We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a prime position. Large rooms decorated are in a modern style. The hotel is only a block from the wharf and even had free parking.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    668
    169
    38
    12
See reviews for
256
606
66
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at the Old Wool Store twice during our 2 week visit to Tasmania. On both occasions we were impressed with the layout of our one bedroom self contained apartment. The living area had two couches and a coffee table, and a desk was built into an alcove. There was a separate toilet/powder room. The bathroom was spacious - the room included the shower, and basin with a generous vanity top, plus washing machine and dryer. The bedroom was also a good size with a large wardrobe with mirrored sliding doors. There was a television in the living area and the bedroom. The first apartment had a king size bed, and the second had a queen bed.

The kitchen was well equipped with more than adequate utensils and pots/pans to prepare meals, and also included a microwave, fridge/freezer and dishwasher.

Mini bar items were also available in the room.

The Old Wool Store presented to us as a generous hotel, eg there was a plentiful supply of tea and coffee, towels, soap, soap powder, washing powder, etc, all replenished daily.

If you do not wish to cook your own meals there is a restaurant in the hotel - we did not use, therefore we cannot make comment.

The apartment was spotlessly clean. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

Internet was available for a daily fee.

The hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront, Salamanca, restaurants, and city centre. There is a convenience store within a few minutes walk.

Secure parking is available - undercover and in the open

Our only negative comment is that on a several occasions we heard loud-ish music - not sure of the source. But, it was not unbearable.

We would definitely stay at the Old Wool Store again and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeddy-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed at the Old Woolstore for a break from as busy schedule. A very nice place to stay. Rooms are modern and very clean with a great supply from the mini bar. Was impressed with the bar down stairs, very relaxing. Staff are very friendly from the time you check in until departure :):)

Room Tip: A one bedroom apartment is a good size for 2 adults and a child. The apartments are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 376Amanda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

so clean and well set out. very spacious. had problem with tv, called reception and someone was at the room with 2 minutes. very friendly staff. could not fault this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I have had the privilege of staying here in the spa room and the normal room, both of which are delightful - clean, well organised and the spa bubbles are great. Somewhat dated, but I didn't particularly find it 'old' as such. The rooms are also very spacious and offer great value for the price.

The real excellent point of this hotel, however, are the staff. They are outstanding and the high rating rests with them. Nothing was too much trouble, always friendly and ready with advice and recommendations. What wonderful people! Made staying in Hobart a true pleasure. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Go for the spa room and treat yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tori171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed in a studio room for 2 nights for business - the room is much larger than standard size, very clean and comfortable and all amenities that one could possibly need - washing machine, drier, small kitchen with dishwasher, couch, table and chairs etc. The decor is a bit dated but overall still quite nice. Comfortable bed and linen. Did not hear a sound from other rooms which is a big plus. The location is convenient to both the CBD and the wharf and Salamanca - one can walk everywhere. Breakfast is good and the foyer and bar are both welcoming. Service was very helpful. The Australian cricket team was staying there too, so this might be and even stronger recommendation from seasoned travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at The Old Woolstore and as usual it was excellent in every way. The rooms are serviced everyday and nothing is any trouble for the staff. The rooms are extremely clean and well appointed. We always stay here and will do so again on our next visit to Hobart. Thankyou to staff at Old Woolstore, excellent service.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the reception side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorisTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing