We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be anywhere...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be anywhere...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I chose this hotel for my last night of a great holiday in Tasmania. True, the rooms are large, comfortable and clean, but my room looked over the car park, bins and the busiest street in Hobart and there's no feeling of the history and character hinted at in the photos, which is the main reason I chose this hotel.

I arrived early in the day and did not expect to have access to my room so, with the offer to be given a call when the room as ready, I was happy to do some final sightseeing . The call never came.

I arranged the shuttle to the airport with reception. After waiting a reasonable period after the pick-up time, imagine my surprise when I called the shuttle company to find that the booking had never been made.

Just a bit ordinary, really. Stay somewhere cheaper.

Room Tip: A room off the main road would be preferable.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Riley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi Riley H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with your recent stay with us.

Approximately half of our accommodation rooms are built behind the facade of a building dating back to 1897. While the other half of our accommodation is in a purpose-built building, this building has retained some heritage features and both buildings are in the historic "Wapping" area.

Regarding your two comments about not receiving your phone call for early check-in and your shuttle booking not being made, please accept our apologies. Your comments were referred to our Front Office Manager and followed-up with staff.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Tasmania and hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    666
    169
    38
    12
See reviews for
255
606
66
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were thrilled with the quality accommodation and price we paid for our one bedroom unit at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel in Hobart. The room was well appointed, modern and clean and the hotel in a great location with just a short walk down to the waterfront restaurants and shops. We drank in the bar on site a couple of nights and found it quite pleasant also. This is where we will stay next time we are in Hobart and recommend whole heartedly that any family or friends of ours stay here also. The room service breakfast was pretty average and a bit cold so give that a miss!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahKFitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
407 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights here recently on a business trip and the place is lovely.
The outer charm is preserved while inside it is a very modern accommodation
Car parks are limited, and the place is walking distance to the wharf
Spacious apartments, very clean and quiet.
Friendly service, I will be back soon

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Stefanie R,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back soon.

If you are unable to find a park in our main or overflow carparks next time please contact Reception. They will be pleased to offer you a complimentary ticket to Market Place Carpark, just a 5-minute walk away. This will be a convenient solution for you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay here at the Old Woolstore this visit to Tasmania. Excellent meet and greet from reception with a no fuss attitude .Rooms spacious and comfortable which is always a bonus when you come back from a day of sightseeing . Location is an easy walk to pier for catching Mona ferry ,to Salamanca Place and plenty of choice of restaurants . Nice getaway would stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: Hard to imagine a bad room as was given what was available and not disappointed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Really nice buffet breakfast. A large room with a decent kitchen & a (surprise to us) washing machine and dryer. Small balcony but we didn't use it as was overlooking the back of the hotel. Plenty of room to set up our daughter's portacot. Good room service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip and it was great. The rooms are huge and have everything you could want! You could happily stay here for an extended period and be quite self sufficient. As a young father in would absolutely stay here with my wife and son as the rooms are huge ad the one bedroom apartment had a full kitchen, separate laundry, huge bathroom and a second toilet! Furthermore there were two couches and a large dining table. It was very well fitted out!
Although wifi was cheap ($5 per 24 hours) it was frustrating as it only worked on one device at once...

Overall, excellent and some fun character. I would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My partner & I recently spent 3 nights in a 1BR apartment. It proved a great choice, the location is excellent, close to Constitution Dock, Salamanca with heaps of restaurants etc a few minutes walk away. The apartment was great, had everything we needed for a short stay. We enjoyed the fine dining in the restaurant on our last evening. Would definitely stay there again if I visit Hobart.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing