We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a lovely surprise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was a great hotel a lovely entrance with an unusual atrium type walkway down to the rooms. The rooms with a nautical theme were very quaint , the bedroom on a mezzanine level. The whole hotel is on a pier so the view looking down onto the harbour was great. We had a nice fish and chip feed for dinner from a shop also on the pier maybe a little pricey. The location was great and the price reasonable for what u get. Will be going back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Hello Angela K,

It’s great to read you enjoyed your stay at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, I am glad you found our accommodation comfortable and our view exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is the perfect place to stay. Right in the middle of everything, restaurants, pubs, bars and Salamanca markets on your doorstep. The loft style apartments allowed a lot of room to move and had absolutely everything you could want on a cold wet day. the staff were fantastic and we never had a problem with parking. We'll definitely be returning and telling all of our friends.

Room Tip: we had a room without a balcony, the sun comes straight in the ones with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chyna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Hello chyna2,

Thank you for your review, we’re delighted to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We appreciate your future recommendations of Somerset on the Pier Hobart to your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is positioned perfectly! Not far from anything you want to see! The rooms (appartement) are spacious, well appointed and the beds are comfortable and the pillows are super comfy!

We had a few requests and the staff always helped us to meet out requests!
Staff were friendly and really helpfu! Thanks Much we will defenately stay with u again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVerne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hello JVerne72,

It is so wonderful to read that you loved staying with us and our location. Thank you for mentioning our spacious apartment, comfortable beds and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were a group of 3 ladies staying in a 2 bedroom suite. Fabulous location, with many great attractions within walking distance. Delightful outlook from the small balcony, comfortably furnished, and well appointed as far as glassware, crockery etc. goes. Having a bathroom both upstairs and downstairs was a bonus. Very friendly staff at check in and check out, and overall a most pleasant stay. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootyFansGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hello FootyFansGoldCoast,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is lovely to read every aspect of your stay was outstanding. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When you stay here you are in the middle of everything. Being on the pier affords beautiful views across the bay and the room are very comfortable. With the kitchenette we had the choice of buying bits and pieces at the excellent supermarket in Salamanca place or head out to the many eating establishments close by. The bathroom has laundry facilities - a bonus when you have been on the road for a few days. Hobart is a lovely city and this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryAnneCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Hello MaryAnneCanberra,

We’re delighted to read you had such a pleasant stay with us at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. Thank you for your praise of our location, spacious suite, and the amenities we have to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Pretty well a perfect spot to set up camp. Close to Salamanca Markets which were much bigger and better than expected. Walk to just about everywhere from here. Parking a lot easier than expected. Rental cars a lot closer than expected. Staff were friendly. Room was bigger and actually better than expected with a much better view and aspect than expected. The bathroom was a bit old hat but big. A better kitchenette than expected. It was warmer in the room than expected but that's not much to complain about in winter!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnKangarooValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hello JohnKangarooValley,

It is wonderful to read we exceeded your expectations at every touch point during your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write your review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ruthie H.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is perfectly located - on Elizabeth Pier, right on the harbour with views of boats. The staff were extremely friendly; I phoned the desk in the middle of the night because I was having some trouble sleeping in the King bed that was made from two singles. I was offered a room with a normal Queen bed - no problem. Service was friendly and prompt. No attitude whatsoever.
The pier is a perfect departure point for anything you want to do around Hobart, and the Tourist Info Centre is just 2mins walk up Elizabeth St - a lot of tours and shuttles leave from this centre.
On my last night I didn't go out for dinner but instead just stayed in and enjoyed the wonderful view from my apartment.
The only negative point for this whole property has nothing to do with the service, and that is the need for the rooms to have more soundproofing. When someone next door had a shower, I could really hear it; also, when I had to set my alarm quite early to get to the airport, I could hear the people in the next room groan because I was the one making the noise! So I felt quite sheepish about that.

Room Tip: I chose a Premier apartment with a balcony and I did not regret this choice. There were also beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelgaBrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £118 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing