We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How on earth did they come up with 4 and a half stars ????????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Firstly the staff did NOT want to be there, so that was going to be a problem. we got the keys to our room and again problems, Leave windows open all day to get rid of smell, but it still lingered after we shut the window. must admit nothing really to write about other than the service was dreadful and the rooms smelt, they are the standards that the star rates do apply to surly ? the room was quiet a good size, view from our balcony ( which was extreamly small) was over looking a brick building,........BUT!!!!! breakfast was ok for a 3 and a half star hotel. also l think the swimming pool was up the street a little way as for a spa ????????

Room Tip: dont expect to much from the staff, simply very unhelpful and a little curt if you asked a question...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Mary 1949,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is disappointing to hear you had such experience with our staff, our friendly team offer exceptional customer service and are always willing to help. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the service standards you received. I would love to hear more about your time with us, please contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au

Our Apartment Hotel is a block back from the Hobart waterfront and we do not sell our views to guests. Our balconies are small in size but we only promote these as a Juliet balcony which provides guest the option take in the surrounds.

We offer complimentary passes to the Hobart Aquatic Centre which is a short walk from the hotel with spa baths available in our Executive Spa Apartments.
Regards
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Old Woolstore after getting a great deal on Wotif. We had an apartment with views towards the Derwent river. The location of the Old Woolstore was central, only short walks to Salamanca and the CBD. We will definitely be staying here again when we visit Hobart next. Customer service was friendly, room was spotless and it was quiet even with a busy street below. We were on the eighth floor. Bed was a little bed hard for our liking but a minor issue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Kate W,
Thank you for choosing to write a review on The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel and wonderful to hear that you will stay with us again next year. We recommend that when booking next time, check out the deals on our website.
Thanks,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there in a two bedroom apartment bit tired but very clean, very surprised as advertised as one bathroom with extra toilet this turned out to have a very nice vanity as well worked extremely well for two couples. Very close to restaurants and Salamanca Wharf, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Suggest if you want a really dark room with no outside light coming in choose apartment 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Penny B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay with us. Great that you found the two bedroom apartment clean and that the additional facilities were suitable for two couples. To those reading this review our 4.5 star Apartments are AAA rated.

Lovely to hear you found the proximity to the wharf area ideal and I hope you made the most of your time down here exploring the Hobart surrounds. Great to know you’d stay with us again.

Referring to your room tip interesting to note that none of our 2 bed room apartments are apartment 13, if you’d like to clarify this please contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au
Thanks,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Whilst we didn't use a lot of the amenities offered by this hotel during our recent stay, services and facilities that were offered looked good value and quite comprehensive. Room was immaculate, service was friendly and there was free movies and complimentary biscuits and nice toiletries. Next time we'll try room service.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Maria,
Thanks for your wonderful review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel. Very pleasing to receive great comments from guests.

Would love to see you again for another stay.

Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a studio and it was terrific to have a kitchenette and couch. Housekeeping was very good and the staff were all very friendly. The location of this hotel is great, very conveniently located. We would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stefmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi stemfmsu,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to make a review. Pleasing to hear you enjoyed and made use of the amenities in your room.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would not hesitate to stay with us again.

Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We lashed out for an apartment on the tenth floor ... complete with excellent spa, [blue-clear pure Tasmanian water], full laundry facilities [machine & dryer], full size 'fridge and oven ... HUGE Room ... Brilliant Bed ... Heaps of fluffy white towels and two gowns ... Mt Wellington views ... Classy toiletries ... [We'd been in a farm stay ... $12 coin operated wash machine & dryer; 2 minute showers and insipid trickling water pressure ...]
Old Woolstore restored our faith in Tasmania !!!
Baa Bar bit amateurish [Requested two fine local wines off specials board ... "Sorry .. it's the end of the week and we've run out of those ... ] .. on a Saturday evening.
Restaurant mix of very [very] casually dressed clientele, six star food and young staff who open a pinot gris when you order a pinot noir .. Rib Eye 280g steak as tender as soft butter and full of taste .. I could not finish this main dish ... [We could not find a fine dining restaurant searching Hobart sites and TripAdvisor]
Generous car parking is a big advantage in downtown Hobart.

Room Tip: Tenth floor Large room with Spa and Harbour view at Western end of corridor ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gasmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi gasmambo,

Thanks for the review and we appreciate you have taken the time to make this review. Pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay in an Executive Spa Apartment on the top floor and that you took advantage of all of the facilities.

While we are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the service in our Stockmans Restaurant and Baaa Bar, we are of course happy to hear that you describe the food as “six star” and found your Rib Eye “tender as soft butter and full of taste” – the way it should be :-) Your comments have been passed-on to our Restaurant Manager who will address your feedback with our staff accordingly.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our free parking and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Sophie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Excellent location, service and facilities. Staff friendly and helpful and one bedroom room immaculately presented. Great value and I would not hesitate to stay there again. One block from Constitution Dock and all it has to offer. Easy walk to the ferry terminal for MONA and the central shopping precinct.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSCorporateSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hi James N,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and and will not hesitate to stay with us again. I trust that you also had a wonderful time in Hobart and enjoyed MONA.

Thanks,
Scott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £78 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing