We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location and ideal travelling with disabled mum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Awesome location and ideal travelling with disabled mum”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Location SO close to Salamanca Markets which are a must-do if you're in Hobart on a Saturday. I contacted Management prior to booking to ensure the 2 bedroom unit would be suitable for our stay as we were travelling with our elderly mum who needs wheelchair assistance. Although the apartment was not actually designed for wheelchairs, it was ideal for her with an ensuite with a walk in shower and plenty of room (as she can take a few steps). Staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable, allocating a ground floor unit close to the entrance. The only drawback for us was the parking as 'first come, first served' basis. We were fortunate to have been able to get parking each evening, but we would have had a problem if there had been no spaces left as Mum really can't walk more than a couple of steps and the area is quite hilly and not really conducive to wheelchair pushing. For disabled guests, it would be good if a car parking space could be allocated and confirmed. Apartment was very clean, kitchen well appointed and furnishings quite tidy and clean. We too found the beds in need of updating but we have read that new bedding is on its way! We had a bit of a view of the harbour which was wonderful when mum got tired and just wanted to sit with a cup of tea looking out at the lovely view. I would highly recommend this property for its location and the way Management went out of their way to assist us with our requests. We're booking in again this weekend for a couple of nights and will always stay at this (or their sister property on the Pier) when in Hobart. Well done!!!

Room Tip: Travellers with some mobility issues can make a request and will be heard and assisted. Ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wils0ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear wilsoncm65,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with Somerset on Salamanca , it is our pleasure making sure you enjoyed your stay with us and we could make it as comfortable as possible for yourself and your family.

We have allocated you a designated parking spot for the entirety of your next stay this weekend, do let us know if we can be of any further assistance before you check-in again.

We will certainly be looking into keeping a designated disabled spot moving forward, as it is a wonderful idea.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Salamanca Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    78
    38
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
60
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here although the sink was very smelly just needed a little bit of bleach lol , thinking it was my partners shoes :) haha whoopsie. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a massive king bed one room with an ensure and a tv the other one with a bed :) fabulous heating and couldn't even hear the out side world :) very quiet :) bit strange the reception desk is on the other side of the water but other than that can't fault !!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank karla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear karla b,

It is lovely to hear from you, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay, it’s great to read you had such a wonderful time. I will pass on your feedback in regards to the sink to our Residence Manager.

As, our Maintenance Team will investigate your concerns immediately. Do let us know next time you are staying with us, if there is anything we can do to make sure your stay is more comfortable, as we would have loved the opportunity to address your concerns at the start of your visit to ensure you had a memorable stay with us.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Salamanca Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The best thing going for this hotel is the location. Walking distance to anywhere you want to go in Hobart. I was given room 101. It might be one of the few rooms with a view so I would recommend it. The bed was pretty awful - 2 beds joined together with a ridge in the middle - fine if you are by yourself, but if you are a couple it would be no fun. Its also the disabled room, so the shower is big, with rails and the water goes everywhere.

Complaints:
- you have to check in at a different hotel to get your room keys, that is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. I didn't know this, so I had all my bags out of the car at the front door, only to be told via intercom that i had to put them back into the car, and check in at another hotel.
- beds. as i said above, no good.

Complements:
- great location!
- rest of the furniture is good. well fitted out.
- staff are well trained and polite
- well priced.

Room Tip: I think studio rooms are better, as they face out over the harbour. Room 101 had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeschwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Joeschwaa,

Thank you for your feedback.

Im very pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of Somerset on Salamanca and thank you for your kind comments about my team.

We are in the process of replacing our beds so my appologies that you didnt find yours comfortable however hopefully you will try us again as im sure you will love the new beds.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerringong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great location, nice and airey with most appliances. We needed to provide a frypan, to cook breakfast. Close to many Restaurants, bars and only a ten minute walk to CBD. If the Hobart planning department had any brains, we would have had a great view of Harbour, instead of looking at an ugly Tech College!!! I can't believe all of the waterfront is taken up with Govt. buildings. Would recommend Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Bob S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide Somerset on Salamanca with your feedback, it’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for there being no frypan in the apartment, they certainly do come with one, I will pass on your feedback to the Residence Manager to make sure we double check all appliances in rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Salamanca Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

a friend & l stayed here for 4 nights, l had read the reviews for this appartment complex & thought l might have made a mistake. But no l hadn't the room was clean, tidy & well set out. You could throw a party in the bathroom, it's that big, or though the shower curtain could have been a bit bigger. I had read that the view had been taken away with the building of he new Tas Uni building, we were licky that we had the first room as you enter, so the view of the pier area was still there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello MelbourneJulie,

We are happy to learn that Somerset on Salamanca exceeded your expectations and our spacious apartment suited your needs. It is great to also read you enjoyed the views out to the Elizabeth St Pier. This Pier is actually where our sister property Somerset on the Pier is located and has extensive beautiful water views.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future at Somerset on Salamanca or Somerset on the Pier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We had a two bedroom apartment on a Friday night. Unfortunately we were on the ground floor right next to the foyer.
Whilst sitting in the lounge room we could hear a phone ringing - and being answered. It was the door intercom in the foyer which could be heard loud and clear over the telly!!
As noted by a lot of other reviewers, the beds aren't comfortable and neither ate the pillows.
However the worst bit was at 6am when the noises from the upstairs apartment woke us all. It sounded like a heard of small elephants but was a family with screaming children. Yes, I know families travel but the running, squealing, thumping, shower noises, yelling etc just highlighted the poor soundproofing.
We had a late night catching up with friends (but weren't drinking so it wasn't hangover crankiness) and three hours sleep when I had a long drive the next day wasn't what I'd hoped for.
Pros - the location but that's about it.
Cons / car parking is on first come, only a few get served basis; the view was of the carpark then a hilly side street with traffic aiming straight for our lounge (no view of salamanca or water); beds unvomfortable; and the big one - so noisy!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithy2597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Smithy2597,

Thank you for your feedback.

My sincere apologies for the noise issues you encounted on your recent stay with us. This is certainly not a common issue our guest's face.

We are also currently in the process of replacing our beds so hopefully next time you're Hobart you will be able to have a more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband booked this for our anniversary. Location is excellent. Having read the reviews, I was worried about noise from the construction site next door, which does block the view of the water, but never had any noise problems. On arrival, we found two other couples waiting to get into the building. The staff from the sister hotel have to be buzzed and they drive up to let you in. The lady was very nice and let us in to our room, but we had to wait for her to go back and get our paperwork to sign before we could head out late on Friday night. The apartment was very spacious and clean. There was only one bedside table though and the pillows weren't the best. Also, we missed the sign saying to put unwanted towels in the bath, so ended up with wet towels. On Sunday, they don't usually have room service at all, so our towels were very wet by Monday. There was a problem with the hot water in all rooms on Sunday night also. A plumber eventually fixed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cls31_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello cls31_10,

A very happy anniversary to you both! Thank you for your recent review, it is lovely to read you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us at Somerset on Salamanca Hobart.

Although we do not have housekeeping on Sunday, we are more than happy to replace wet towels. Simply call reception and we will have some delivered to you. Apologies for the issue with the hot water, I am happy to read however it was all resolved.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Salamanca Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#19 of 48 in Hobart
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Property: Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Address: 8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market and within Hobart’s magnificent and exciting waterfront, Somerset on Salamanca is your ideal residence for comfort and convenience. Wander around the city only moments away and take in the classic architecture of Hobart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing