We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, centrally located accommodation suitable for self-catering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great, centrally located accommodation suitable for self-catering”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Two bedrooms with double and two singles respectively. Very large and comfortable lounge with fully equipped kicthen. Excellent location with 5 min walk to pier and 15 min to Salamanca. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    676
    170
    38
    12
See reviews for
260
614
67
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Queensland. AUST
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We decided to stay here the night on our way back from Bruny Island.We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for a saturday night.The rate was $225 a night.
The apartment is spacious,has a full kitchen and a washer and dryer.There is a bath and separate shower.Large TV with a good selection of channels plus complimentary movie channels.If you want to use the hotel's internet service it is $5 a day.All in all we thought it good value.
We were on the second top floor and certainly there was some noise when people walked around.however we heard no road noise.We were able to sleep soundly.There is a restaurant on site though we did not use it.
We have previously stayed in the Henry Jones Hotel but felt this was better value.You dont get the view but it was much quieter,had more room and considerably cheaper.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom apartments allow you to self cater,do your laundry and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I belong to a software development group that run an annual conference at different venues around Australia. WE chose the Old Woolstore in Hobart for one of our events. The feedback from the group suggests that this was one of the best venues we had ever used. The event ran very smoothly, with fast internet (a must for our group), great organisation, good rooms and very reasonable rates for both the conference expenses and the accommodation. Virtually across the road from the main Hobart Waterfront, and easy walking distance to Salamanca Place.

A very professionally run venue. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suspend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is our third time staying at this hotel. We love the location as it is very much within walking distance from the mall, the harbour and Salamanca Place (10 minutes walk). The room was sufficiently nice too. Unfortunately carpark is a problem as it gets full rather quickly (probably because it's free) and if you happen to come back late, you'll less likely to find any spot available. Other than that, it's very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Good place to stay in Hobart. Very close to Salamenca & shops!

Excellent breakfast with plenty to choose from.

Rooms are nice and clean but don't really feel 'homely'.

I would however stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila-Albie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
230 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed a Saturday night in a 1 bedroom apartment room. It was great, very spacious. A well equiped kitchenette, separate 2nd toilet, a separate laundry with washer and dryer. Large bedroom with ensuite bathroom separate bath and shower. Good TV with 5 movie channels, two leather lounges, dining table and chairs - all very tasteful. Spotlessly clean !!! This place would be great for long stays. The only down side is limited parking. So if you get a parking space on check in - walk to where you want to go in the CBD ! and keep you parking spot. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My family of 4 stayed in Jan 2012, in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was very spacious, with 2 separate bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a large living area.

The location is great, within walking distance to the docks and the CBD.

The big negative for us was that the Queen bed was so hard. It was really uncomfortable and neither myself or my husband had a good's night sleep as a result. If we were staying more than one night, we would have moved.

The only other criticism I have is that there is no view - we looked out to a brick wall.

We had breakfast at the restaurant which was a very reasonably priced buffet. The range on offer was not as diverse as some, but was perfectly fine for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassiemum94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing