 Davey St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#2 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £105 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to staying in Hobart the only place to be is on the waterfront at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart, featuring some of the best views in the city. Overlooking the River Derwent and Constitution Dock, this Tasmanian hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Central Business District, but intimate enough to ensure a perfectly relaxing experience. Enjoy the comfort, space and facilities of one of Hobart’s largest hotels. Work out in our state-of-the-art fitness centre or enjoy a rejuvenating swim in the heated indoor pool. Meet for drinks in The Atrium Lounge or reserve a table at the popular Restaurant Tasman, where magnificent harbour views meet contemporary cuisine. For meetings and special events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms from intimate boardrooms and meeting spaces right up to major convention facilities. Uncover the best of Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor, which brings the perfect measure of style and substance to accommodation on the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Grand Chancellor
Grand Chancellor Hobart
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing