We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service over and above”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“service over and above”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

great location and views over the docks. Close to everything and a wonderful room. Even better when we left our mobile phone there they were able to organise a taxi to get it to us at the airport. even better they rang the next day to check we received it. cant ask for more than that.

Room Tip: ask for a north facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick and Rowena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear mick and Rowena E,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your time with us at Somerset on the Pier and I am so pleased we were able to assist in getting your mobile back to you, I will be sure to pass on your thanks to the Guest Services Team.

From all the team at Somerset, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    369
    144
    67
    33
See reviews for
174
444
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great location near Salamanca however worst service and above a noisy bar. It is an old and outdated apartment. When arrived we asked Richard at the front desk to put us in the quiet end of the hotel however he put us in the second most noisiest room. Thoroughly annoyed as my partner and I couldn't get any sleep. Would not book here again and also would consider twice of booking at the Somerset/ascott accommodations again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vanida84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Vanida84,

Thank you for your feedback.

My apologies for the noise issue you encountered on your stay with us. Due to the central city location we occasionally get some noise from bars & restaurants however we always contact these businesses if any guests are feeling inconvenienced and have the noise turned down.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Best view, paid 385 per night for 2A1C, happy with the price. Room door need some paint job, upstair bedroom has this humming noise at night, interconnecting with next apartment, can hear next door watching TV, no restaurant on site, incorporate with bar downstairs, however that place got some much tourists, so we didn't eat there. Receptionist who check us in wasn't very happy to be there, housekeepers are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exp E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Exp E,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the harbour from our special location on Elizabeth Street Pier and found our Housekeeping Team friendly.

We are very sorry to learn however that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations, and that we were not able to make your stay more comfortable. Please accept our apologies, this is not the high level service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. If you don’t mind providing the room number you were in, we would like to ask Engineering to look into the apartment in question, please email our Residence Manager, Marc.Green on frontoffice.sop@the-ascott.com as he would like to make sure we follow up on your valued feedback.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Room stunk like smoke despite us being told twice there would be penalties if you smoke in the rooms. We were told someone would use some sort of machine the next morning to suck it out. The next morning there was a can of room deodoriser left in there.

That same night there was music was blaring from Isobar, a night club across from the hotel. We could hear every beat and word in the music and it was louder up in the loft style bedroom. I couldn't sleep until 0200 when it stopped. Reception advised many people are complaining and they are contacting police for noise complaints. We were there on a Sunday night public holiday and I understand the music may be out of their control but i dont understand how this could be different to a Fri/sat night. Surely they have an obligation to tell you that you'll experience what will feel like sleeping in a nightclub. In general this hotel is very noisy nand sound ia obvioualy an issue for them, you can hear every door around you opening and closing and even the other guests in their room. Our concerns were not met with any valuable solutions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NoMoreBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear NoMoreBS,

Thank you for your feedback.

My apologies that you experienced noise from Isobar, they had an event for the public holiday which unfortunately went later than expected. Normally we don't have any noise issues from them as they're located down the road.

Regarding the smell of cigarette smoke in your apartment, as we are a completely non-smoking hotel this is certainly not a normal occurrence so my apologies.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

After being given 2 lectures on check in about no smoking, the room stunk like a cigarette convention had been held there the previous day, and it was noisey as all hell... All. Night. Long. Stay away. Front desk staff didn't care about our complaints, told them it was our worst stay ever and they replied with "thats unfortunate". We've been robbed 2 night of our Tasmanian trip.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleIncomeNoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear DoubleIncomeNoKids,

Thank you for your feedback.

My apologies that you experienced the smell of cigarette smoke in your apartment. This is certainly not a regular occurrence as we are a completely non-smoking property.

Due to our central location we do on occasion get some noise from nearby bars & restaurants, my apologies this caused inconvenience to your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

What can I say..... Brilliant from service to accommodation to views......
Planned my partners birthday weekend from another state. They helped me with his birthday cake,picked it up and had it in our room for when we arrived. Rooms are fantastic. Balcony rooms are well worth it. Staff can't do enough for you. Won't even look else where when we return to hobart.
Owners of this establishment should be very proud of the service that is provided.
Many thanks to call the staff

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MA110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Adriana M,

Happy birthday to your partner! And thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay during this special time. It will provide me great pleasure to relay your heartfelt thanks to our Guest Service Team at Somerset on the Pier, they will be so pleased to know they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in early January. Location is great, all rooms are on the second floor and you have great view on the waterfront, boats, the city and Nelson mountain (if there is no clouds). Room is very clean with all amenities required for a family with children. Interesting design with the bedroom on a mezzanine level. Staff is very friendly. Nice addition is the free WiFi and free car park.
Excellent place if you wish to stay in the very center of Hobart. You can just walk to Salamanca or Battery Point in 5-10 minutes. It is not cheap, still I consider it as a good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmArKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear DmArKar,

Thank you for providing us a review of your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the unique design of the property as well as our central location.

If you are returning to Hobart, we hope to see you again.


Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing