We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be careful be very careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The good thing was the upstairs bedroom and the period furniture and that's where it stops as traveller of the world I would rate this hotel as a 2 star not a Rydges so don't be fooled by the name and to be honest I have no idear why the rydges would put their name to this hotel, because I will never stay at another ever, the staff are less than quality staff and have no idear how to meet or greet, and you have to wait around for anyone to serve you this would never happen at the Intercontinental. breakfast is not worth $48.00 a couple, the fridge is old and should be in a rubbish tip and was not on at arrival so the mini bar in fridge would be off, the amenities is less than 2 star, my recommendations to the CEO change your staff and bring the hotel up to standards 3rd world accommodation isn't even this bad better still go to the intercontinental Adelaide where you will be greeted in by excellent staff excellent amenities and quality of every standard, look I could go on and on at the end of the day I would never recommend it feels more like a rundown brothel and the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are very sorry that your stay with us here at Rydges Hobart was a disappointing one.

We are due for a refurbishment to all accommodation rooms hopefully towards the end of the year or early next year.

We do really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and have taken your feedback on board.

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The only disappointment was that the room was not ready when we arrived. The pull-down QB wasn't made, which we'd requested to use when we'd booked, nor were there towels/cloths set out for our kids. Otherwise, all was in order. The food at breakfast was delicious! Some of the waiting staff didn't seem to be morning people, but they still did their job :P

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonJuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your great feedback.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Rydges Hobart.

We do greatly apologise that the additional bed was not made up when you checked in and that the amenities were not all available.

We definitely hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon.

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were welcoming and the type of building was unique. It has some history to it. Don't go if you have mobility problems, as there is no lift.
One staff member in the bar made it pretty obvious that she didn't want to be there, and her attitude towards other staff was not helpful to them either.
It is close to a lot of things in Hobart, & the service in the restaurant was very good.
I am surprised though that it carries the Rydges name though. Needs a bit of a face lift in areas and they advertised wifi available. There was none :-/

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carmosaures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback!

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Hobart!

We are very sorry you experienced this service from one of our Staff members, as we do strive for Customer Service to be our number one priority.

We are excited to announce that we are due for a refurbishment early next year which will update all accommodation rooms!

All Rydges Properties offer complimentary Wifi to all our guests, so unsure as to why this was not available to you.

We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jennifer and Michael
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Reasonably priced, with a very comfortable bed that is hard to find these days. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed on for 6 days. We had stayed there before 15 years ago, and nothing much has changed. We'll stay again next time. With a hire car distance from the city wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: First floor units overlooking the football field very quiet, Can watch the games over weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you very much for your great feedback!

We are very glad you enjoyed our Rydges Dream Bed and the customer service from our Staff.

We are due for a refurbishment early next year, where all accommodation rooms will be updated.

We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon!

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at Rydges Hotel, Hobart in May. We have stayed previously. We found all staff to be very friendly and courteous. Our room was very clean and comfortable and tariff very reasonable. Our tariff included breakfast which was great. We were given a choice for the cooked breakfast and it was made to order. Food was excellent and the service in the dining room the same. I would recommend anyone visiting Hobart to stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback!

This is exactly the type of feedback we aim for and we thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart again soon!

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We found this hotel quite good value for money. Our antique suite had a small self-contained kitchen, separate lounge, bathroom and separate bedroom, for the basic rate of $145, including breakfast.Though clearly an old building in need of some reburbishment, we found the suite clean and comfortable, and mismatched furniuire does not bother us. The staff were very helpful and friendly, carrying up our bags and offering us a free drink when room service took longer than anticipated. The antique look bed was very comfortable.The locatiion was near to Hobart city and restaurants in Elizabeth Street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calliope121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your great feedback!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are due for a refurbishment early next year which is very exciting!

We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon!

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked an "Antique Suite" as I love Heritage Accommodation - sadly one of the worse that I have experienced! does not do the "Rydges" name any favours.
The reception staff on check in we're very nice and friendly. The "suite" was very spacious but VERY sparsley furnished with a mis match of furniture layout. The 3 Antique mis matched chairs in the lounge area were not really safe enough to sit in! The carpet was stained as was the modern 2 seater lounge.
Best room was the bedroom - lovely 4 Poster Bed with Canopy but was very dusty (the canopy). Plus was bed was comfy and bedding lovely (if had not been I would have left). lovely comfy mattress and quality pillows. A lovely antique wardrobe - but that's where the compliments end. The kitchen spacious and adequately equipped BUT the bar fridge needs taking to the tip, old smelly and even the coating had worn off the door from over use. The bathroom spacious but so dated! Chipped enamel bath and chipped tiles. Grout showing signs of discolour. It was a huge bathroom - a claw foot bath would have been perfect!
overall was clean enough - not spotless but ok. with exception of bed linen which was A1.

No compendium in room showing What Hotel had to offer- not even details of there in house Bar and Restaurant. When I went to reception at 6pm to ask about the Restaurant it was closed and a sign redirected to bar - at 6 o'clock pm be fair!!!!! We found the restaurant and that's another negative review.

The rooms have so much potential - but a refurbishment is really overdue.
Would I stay again - NO. don't think I would give even the modern part of the accommodation on offer a go , which is a shame as it's a perfect quiet location and is appealing from the outside. at $138 for one night on an advance booking offer - feel ripped off. I thought we were staying somewhere special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hobart
Best Western Hobart
#22 of 47 in Hobart
861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Hobart
Ibis Styles Hobart
#17 of 47 in Hobart
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range: £70 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing