We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very tired...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2007

First for the good stuff...this hotel is close to some great North Hobart resturants, has ample car parking, a nice walk to the city (20 mins), lovely views and, in our experience, friendly generally helpful staff (although they wanted to charge us an upgrade fee to move us to another room when we expressed dissappointment at our room's very poor condition and cleanliness) ....it also has major potential to be a lovely graceful hotel...subject to a very very significant refit and refurb.

On the bad side...we booked over the internet and, on arrival, felt that based on the very poor state of repair of our room, which was very run-down (marked & stained walls etc), dirty with very old appliances and very very dated (vintage not heritage) decor, we could certainly not recommend it to others (at least at the rates currently being charged). In our view the hotel was not of the quality advertised, and the value for money was bad. This is not a luxury hotel, if you want a romantic getaway it is definetley not recommended - it would suffice if you want a roof over your head for a night.

We moved to another location the following day - $50 night cheaper and literally at least twice the quality right in the heart of Hobart's beautiful Battery Point. I would recommend consulting the Hobart Tourist Office and asking them to book you into a privately run B & B - you'll get much better value and not feel like you are staying in poorly maintained 1970's era country motel.

  • Liked — Views, quiet location close to some nice resturants
  • Disliked — Very poor quality of the rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 17 April 2007
Thankyou for taking the time to let us know about you impressions of the standard of the accomodation rooms at Rydges Hobart.

I would like to appologise for the areas that you found us wanting. I do fully understand your comments on the condition of the room and have shared these concerns with our Housekeeper and maintenance manager in a proactive enviroment. We do understant that our product is ageing but there is no excuse for offering a room that is substandard in terms of cleanliness.

We do understand what our clients expect from us intermsof consistency of product quality and service delivery, along with attention to detail. Our systems are in place to ensure that this is the case. The matter of effective communication is all that is required to ensure that this is the case in these areas to ensure that our standards are maintained.

as was apparent on you visit to Hobart we sometimes get it wrong but I can say with confidence that we are trying very hard to ensure that oversights and mistakes like this are the exception. This culture is well entrenched amongst our team and measured against the customer feedback we solicit.

I really appreciate your feedback as it has highlighted an area that needs immediate attention.

kind Regards
General Manager Rydges Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    240
    160
    84
    103
See reviews for
153
245
44
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2006

20 min walk to city centre, over half hour walk to Salamanca. All downhill, so it's an uphill walk on the way back. About 30-40min from airport ($50 taxi ride) Staff were friendly and efficient, but the room itself was sorely lacking. Maybe because we booked a standard room...we found it was desperately in need of renovations. Room was deary, carpet was really old, tiles were cracked and had grime stuck in it. Big patch of mould growing on shower ceiling. Fridge wasn't thoroughly cleaned. Was quite a dissappointment coming from the Rydges hotel chain.

  • Liked — Lots of parking
  • Disliked — the accommodation, the spa area
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a car
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lock_yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 5 April 2007
Thankyou for taking the time to pass on your valued comments via Tripadvisor and appologies for the tardiness of my responce to these comments. We at Rydges Hobart take our guest comments very seriously and where applicable share feedback with our team in a proactive enviroment enviroment to ensure a positive outcome for both guests and staff in the future. Whilst some of the items you have highlighted are beyond our immiediate control I can assure you that the state of repair of some of our accomodation rooms has been highlighted to our owners for concideration of rejouvination. We have completed a soft refurbishment of rooms 1 to 20 at the front of the hotel complex and will continue the process in time. We have recently installed the new Rydges Dream Bed a pillow top matteress in all our rooms to ensure a comfortable nights sleep.
We do understand what our clients expect from us , in terms of consistency of product quality and service delivery, along with attention to detail. Our systems and procedures are now in place to ensure this is the case in these areas to that our standards are maintained.
We really appreciated you feedback as it has highlighted issues that needed immediate attention that have now been addressed.
regards
Rino Canto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Cheltenham, Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2006

Booked this hotel on internet and received a great deal. The hotel is located in quite section of town and you need a car to get around. On arriving we were impressed with the look until you get to reception where realise this is an old rundown property. The room we were given was in the old section of building. It smelt like mould. The main bedroom upstairs had an old tester bed that was half colasped and no heating and window covering that took awhile to work out. The second bedroom had 2 single beds and broken window coverings. The pillows were discusting. The staff have attitude and when we asked to have a room change they made us wait hours. Room service, if you can get any is slow and breakfast in the dining area is poor quality. I am not hard to please but this hotel is a disgrace.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaza1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 5 April 2007
Thankyou for taking the time to pass on your valued comments via Tripadvisor and appologies for the tardiness of my responce to these comments. We at Rydges Hobart take our guest comments very seriously and where applicable share feedback with our team in a proactive enviroment enviroment to ensure a positive outcome for both guests and staff in the future. Whilst some of the items you have highlighted are beyond our immiediate control I can assure you that the state of repair of some of our accomodation rooms has been highlighted to our owners for concideration of rejouvination. We have completed a soft refurbishment of rooms 1 to 20 at the front of the hotel complex and will continue the process in time. We have recently installed the new Rydges Dream Bed a pillow top matteress in all our rooms to ensure a comfortable nights sleep.
We do understand what our clients expect from us , in terms of consistency of product quality and service delivery, along with attention to detail. Our systems and procedures are now in place to ensure this is the case in these areas to that our standards are maintained.
We really appreciated you feedback as it has highlighted issues that needed immediate attention that have now been addressed.
regards
GM Rydges Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2006

Just arrived home from 12 nights at Rydges Hobart and can’t say enough good things about this motel. Room was clean and well serviced daily. When we decided to stay in our room late, we where always left fresh towels at the door. The staff where very friendly, and the small bar was a nice place for a quite drink and a chat when arriving home after a busy day... The breakfast buffet was great, and the food from room service was 1st class. Distance from the CBD and waterfront was not a problem, there are 2 options for there bus during the day and taxi is $6. We walked to North Hobart most days and even walked in to town, took 20mins.
All in all a terrific stay and we will defiantly return.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank randbontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 5 April 2007
Thanyou very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Rydges Hobart. We are at the hotel are alway striving to ensure that all our guest expierences are memorable. We truly appriciate that you took the time to put pen to paper so to speak and let us know. We have share you comments with the team who are all very appreciative.

Kind regards
GM Rydges Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2005

The hotel is located a small distance from the main center of town. We had a car so it was still easy to get around. The buildings overlook a sports field so it gives a nice open feeling to the property.

We had reserved a standard room but were surprised to be upgraded to one of the cottages. It was definitely an old building and was split down the middle to make 2 cottages. We had an entry in the front and the back. Down a long hall was a family room, bathroom, bedroom, and kitchen. Very large place but definitely in need of a renovation. The kitchen had the bare essentials to cook and there is a grocery nearby. The room/cottage was huge but almost too big for 2 people. The nicest part of the place was the new jacuzzi tub. We were only there for 1 night so it was fine.

We had some trouble with the in-room movies but the staff did assist us.

On our next visit I would stay closer to Salamance Place - many more attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 5 April 2007
Thankyou for taking the time to pass on your valued comments via Tripadvisor and appologies for the tardiness of my responce to these comments. We at Rydges Hobart take our guest comments very seriously and where applicable share feedback with our team in a proactive enviroment enviroment to ensure a positive outcome for both guests and staff in the future. Whilst some of the items you have highlighted are beyond our immiediate control I can assure you that the state of repair of some of our accomodation rooms has been highlighted to our owners for concideration of rejouvination. We have completed a soft refurbishment of rooms 1 to 20 at the front of the hotel complex and will continue the process in time. We have recently installed the new Rydges Dream Bed a pillow top matteress in all our rooms to ensure a comfortable nights sleep.
We do understand what our clients expect from us , in terms of consistency of product quality and service delivery, along with attention to detail. Our systems and procedures are now in place to ensure this is the case in these areas to that our standards are maintained.
We really appreciated you feedback as it has highlighted issues that needed immediate attention that have now been addressed.
regards
General Manager Rydges Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2005

Arrived on a rainy afternoon to a first floor unit in the newer building. Great size with bedroom and lounge separated by kitchenette and shower room but cold, dingy and in need of a facelift. Mini bar basket contained out of date crisps, chocolate etc. Cutlery was dirty and there was mould in the fridge. Only heater was in the lounge so bedroom was very cold.

Complaint to Reception about the state of the unit was met with profuse apologies and an upgrade to an "Executive Suite" in the old building. Whole building smelt musty. Suite very roomy with a heater in both bedroom and lounge but still everything gave the impression of a badly needed refurbishment.

No problem with staff who were all great but nothing about this hotel would entice me to stay here next time.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TillysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2005

We stayed there for three nights and were not pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the old section of the hotel. The room smelled old and musty. We had to open the windows to get some fresh air, despite of the autumn chill.
The curtains were ran down and they looked like they'd never been washed. The room had a big king size bed in the main room and a pull down bed in the living area. Only the living area had a heater. The main bedroom didn't have one. We had to leave the door to the bathroom open to get some of the heat from the small heater there. On top of this, the room didn't have any blankets, we had to ask reception to send some. My parents slept in the pull down bed and it smelled pretty bad, we had to ask them to change the pillows. The location is far from the city centre.
To wrap it up, I wouldn't stay there again and I don't recommend it either!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRydgesHobart, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 5 April 2007
Thankyou for taking the time to pass on your valued comments via Tripadvisor and appologies for the tardiness of my responce to these comments. We at Rydges Hobart take our guest comments very seriously and where applicable share feedback with our team in a proactive enviroment enviroment to ensure a positive outcome for both guests and staff in the future. Whilst some of the items you have highlighted are beyond our immiediate control I can assure you that the state of repair of some of our accomodation rooms has been highlighted to our owners for concideration of rejouvination. We have completed a soft refurbishment of rooms 1 to 20 at the front of the hotel complex and will continue the process in time. We have recently installed the new Rydges Dream Bed a pillow top matteress in all our rooms to ensure a comfortable nights sleep.
We do understand what our clients expect from us , in terms of consistency of product quality and service delivery, along with attention to detail. Our systems and procedures are now in place to ensure this is the case in these areas to that our standards are maintained.
We really appreciated you feedback as it has highlighted issues that needed immediate attention that have now been addressed.
regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Property: Rydges Hotel Hobart
Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing