We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Hotel Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stay here when on business in Hobart, the staff are always very helpful and attentive.There is plenty of off street parking, I have also used this venue for Product Launches, and Information Nights, the food has always been plenty ( plus a few extras), high quality, and variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgadsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    237
    160
    83
    101
See reviews for
152
242
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is not the newest, most modern hotel however the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the beds more than make up for it. If you're looking for an all glass and stainless steel experience then you need to look elsewhere. However if you're looking for a place that has an old world charm, the warmth of wood grain and staff that are genuinely happy to see you then you really should give this one consideration. This is a bit out of the city centre (10 min by car) and it's better with car if you want to look around, however there's plenty of free parking on-site. There's also plenty room in the ... um, rooms. It's my preferred base for both business and holiday stays in Hobart.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at the Rydges recently for 1 night on business.

Being that this hotel carries the "Rydges"" name I was certainly expecting a lot better than what we got.

The rooms here are very out dated. Old grotty carpet, ugly wood panelling and distasteful furniture from the 1970's give these rooms a depressing and dingy feel. The TV had good selection of channels but the old uncomfortable couch made it difficult to enjoy watching the TV - which couldn't be seen from the bedroom.

The kitchen had a sign warning guests that the room attendants would not be responsible for washing up - which made me reluctant to touch any of the glasses or cutlery in the room.

The outside of this hotel seems OK. Some rooms have a good view of the oval next door and the city skyline, All i had was a view of the shrubs outside my window and the people walking past my bedroom. I also had no power when I woke up the next morning - I alerted reception who told me it was going to be about 20 minutes until maintenance arrived to look at it. They did seem to fix the problem soon after though.

This hotel is located a little out of the CBD, There is a strip of Cafes and restaurants about a 10-15 minute walk away in Elizabeth st.

I suspect that there are much better accommodation options available in Hobart, I would not stay here again, and before staying in any other "Rydges" hotels I will make sure I do a bit more research in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbroady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Bicheno, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with friends and shared a room with another couple. It was comfortable with the best bed I have ever slept in! However, the place could use an upgrade, with the grout blackened and grass growing in the gutters.
Also, the two different rooms didnt have doors so the only privacy you could get was in the bathroom. The tv was in one of the bedrooms so if you wanted to watch the tv it had to be all right with the people staying in that room.
But overal, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalTravellerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nubeena, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed here twice this year. Manor room both times, first time was on second floor, room had a queen bed and a queen murphy bed. kitchenette with full stove. second stay was ground floor no full stove just microwave which is the case with the ground floor manor rooms. Website says use of murphy bed is extra $ but they don't charge extra at this time (2013). Basically the rooms are dated but clean. There is a mini bar. I ask for its removal before arrival because it takes up too much fridge space and I have to keep telling the kids no.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariahzwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, the beds were comfortable and loved the furniture, the heaters were great and had no problem heating the whole suite, yes the bathrooms and kitchen do need updating but the staff where great, the breakfast was wonderful the food great.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 49 had views to the oval and Hobart city which was fine from upstairs, and over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensl373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a great stay for a week in a superior room with kitchenette and sitting room. The guest laundry is a bonus. It would be an added bonus if the wifi was free! I joined the priority guest scheme for Rydges Hotels which enabled a cheaper room rate together with other options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Property: Rydges Hotel Hobart
Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing