We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in one.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All in one.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The great thing about staying here was in the middle of a cold Tassie winter you could come back after a long day site seeing and not have to go out again. The bar was small but nice and friendly with a good atmosphere and the restruant was convenient with great food.
The "Steal a Studio" deal was great with the two for one vouchers for breakfast. Also having the washer and dryer in the bathroom was really handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dog-squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for the review Dog-squad,

Pleasing to hear you found all facilities offered at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel were perfect after your day out exploring in Hobart.

Great to see you got a good deal though booking a special on our direct website.
Hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    699
    174
    42
    12
See reviews for
269
635
70
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

On our month long trip through Australia and Tasmania, we stayed here for a couple of nights. Unfortunately my wife was ill (nothing to do with this establishment) and so it was a good place to stay quietly and comfortably while she recovered. We're a bit fussy about what we eat, so we tend to enjoy our own coffee and make our own breakfast and having an equipped kitchen was ideal. The day she was ill, I was able to get take away food and fortunately, the small kitchen was all we needed. Of importance to me is Free WiFi and Free parking. It's not trivial. Charging for both of these is outrageous (my opinion).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
TheQuietTraveller,

Thanks for taking the time to make a comprehensive review after your stay at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel. Sorry to hear your wife was unwell during your visit however it’s pleasing to know you found your stay with us quiet and comfortable.

Thanks for the comment re our Free parking and WiFi, we certainly like to encourage guests to make the most of these whilst staying.

Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights with our 7 month old daughter while visiting Hobart. It was a comfortable stay, relatively spacious one bedroom apartment with free parking, although parking spaces are limited. The buffet breakfast was reasonable at around $19 with the usual selection, nothing fancy though. An all round good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiced85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for the review spiced85,

Nice to hear your family enjoyed the stay with us. With limited parking available we offer overflow parking just a short walk away from the hotel at the Market Place Car Park and both parking facilities are free for guests staying at the hotel.

Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location ... Walking distance to town & market. Huge rooms (+ two toilets) which would easily accommodate more than two guests. The only negative aspect would be the lack of car parking ... Compounded by the fact that there's no allocation of available parking spaces either. Overall, however, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Jenlou4,
Thanks for the review. I trust you had a wonderful time in Hobart and enjoyed exploring the Salamanca Market.
Our hotel offers free parking and the reason we do not allocate is with 242 hotel rooms we do not have the space. When all parking onsite is full we offer free parking in the Market Place Car Park which is less than a 300m walk away.
Glad you still had a great stay.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a studio apartment on the top floor of the "New" block (levels 5-10). We bagged a "steal a studio" offer online (through the woolstore official website) and paid just $159 pn for a studio. BIG BONUS - FREE WIFI and FREE PARKING! Major major plus.
The studio was large, clean and very functional. A good 2 ring hob, fridge (half of which was unfortunately full of minibar items), and even a washer and drier in the bathroom.
Nice comfy bed, and good strong and hot shower (small triangular shower cubicle though).
Lovely complementary toiletries too. The staff were very friendly.
It is a short walk to the harbour, MONA ferry or Salamanca markets, and plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.
We checked out and headed homewards, but our return flight to Sydney was cancelled at 11pm, and we found ourselves being accommodated in the Old Woolstore again - it is Jetstar's complimentary hotel! We were slotted into a huge 1 bedroom apartment in the old part of the building - HUGE, clean and even more amenities than the studio - laundry room, extra toilet, oven ... AMAZING place to stay. Jetstar gave us $35 each of meal credit, and we used the Woolstore's room service at 1am - fantastic burgers and wedges. There is nothing I could improve at the Old Woolstore, I highly recommend it for visiting Hobart.

Room Tip: High floor is quieter. New block (levels 5-10) has good views, but louder than old block (levels 1-4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Abs140,
Thanks for taking the time to make your review, and great to hear you found a good deal on our official website. We always recommend our site for best available rates.
Informative room comments you have provided, thank you.
Sorry to hear your homeward flight was cancelled, never ideal on your journey home but sure sounds like you were impressed with your apartment on the original side of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.
Great to know you’d recommend us.
Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Old Woolstore surely has a distinct charm. Enjoyed my stay. Huge big room. No complaint about the tiny window as view to the harbour would have certainly been blocked by the buildings on the road even it was big. But who needs a window for a two night stay after visiting MONA when your mind is still seeing those images.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi jahar2014, thanks for the 4/5 review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the original charm of The Old Woolstore and found the room was suitable.
Excellent to hear you went out and visited MONA during your time in Hobart, it is certainly a unique place that we recommend to all who visit.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just spent a week at the Woolshed Apartment Hotel in Hobart. Great staff including the room service/cleaner staff - very friendly and obliging , Absolutely no view - the Grand Chancellor blocks the view to the harbour and the apartments near the road are noisy. We stayed in a studio apartment in the 'new' section. Cheap price, 1 block walk to the harbour/restaurants and 2 blocks to the Salamanca markets. Good for business travellers - but if you want a stay to remember with olde world ambience mixed with modern décor - aim for a place with harbour view and authentic décor like The Henry Jones Art Hotel. Expensive - but they would offer the modern Hobart experience. At the Woolstore - VERY hard beds, bar fridge only, TINY shower, leaking toilet, very noisy fan/light in the bathroom. Clothes dryer that kept stopping until reported and fixed, minimal plates, glasses etc. But great location and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section of the hotel to get some ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Dale A,
Appreciate you making the review of your week long stay with us at the hotel here in Hobart.
With our hotel a block away from the water front we do not sell our views to guest but we do offer a great location within easy walking distance to the CBD and Hobart waterfront.

We recognise that bedding is a personal preference and sorry to hear you did not enjoy the bed during your stay. Please note we do also offer mattress toppers upon request.

Thanks for your comments on the room and I would hope you passed these issues on as soon as you found them to be of a problem. Our 24 hour reception is always willing to help and we have staff onsite all the time to assist with any maintenance issues.
Thanks for the positive comments on parking and location.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing