We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, all the creature comforts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, all the creature comforts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Quality hotel. Close to everything in the city that you would be interested in. Parking seemed to be a bit of an issue, but the concierge was happy to deal with it and have our car squeeze in near the gate. Clean and comfortable. Great breakfast selection. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charmmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi Charmaine,
Thanks for providing a 4/5 review on your stay with us in April. In regards to parking we do offer Free onsite parking as well as overflow just a short walk away in the Market Place Car Park. Our concierge team are more than happy to assist with any parking requirements.
Good to hear you would not hesitate in stay again
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    668
    169
    38
    12
See reviews for
256
606
66
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nothing else matters when you see a mouse in your room. I have no idea where that mouse went before I saw it. Avoid at all costs. Go elsewhere.

BTW - I did not ask management for a new room - what is the point - there could be mice in all the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyLuck, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We wish to offer our sincere apologies if indeed there was a mouse in your room. It is extremely disappointing that you chose not to report this at any time during your stay, denying us the opportunity address your concerns immediately.

We impose a very stringent pest-control program at The Old Woolstore and have not discovered any evidence of any rodent inside a guest room during our 17 years of operation. We employ the services of a fully accredited pest control contractor to monitor our control measures on a regular basis. The most recent of these checks was conducted on the 16th of June with nil rodent activity reported. Likewise, our Housekeeping Team have not detected any indication of mice within the building.

It would be appreciated if you could contact the hotel urgently to advise further details (either room number or name booking was made in) so that we may investigate further.

Kind regards,
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights as a couple in a one bedroom apartment. Very comfortable accommodation, with access to kitchen and laundry facilities of a high quality. Room service and breakfast fantastic, all staff extremely helpful. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teganandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for your review teganandalan,

Nice to hear you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff helpful. I trust you had the chance to explore Hobart whilst your were staying with us and great to know you would not hesitate in staying with us again.

Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The great thing about staying here was in the middle of a cold Tassie winter you could come back after a long day site seeing and not have to go out again. The bar was small but nice and friendly with a good atmosphere and the restruant was convenient with great food.
The "Steal a Studio" deal was great with the two for one vouchers for breakfast. Also having the washer and dryer in the bathroom was really handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dog-squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for the review Dog-squad,

Pleasing to hear you found all facilities offered at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel were perfect after your day out exploring in Hobart.

Great to see you got a good deal though booking a special on our direct website.
Hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

On our month long trip through Australia and Tasmania, we stayed here for a couple of nights. Unfortunately my wife was ill (nothing to do with this establishment) and so it was a good place to stay quietly and comfortably while she recovered. We're a bit fussy about what we eat, so we tend to enjoy our own coffee and make our own breakfast and having an equipped kitchen was ideal. The day she was ill, I was able to get take away food and fortunately, the small kitchen was all we needed. Of importance to me is Free WiFi and Free parking. It's not trivial. Charging for both of these is outrageous (my opinion).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
TheQuietTraveller,

Thanks for taking the time to make a comprehensive review after your stay at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel. Sorry to hear your wife was unwell during your visit however it’s pleasing to know you found your stay with us quiet and comfortable.

Thanks for the comment re our Free parking and WiFi, we certainly like to encourage guests to make the most of these whilst staying.

Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights with our 7 month old daughter while visiting Hobart. It was a comfortable stay, relatively spacious one bedroom apartment with free parking, although parking spaces are limited. The buffet breakfast was reasonable at around $19 with the usual selection, nothing fancy though. An all round good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiced85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for the review spiced85,

Nice to hear your family enjoyed the stay with us. With limited parking available we offer overflow parking just a short walk away from the hotel at the Market Place Car Park and both parking facilities are free for guests staying at the hotel.

Pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent location ... Walking distance to town & market. Huge rooms (+ two toilets) which would easily accommodate more than two guests. The only negative aspect would be the lack of car parking ... Compounded by the fact that there's no allocation of available parking spaces either. Overall, however, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenlou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Jenlou4,
Thanks for the review. I trust you had a wonderful time in Hobart and enjoyed exploring the Salamanca Market.
Our hotel offers free parking and the reason we do not allocate is with 242 hotel rooms we do not have the space. When all parking onsite is full we offer free parking in the Market Place Car Park which is less than a 300m walk away.
Glad you still had a great stay.
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing