We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay just as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A test of a good hotel for me is if they can repeat a positive experience, so coming back to the old woolstore I was a bit worried they wouldn't live up to the hype from my first stay, but they did.

Service was excellent, 1 bedroom apartment was well appointed, and I am impressed with how functional the layout was. The kitchens were huge and the bathrooms were well designed.

The breakfast was very good- something I didn't get to try on my last stay.

Only bad thing was I was only there for 1 night.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartments are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi squishy_9,
Thanks for the 5/5 review! Always great to have repeat guests and so pleasing to find you found the second visit just as good!

Good to hear you found the service excellent and the one bedroom apartment met all your needs during your visit.

Sounds like you will have to stay for longer next time.
Cheers,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Was well positioned close to cafes, restaurants and pubs. The harbour is lovely and close by. The hotel is everythingyou need. The bar is a bit characterless. There are better breakfast places around if you can be bothered to get out in the cold.

very tidy and neat

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Glenn P,
Thanks for your 4/5 review. Glad to read you found your stay with us during your recent visit to Hobart for a conference was pleasant.

We appreciate your comments regarding our Baaa Bar, the main feature of the bar is the heritage listed historic wall that dates back to late 1800’s and we offer a place for guests and business people to relax after a day out.

Thanks for your feedback.
Cheers,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Woolshed is a lovely hotel that comprises modern facilities with a hint of old world charm. Located right near the harbour, a short walk from Salamanca Markets and the many restaurants in Salamanca Square. A Hog's Breath restaurant is across the road and a little bottle shop next to that which stocked a wide range of (reasonably priced) wines.

The rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. Staff were friendly. Buffet breakfast was very good too.

The hotel is centrally located about 15 minutes drive from the airport, the Cadbury Factory and MONA Museum.

The only complaint was the limited parking for staying guests. We had to park on the street one night but fortunately it as the weekend so there wasn't any parking restrictions.

Great hotel, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Madamjojo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi Madamjojo1,
Thanks for your comprehensive review after your recent stay at The Old Woolstore. It is pleasing to read you found the location close to many local facilities and attractions nearby.

Sounds like you found the accommodation comfortable during your stay and always nice to know you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast we offer to guests from 6:30-10am every day.

Thank you for the comment in regards to guest parking. We offer on-site parking that can fill up during the week or when events are on in Hobart but please note we also have overflow parking in the Market Place Car Park. This is less than a 300 metre walk from the hotel, our reception staff are able to assist with all parking information.
Hope to see you again
Cheers,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was all it said it would be... we were able to walk to everywhere ( well almost ) and hire cars and public transport were very close by - airport transfers at the door. We arrived early and our room was ready!! The highlight was probably the restaurant... we decided to eat in and we were so glad we did... all I can say is WOW!! the mains were lovely but the desserts were to die for!!!

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe room with spa etc. It was as big as half our house!!! The bed was really comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pamnmckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi pamnmckee,

Thanks for your great review, pleasing to hear the room meet all your expectations.
Our central location is ideal for guests travelling on business or leisure especially when exploring the historic Salamanca area. Thanks for the feedback on our friendly staff, where possibly we accommodate for guests arriving early.

The onsite Stockmans Restaurant offers a great range on the a la carte menu for dinner and I am pleased to hear you found the experience one you thoroughly enjoyed.

Cheers,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

It was in a fairly quiet area but within walking distance to so many things, including great eating places. The staff were interested and nothing was too much trouble. When we ate here we were impressed with the food. Yes, we would return here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penangvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review penangvisitor.

Always nice to receive positive comments about our location and friendly staff at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.

Hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hobart is a lovely town and there is a lot to do for a weekend. When paying such a high price you expect a lot and unfortunately this place should be charging around 120 - 150 per night. We stayed here as I thought it would be amazing, it's not. We stayed on the top floor views out over the bay. You can still hear all the traffic from the 10th so it's not a quiet place to stay.
The service and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank micos1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Michael u,

We were of course very disappointed to read your review and if you are still staying with us please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss the rest of your stay. In the meantime I would like to make a couple of points.

The weekend just passed was a peak tourism weekend in Hobart with many properties running at capacity. Perhaps you were travelling for the North Melbourne v St. Kilda match on Saturday or for Festival of Voices? In any event demand will influence rates and while good deals can sometimes be landed “last-minute”, generally this isn’t the case during peak times.

We very rarely get negative feedback on our 10th floor rooms. I note that you rated us 4/5 for sleep quality so would be interested to hear how the ambient noise factored here.

On the positive side, great to hear that you enjoyed Hobart and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

I look forward to hearing from you at feedback@oldwoolstore.com.au and if you are still in Hobart please feel free to make a time to come in for a chat.

Thanks,
Scott.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were only in town for one night and I purchased a mystery hotel and got the Old Woolstore. The location is excellent, right near the docks and plenty of cool places to visit within walking distance. We got a free upgrade simply for turning up early which was appreciated. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant in the hotel for dinner, and to say it was outstanding would not be overstating things. The food was truly delicious, the service was faultless - one of the better dining experiences I've had.

I would comfortably recommend the old woolstore without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Eviltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie K, Director of Sales at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Eviltrav,
Thanks for your wonderful 5/5 review. Great to see you took advantage of the mystery hotel offer, please also check our website for competitive rates www.oldwoolstore.com.au if you are visiting again.

Lovely to hear you were happy with the location and sounds like our friendly reception staff looked after you with a generous upgrade.

Some nice comments our the meal you had in our Stockmans Restaurant, I will be sure to pass these comments on.
Hope to see you again.

Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing