We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at the wharf in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This property offers spacious apartment accommodation just a stone throw from the Fisherman's wharf with its wonderful array of restaurants. Stayed there with a golf group and we all enjoyed the extra space,the nice breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fridge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are thoughfully laid out and the staff are wonderful!

I wasn't sure what to think looking at the photo's but the rooms were well appointed with everything you could need. I stayed in both a 1 bedroom and a studio apartment, the 1 bedroom had a slightly nicer bathroom but the studio had much better beds. The bathroom issues were only aesthetic and were really very useable.

I was so impressed with the staff however who could not do enough to help me and the elderly relative I was travelling with.

We ordered room service a couple of times, the selection was good and everything was of fabulous quality.

The location is stellar, short walk down to Salamanca and the main part of town, where there are lots of fabulous restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Old Woolstore for our Hobart getaway. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly Guest Relations Manager, Amanda and her team. Their warmth and professionalism was a pleasure. All the room service attendants also greeted us with the same enthusiasm. The room was very spacious, the beds divinely comfortable and the toiletries of exceptional quality. The location is very convenient. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the first night and the food was brilliant, a real highlight. All in all a fantastic stay and good value. I have travelled a lot over the years internationally and the warm welcome and attention to detail we received at the Old Woolstore was world class. Only downside was that we had to pay for the wifi.

Room Tip: Room 305 was quiet with 1 king size and 1 queen size bed. Great for 2 friends staying together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisahynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Must admit we booked this using one of the well known "mystery hotel offers" having never been to Hobart before and I do enjoy a bit pot luck. When I saw where and viewed photos I did look like a good selection. Upsides Location Good. Easy access to all facilities. Down side is it is on the busiest corner of Hobart (and probably Tasmania!)

The Hotel has a good Image, looks nice and when you enter reception feels nice. The room we were provided with however did not carry through the image. All furnitiure had the IKEA feel, and had seen better days, Rooms very spacious, but lacked any luxuriois feel. Yes clean and comfortable and yes the hotel has a good location, now is time to upgrade the furnishings.

Room Tip: Not sure, room overlooked entrance and reception so fellow travellers who had clearly enjoyed themse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Hi Gary_TLC,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Yes, the "mystery hotel offers" can be a gamble but happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and found the room quiet, clean and spacious.

It can be difficult to talk in terms of "luxury" as everyone has their own idea however please rest assured that our furniture is of a high standard as required bya busy hotel.

I see that you enjoyed Mount Wellington and MONA in particular, and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your experiences here in Hobart.

Thanks,
Scott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked at the Old Woolstore as it was recommended by friends. I didn't like that we had to pay in full on booking. We arrived late due to flight delays, but were very warmly greeted. The studio apartment rooms were spacious and well appointed - and spotlessly clean. Some rooms were clustered into two and the outside doors could be closed off, effectively co joining the two rooms - however, whilst our two rooms were beside each other, they weren't able to have a shared entrance. Had a drink at the bar on Saturday night - the service was disgraceful (the only thing stopping me from giving this hotel an Excellent rating). Whilst there was at least one function going on in the hotel, there really was no excuse for the poor service - wine served in wet glasses, no reaction when I pointed that out, in addition to waiting a long time for somebody to actually serve me. I definitely would stay here again - but probably not drink at the bar!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On the positive side our one bedroom apartment was comfortable, very quiet and very well located near Sullivans Cove, just a few minutes walk from the water. The apartment was well appointed and even had a washing machine complete with washing powder, so would be great for tourists who are travelling around Australia. We only ate breakfast at the hotel one morning, but it was fine. Staff were friendly and helpful. No problems finding a park whenever we needed one.
The down side was the apartment was a little lacking in atmosphere (not very cosy) and the bed was quite hard and uncomfortable. Also the toilet which was separate from the bathroom, needs an extractor fan.
Overall a good stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CaroSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Woolstore is close to the dock, to salamanca and the cbd. The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable and the toiletries are fabulous. I ordered some from the supplier after my stay because the products were just so lovely. The breakfast is tops, with great quality tea (obviously very important) and eggs (also very important as well). Stayed for business, but would have no hesitation staying here again for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £90 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing