We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Nearby Hotels
Mayfair Plaza Motel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macquarie Manor(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Somerset on the Pier Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salamanca Inn(Hobart)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
135
281
172
86
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
281
172
86
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfootball ovalelizabeth streetold buildingsitting roomquiet locationold world charmold styleshort drivelarge bathroombed was very comfortablecity centrebreakfast was includedhire carfree parkingmicrowavemanor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The good thing was the upstairs bedroom and the period furniture and that's where it stops as traveller of the world I would rate this hotel as a 2 star not a Rydges so don't be fooled by the name and to be honest I have no idear why the rydges would put their name to this hotel, because I will never stay at another ever, the staff are less than quality staff and have no idear how to meet or greet, and you have to wait around for anyone to serve you this would never happen at the Intercontinental. breakfast is not worth $48.00 a couple, the fridge is old and should be in a rubbish tip and was not on at arrival so the mini bar in fridge would be off, the amenities is less than 2 star, my recommendations to the CEO change your staff and bring the hotel up to standards 3rd world accommodation isn't even this bad better still go to the intercontinental Adelaide where you will be greeted in by excellent staff excellent amenities and quality of every standard, look I could go on and on at the end of the day I would never recommend it feels more like a rundown brothel and the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are very sorry that your stay with us here at Rydges Hobart was a disappointing one.

We are due for a refurbishment to all accommodation rooms hopefully towards the end of the year or early next year.

We do really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and have taken your feedback on board.

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The only disappointment was that the room was not ready when we arrived. The pull-down QB wasn't made, which we'd requested to use when we'd booked, nor were there towels/cloths set out for our kids. Otherwise, all was in order. The food at breakfast was delicious! Some of the waiting staff didn't seem to be morning people, but they still did their job :P

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonJuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your great feedback.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Rydges Hobart.

We do greatly apologise that the additional bed was not made up when you checked in and that the amenities were not all available.

We definitely hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon.

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were welcoming and the type of building was unique. It has some history to it. Don't go if you have mobility problems, as there is no lift.
One staff member in the bar made it pretty obvious that she didn't want to be there, and her attitude towards other staff was not helpful to them either.
It is close to a lot of things in Hobart, & the service in the restaurant was very good.
I am surprised though that it carries the Rydges name though. Needs a bit of a face lift in areas and they advertised wifi available. There was none :-/

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carmosaures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback!

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Hobart!

We are very sorry you experienced this service from one of our Staff members, as we do strive for Customer Service to be our number one priority.

We are excited to announce that we are due for a refurbishment early next year which will update all accommodation rooms!

All Rydges Properties offer complimentary Wifi to all our guests, so unsure as to why this was not available to you.

We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jennifer and Michael
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Reasonably priced, with a very comfortable bed that is hard to find these days. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed on for 6 days. We had stayed there before 15 years ago, and nothing much has changed. We'll stay again next time. With a hire car distance from the city wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: First floor units overlooking the football field very quiet, Can watch the games over weekends.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you very much for your great feedback!

We are very glad you enjoyed our Rydges Dream Bed and the customer service from our Staff.

We are due for a refurbishment early next year, where all accommodation rooms will be updated.

We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Hobart again soon!

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at Rydges Hotel, Hobart in May. We have stayed previously. We found all staff to be very friendly and courteous. Our room was very clean and comfortable and tariff very reasonable. Our tariff included breakfast which was great. We were given a choice for the cooked breakfast and it was made to order. Food was excellent and the service in the dining room the same. I would recommend anyone visiting Hobart to stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HobartManager, Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback!

This is exactly the type of feedback we aim for and we thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart again soon!

Kind Regards,
Michael and Jennifer
Hotel Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews