We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge apartment, central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge apartment, central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location ... Walking distance to town & market. Huge rooms (+ two toilets) which would easily accommodate more than two guests. The only negative aspect would be the lack of car parking ... Compounded by the fact that there's no allocation of available parking spaces either. Overall, however, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Jenlou4,
Thanks for the review. I trust you had a wonderful time in Hobart and enjoyed exploring the Salamanca Market.
Our hotel offers free parking and the reason we do not allocate is with 242 hotel rooms we do not have the space. When all parking onsite is full we offer free parking in the Market Place Car Park which is less than a 300m walk away.
Glad you still had a great stay.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    668
    169
    38
    12
See reviews for
256
606
66
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a studio apartment on the top floor of the "New" block (levels 5-10). We bagged a "steal a studio" offer online (through the woolstore official website) and paid just $159 pn for a studio. BIG BONUS - FREE WIFI and FREE PARKING! Major major plus.
The studio was large, clean and very functional. A good 2 ring hob, fridge (half of which was unfortunately full of minibar items), and even a washer and drier in the bathroom.
Nice comfy bed, and good strong and hot shower (small triangular shower cubicle though).
Lovely complementary toiletries too. The staff were very friendly.
It is a short walk to the harbour, MONA ferry or Salamanca markets, and plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.
We checked out and headed homewards, but our return flight to Sydney was cancelled at 11pm, and we found ourselves being accommodated in the Old Woolstore again - it is Jetstar's complimentary hotel! We were slotted into a huge 1 bedroom apartment in the old part of the building - HUGE, clean and even more amenities than the studio - laundry room, extra toilet, oven ... AMAZING place to stay. Jetstar gave us $35 each of meal credit, and we used the Woolstore's room service at 1am - fantastic burgers and wedges. There is nothing I could improve at the Old Woolstore, I highly recommend it for visiting Hobart.

Room Tip: High floor is quieter. New block (levels 5-10) has good views, but louder than old block (levels 1-4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Abs140,
Thanks for taking the time to make your review, and great to hear you found a good deal on our official website. We always recommend our site for best available rates.
Informative room comments you have provided, thank you.
Sorry to hear your homeward flight was cancelled, never ideal on your journey home but sure sounds like you were impressed with your apartment on the original side of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.
Great to know you’d recommend us.
Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Old Woolstore surely has a distinct charm. Enjoyed my stay. Huge big room. No complaint about the tiny window as view to the harbour would have certainly been blocked by the buildings on the road even it was big. But who needs a window for a two night stay after visiting MONA when your mind is still seeing those images.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi jahar2014, thanks for the 4/5 review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the original charm of The Old Woolstore and found the room was suitable.
Excellent to hear you went out and visited MONA during your time in Hobart, it is certainly a unique place that we recommend to all who visit.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just spent a week at the Woolshed Apartment Hotel in Hobart. Great staff including the room service/cleaner staff - very friendly and obliging , Absolutely no view - the Grand Chancellor blocks the view to the harbour and the apartments near the road are noisy. We stayed in a studio apartment in the 'new' section. Cheap price, 1 block walk to the harbour/restaurants and 2 blocks to the Salamanca markets. Good for business travellers - but if you want a stay to remember with olde world ambience mixed with modern décor - aim for a place with harbour view and authentic décor like The Henry Jones Art Hotel. Expensive - but they would offer the modern Hobart experience. At the Woolstore - VERY hard beds, bar fridge only, TINY shower, leaking toilet, very noisy fan/light in the bathroom. Clothes dryer that kept stopping until reported and fixed, minimal plates, glasses etc. But great location and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section of the hotel to get some ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Dale A,
Appreciate you making the review of your week long stay with us at the hotel here in Hobart.
With our hotel a block away from the water front we do not sell our views to guest but we do offer a great location within easy walking distance to the CBD and Hobart waterfront.

We recognise that bedding is a personal preference and sorry to hear you did not enjoy the bed during your stay. Please note we do also offer mattress toppers upon request.

Thanks for your comments on the room and I would hope you passed these issues on as soon as you found them to be of a problem. Our 24 hour reception is always willing to help and we have staff onsite all the time to assist with any maintenance issues.
Thanks for the positive comments on parking and location.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is located just north of the main wharf area with only a short stroll to town and Constitution Dock. A nice ten minute walk along the waterfront to Salamanca Place.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and we got a super deal. Shop around. The apartment had a good sized kitchenette and a full laundry with washer and dryer. The bed was comfortable and the whole unit was very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, we had a late afternoon flight and they happily stored our baggage for us.

The downstairs bar is very cozy, but adequate. Full buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant and was $20 and there was quite a good selection, although no chef on duty to cook omelettes etc, although good value for the price level. The continental breakfast also had plenty of choice for $17. Easy access from hotel to freeway when catching taxi or shuttle as is on the way to the bridge. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner.

I highly recommend The Old Woolstore and I will definitely stay here again if I can get a good price on a room. This would be a good place to use as a base during your family stay in the Hobart area due to the kitchen and laundry facilities which could save a family on a budget plenty of time and money.

Room Tip: All floors well serviced by speedy lift however these are at the north end of the main building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandWendy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
BobandWendy151,
Thanks for the comprehensive review! Pleasing to hear you enjoyed the location and the facilities at the hotel.

Thanks for the comments on friendly staff and the buffet breakfast available, glad you enjoyed the range offered.

Nice to know you would not hesitate in recommending us and we would love to have you stay with us again.
Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Firstly the staff did NOT want to be there, so that was going to be a problem. we got the keys to our room and again problems, Leave windows open all day to get rid of smell, but it still lingered after we shut the window. must admit nothing really to write about other than the service was dreadful and the rooms smelt, they are the standards that the star rates do apply to surly ? the room was quiet a good size, view from our balcony ( which was extreamly small) was over looking a brick building,........BUT!!!!! breakfast was ok for a 3 and a half star hotel. also l think the swimming pool was up the street a little way as for a spa ????????

Room Tip: dont expect to much from the staff, simply very unhelpful and a little curt if you asked a question...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Mary 1949,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is disappointing to hear you had such experience with our staff, our friendly team offer exceptional customer service and are always willing to help. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the service standards you received. I would love to hear more about your time with us, please contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au

Our Apartment Hotel is a block back from the Hobart waterfront and we do not sell our views to guests. Our balconies are small in size but we only promote these as a Juliet balcony which provides guest the option take in the surrounds.

We offer complimentary passes to the Hobart Aquatic Centre which is a short walk from the hotel with spa baths available in our Executive Spa Apartments.
Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Old Woolstore after getting a great deal on Wotif. We had an apartment with views towards the Derwent river. The location of the Old Woolstore was central, only short walks to Salamanca and the CBD. We will definitely be staying here again when we visit Hobart next. Customer service was friendly, room was spotless and it was quiet even with a busy street below. We were on the eighth floor. Bed was a little bed hard for our liking but a minor issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Kate W,
Thank you for choosing to write a review on The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel and wonderful to hear that you will stay with us again next year. We recommend that when booking next time, check out the deals on our website.
Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing