We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“It's not too bad”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the long weekend in June 2014.

When I heard the name of the hotel and found out that it was a converted Woolstore I was expecting something a bit more cosy and rustic - that it was not. Although the room was very large, new and clean it was a bit soul-less. Inside it felt a bit like a US style 'big-box' chain hotel.

The location is good and walkable distance into the city or Salamanca and the free parking was great.

We went to have breakfast at the hotel and then walked away because it was pretty dire and unappealing - that's not really a problem as in a 15 minute walk there are some cafe's down near the water.

Reception was helpful, if not friendly when I encountered them. Did not try the gym but there was one there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotsyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi hotsyd22,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review after your stay with us and great to see that your experience was positive overall with a 4/5 rating.
Good to hear that you found the location suited your needs during your stay and the free parking was received well especially in the Hobart CBD.
We have 242 rooms here at The Old Woolstore, half being inside the façade of a heritage-listed Old Woolstore. We would certainly describe our accommodation rooms as more “contemporary” than “rustic” however this is of course a subjective and open to discussion. I see that you have given us 5/5 for cleanliness which is also a product of the room-design.
It is disappointing to read your comments regarding breakfast and if you would like to elaborate please feel free to contact me at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au

I hope that you enjoyed your time in Hobart and will come and visit us again!

Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    692
    172
    41
    12
See reviews for
266
631
69
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have stayed here now for 7 plus years as a rep over from Melbourne
Perfect place to stay for work and being away from home
Great parking,good size gym ,nice bar and resturant great atmosphere
And close enough to walk to major resturant areas
Rooms are great clean quiet and big not stuck in a bungalow like other motels
Pleasure to stay there

Room Tip: Stay in office area side levels 5/10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Darren B,
Appreciate you taking the time to provide a detailed review of your continued time staying with us and we are pleased that you find all facilities ideal during your time away for work.

Thanks for the comments, great to know you find staying with us a pleasure.

Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Good everything! Nothing to complain about! Best part was the Lavender chocolate pot I ordered through room service! ! It is the best dessery I have ever tasted in my whole life , it is a must try!!! Free wifi and parking for our stay! It was a mystery hotel and couldnt be happier!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi pennyp00p00,

5/5 review, thanks! We appreciate your review and great to hear the free parking and Wi-Fi was well received during your stay with us.

Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Quality hotel. Close to everything in the city that you would be interested in. Parking seemed to be a bit of an issue, but the concierge was happy to deal with it and have our car squeeze in near the gate. Clean and comfortable. Great breakfast selection. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi Charmaine,
Thanks for providing a 4/5 review on your stay with us in April. In regards to parking we do offer Free onsite parking as well as overflow just a short walk away in the Market Place Car Park. Our concierge team are more than happy to assist with any parking requirements.
Good to hear you would not hesitate in stay again
Regards,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nothing else matters when you see a mouse in your room. I have no idea where that mouse went before I saw it. Avoid at all costs. Go elsewhere.

BTW - I did not ask management for a new room - what is the point - there could be mice in all the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyLuck, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We wish to offer our sincere apologies if indeed there was a mouse in your room. It is extremely disappointing that you chose not to report this at any time during your stay, denying us the opportunity address your concerns immediately.

We impose a very stringent pest-control program at The Old Woolstore and have not discovered any evidence of any rodent inside a guest room during our 17 years of operation. We employ the services of a fully accredited pest control contractor to monitor our control measures on a regular basis. The most recent of these checks was conducted on the 16th of June with nil rodent activity reported. Likewise, our Housekeeping Team have not detected any indication of mice within the building.

It would be appreciated if you could contact the hotel urgently to advise further details (either room number or name booking was made in) so that we may investigate further.

Kind regards,
Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights as a couple in a one bedroom apartment. Very comfortable accommodation, with access to kitchen and laundry facilities of a high quality. Room service and breakfast fantastic, all staff extremely helpful. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teganandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for your review teganandalan,

Nice to hear you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff helpful. I trust you had the chance to explore Hobart whilst your were staying with us and great to know you would not hesitate in staying with us again.

Cheers,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The great thing about staying here was in the middle of a cold Tassie winter you could come back after a long day site seeing and not have to go out again. The bar was small but nice and friendly with a good atmosphere and the restruant was convenient with great food.
The "Steal a Studio" deal was great with the two for one vouchers for breakfast. Also having the washer and dryer in the bathroom was really handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dog-squad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for the review Dog-squad,

Pleasing to hear you found all facilities offered at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel were perfect after your day out exploring in Hobart.

Great to see you got a good deal though booking a special on our direct website.
Hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Property: The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing