We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“friendly & comfortable”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

very friendly staff and comfortable room. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, plenty of room,very comfortable bed, good bathroom, separate toilet and biggish kitchen. Walking distance to the main attractions. Would recommend for couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear rhbeer,

Thank you for taking the time to reivew The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you may be interested to know that we also have 2 and 3-Bedroom Apartments which offer extra space for families.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    701
    176
    42
    12
See reviews for
274
636
70
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Room was a bit dark but well equipped , very clean and well serviced .

Both breakfast and dinner were excellent in the restaurant .

Would recommend for singles , family , couples and the location is with in easy walking distance to everything

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear skysydney,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay including your dining experiences in our Stockmans Restaurant.

Approximatley half of our accommodation is built inside a heritage-listed building which was constructed in 1897. While this gives our hotel a unique feel there were some limitations as part of the development which means that some rooms get less natural light than others. We work diligently on our room presentation and we always like to hear when guests appreciate our servicing standards.

We hope to see you next time you visit Hobart and if so please mention any special requests when making your booking.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

One night stay in a hotel room, two queen beds (twin share booked) lots of space, big bathroom and a very well appointed room everything you could want for your stay. Only fault I could hear people walking in the room above throughout the night as the ceiling creaked

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear shazpeta,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and well appointed room.

Our Hotel Rooms are located in a heritage listed (old) woolstore and as a result some of the floors can be heard to creak. If the noise is excessive we always recommend contacting our reception desk (24-hours) to discuss a solution and ensure a sound night's sleep.

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Hobart, and that we will see you again next time.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had to stay in Hobart for three weeks for work, yeah its a hard life. Our company put us up at the Woolstore as it was four blocks from where I was working. Rooms are a good size and made up every day. I stayed in 815 (only third floor so work that one out). Full mini bar and nice bathroom extra's. Free WiFi, yes free! Although if you have a cable you will get up to 10Mbps rather than 700k for WiFi, which is OK. Meals in the restaurant are good. Staff is very friendly. They will provide you with a free pass to the Hobart Aquatic center if you need to do some laps which is a very nice swim complex with a 50m and 25 indoor heated pool.

Very busy hotel but quite enough. They also have a little gym as do most hotels. Three blocks from Salamanka markets of a Saturday. Two blocks from town and a Woollies. One block from the walf precinct, one block from the museum which is quite spectacular and FREE, so any where you walk is quite spectacular.

So I fully recommended the stay here, not sure on the price but a Google can sought that out.

Room Tip: Any should do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jakar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Public Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Jakar74,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your three week stay with us in your Studio Apartment. You have mentioned many aspects of your stay and there are just a three I would like to pick up on.

Firstly, we acknowledge that our WIFI speed can vary depending on usage. It is currently uncapped and available to multiple devices per room.

Secondly, we thoroughly agree with your comments on TMAG (Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery) which is just a couple of hundred metres up Macquarie Street from us. Great to hear that you were out and about during your work visit.

Thirdly, if you're shopping online the best rates can be found on our website.

We hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The entrance can initially be tricky to find when coming in a rental car from Hobart Airport for the first time and given the popularity of the hotel, parking can be tricky, however, the hotel is very accommodating to make parking as easy as possible. The staff are friendly and nothing too much trouble with directions or information on other requests on where to eat etc. Rooms well maintained with complimentary Wi-Fi (big tick) and other facilities. Once you have mastered the in and out of the carpark the hotel is well placed for the major arterial roads. Also a short walk to the waterfront and great seafood and on Saturdays the famous Salamanca markets. Thoroughly enjoyed Hobart and the Old Woolstore.

Room Tip: Being on a main road the front rooms overlooking Macquarie get a lot of traffic noise so suggest a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHewe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Public Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Bruce_H_Melbourne,

Thank you for reviewing The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Firstly, thank you for commenting on our friendly and accommodating staff. We often get comments from first-time drivers to Hobart regarding the one-way systems and happy to hear that whilst tricky at first, you were pointed in the right direction. You are correct in saying that we are well placed to access the major arterial roads.

We also enjoy hearing that our guests took advantage of our location in terms of easy walking distance to the waterfront and Salamanca areas. You have mentioned the local seafood which is a highlight of many visits!

If visiting us again please be sure to request a quiet room and we will always do what we can to accommodate.

Thanks again and hope that you enjoyed Hobart enough to warrant another visit!
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

spent one night

the good:
- location
- free parking
- spacious room
- comfy bed
- quiet
- good breakfast with large choice

not so good
- not much effort on the room decoration
- bathroom clean, but boring

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear axelgfrsyd,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Great to see that the positives well out-weighed the negatives and it seems that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

While we are of course always disappointed to see the "not so good" comments, we trust that your accommodation room still delivered albeit that you did not find it aesthetically pleasing.

Thanks again and all the best for your future travels.
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Like the kitchens in apartments, clean and staff helpful.
Parking can be an issue on busy weekends though.
Laundry is very handy in rooms and you are a walk away from wharf and Salamanca market and shops. Can be a bit noisy but we moved to a quieter room which the staff helped with. Kids can't stay in spa room though-hotel policy.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Kate T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at, and review The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.

Great that you enjoyed the convenience of your apartment and when you requested a quieter room we could accommodate with help.

Hobart has a lot to offer and we always enjoy hearing when our guests venture out on foot to the waterfront and Salamanca, only a short walk away.

Yes, we offer our Executive Spa Apartments on an adults only basis. We do however have a great range of child-friendly apartment and hotel-room options and portacots are free of charge. Free passes for the Hobart Aquatic Centre swimming pools are available from reception which is also a great option for kids (and adults!).

Our friendly reservations staff are only too happy to expain our various room-types and are available by phone or email.

Thanks again,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing