We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good spot in Hobart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable and handy. My husband and I stayed in a Studio Apartment for one night and found the room to be spacious and comfortable. Decent sized bathroom which included a regural sized hairdryer rather than the usual hotel, on the wall kind so that was good for me. Being a Studio Apartment the bathroom also held the washing machine and clothes dryer. Bed was comfortable as were the pillows. The hotel is in walking distance to the waterfront (Constitution Dock etc), the Salamanca Market area then on to Battery Point as well as the CBD, museums and shops. We also ate at Stockman's Restaurant for dinner and had a delicious meal.

Room Tip: We were on level 5 at the back to ensure a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear TravellingGumby,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our property.

Great that you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you also had a lovely time in Hobart exploring the sights.

Stockmans Restaurant focuses on local Tasmanian produce and our Executive Chef is pleased to hear that you found your meal delicious!

Happy New Year, and we hope to see you next time you travel to Hobart.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    681
    170
    39
    12
See reviews for
262
618
69
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel situated in great location, easy walking distance to all tourist sites. Rooms clean and comfortable, bar area lacks atmosphere but drinks reasonably priced. Staff were helpful and friendly, parking is limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Restmybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi Restmybones,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient.

Our well-stocked bar (the Baaa Bar) is a relaxed space to enjoy a quiet drink and most guests choose to stay for a couple before heading into Stockmans Restaurant or down to the waterfront. Like any bar it can get busy but for the most part it's pretty laid back as we don't have bands/DJ's etc.

Regarding parking, we have two carparks and should these be full we offer complimentary carparking at Market Place carpark only minutes walk away. While we can't offer free parking onsite, we do offer free parking. Free passes are available at Reception on request.

We hope to see you when you next travel to Hobart.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

it's a nice place, nice apartment with kitchen to make you're own food if you like. Very convenient to Constitution Dock, and convenient to the shopping area.
There is parking available to.
It's not what I'd call an exciting place, but it's certainly clean and the bed was good quality.
I didn't interact with the staff much at all, except on check in and check out, but they were friendly. Actually most people in Tasmania seemed pretty friendly, maybe because it was xmas or maybe just because smaller cities are friendlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi Craig W,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I am glad to hear that your experience with us was a good one.

We regularly hear that our staff are friendly and they are all residents in Hobart. We also hear often that people in Tasmania are friendly and thank-you for your comments.

We hope to see you next time if you visit Hobart again.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel is in great location only short walk from docks and salamanca place. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Bar was nice and reasonably priced. Rooms were really spacious, clean and comfortable beds. Bathrooms were big with both a bath and shower. Wifi free and really fast. The only negative about this hotel is there is not enough parking, at weekend we struggled but that is really the only bad thing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Rosalyn D,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us!

Regarding your comments about parking, we offer complimentary overflow carparking at Market Place carpark (only minutes walk away). Should you choose to stay with us again please ask at Reception.

Many thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Apartment was spacious, clean and great facilities if a little sterile. Lots of options on TV and the kitchen was supplied and well equipped. Shower was very good! Bit noisy in the morning and the light split through a bit too easily. This place is well located for city shopping and harbour visits. Staff were super friendly. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Robin M,

Thank-you for reviewing our hotel and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will stay with us again. In particular our large range of (free) TV channels including movies & FOX and the very good shower.

We have 242 rooms and can cater for a range of requests. Please feel free when making your next reservation to have a chat with our friendly reservations staff and we can look to allocate you a room which will suit you better. For example, one which doesn't catch the morning sun in a quieter area? Please let us know.

Thank-you for your comments regarding our friendly staff.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice functional hotel for looking round Hobart, seemed more geared to the business market (with conference facilities etc) but don't let this put you off. Clean and plenty of space in the rooms (we had a double room - two double beds), with coffee/tea provided in the room plus kettle and fridge (and plunger coffee if you pay). Reception staff very friendly and helpful, taxi hotline in reception, and free Internet room if you ask at Reception (eg to check in for flights and print off boarding passes). Very close for walking to the Wharf area and restaurants, Museum & Art Gallery, and to walk to the great Botanic Gardens (and the zoo site where the last Tassie Tiger was kept/filmed). Breakfast was expensive for continental (if you only eat cereal/coffee) but was good value for the full cooked option. We also ate twice in the Shearers Restaurant - excellent food and good value (lamb fillet with mushroom duxelles, yum ! and my hubby had scotch fillet, also cooked just right and very tasty accompaniments).

Room Tip: Probably a room above ground level would be nicer. A/C in our room was quiet, but had to turn off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Aussiegirl64,

Thank you for taking the time to comprehensively review our hotel.

You are correct that we have conference facilities however we strive to offer a home away from home to all of our guests, whatever their reason for travelling.

We are pleased to hear that your room (2 x queen beds - we don't have any double beds) was comfortable and that you found the amenities and free WIFI handy. We are sorry that you found your fridge noisy and should you choose to stay with us again please contact Reception (24-hours) if you have any issues and we will do what we can to rectify them.

Great to hear that you found our location central and that you enjoyed two dinners in Stockmans Restaurant. Regarding breakfast, our Continental Buffet rate of $14.00 offers a choice of cereals, yoghurt, preserved fruits, fresh fruit, freshly baked breads, croissants, pastries, preserves, fruit juices, freshly brewed coffee and a selection of fine and herbal teas. While we consider this to be great value we concede that it would be considered high for one bowl of cereal and a cup of coffee.

Happy New Year, and we hope that you choose to stay with us next should you travel to Hobart again.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom flat style apartment. Very clean, great beds and large room (two toilets and sinks a bonus for 3 adults). The staff were fantastic! Very friendly and helpful. Great location, easy walk to Salamanca.

Only disappointment was the restaurant. Breakfast was great, no complaints. But dinner was way overpriced ($28 for a small fish pie with an unappetising stack of hard veg). My sister is a vegetarian and the only main option was a veg calzone for.....$25!! The chef was "too busy" to assist with options (only 3 tables in the entire restaurant were being used in the hour we were there). Her gnocchi was store bought and completely cold and had definitely not just been cooked. On the upside the hotel offers discounts to 2 very good restaurants on Salamanca. Much nicer and also cheaper.

This hotel really offers anything the traveller would need. Good quality accommodation, great facilities and an excellent location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear MinkaJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It sounds like you had a great trip to Hobart and enjoyed your stay with us. In particular you have highlighted our accommodation rooms, loaction and staff.

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening meal with us. Regarding the prices, Hobart is renowned for fresh seafood and produce and while we would never say we are "cheap", we believe we offer great value. Having reviewed our current menu I can confirm that there are five vegitarian options available being Caesar Salad, Panzanella Salad, Roast Pumpkin and Sweet Potato Salad with Haloumi, Gnocchi and Basil Pesto and Vegetable Calzone. Our gnocci is bought made and we apologise that it arrived cold. I would be happy to discuss this with you further and please feel free to contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au

We are indeed affiliated with a number of local businesses and discount vouchers are available at Reception. The two restaurants you mention specialise in pizzas and burgers and are generally lower priced than Stockmans.

Happy New Year, and I look forward to hearing from you at your discretion.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing