We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, needs renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best location, needs renovation”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Best location on the pier, best view from our room with balcony.
Staff very friendly.
Very poor insulation between the room, a lot of noise from the pipes and water alimentation in the bathroom. This need renovation and upgrading as well as the kitchen.
Very hot on the mezzanine, we had to leave the air conditioning downstairs all night, and we were there late March.
But will choose this hotel again, if renovation is done.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Marie C,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us at Somerset. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the view from your balcony overlooking the harbour; we agree it is a beautiful setting.

We are disappointed to read however, that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. You may be pleased to know that Somerset on the Pier is due to commence a property refurbishment, and we will be sure to keep your feedback in mind when making any updates to the kitchen and bathroom facilities.

We do hope to welcome you back to Somerset once the refurbishment is complete.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    365
    143
    66
    34
See reviews for
172
438
23
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

the location is good but not the architecture! you have absolutely no view from the bed room, it's just a dark unattractive room upstairs.furniture is old and blankets look like army equipments! our double bed was 2 singel beds next to eachother,if you want to be romantic you will be on the groove! however, it is reasonably clean and centrally located in walking distance to lots of attractions. but surely we could find a better accmmodation with that price.
my bad personal experience: I left my earings in the room. as soon as we went to airport I noticed and called them, I had to pay for postage and it meant to be all fine. I checked if they have the right address, they didn't! so I gave them the correct one and waited! when I didn't receive the earings I called back and surprisingly "oh! I'm not sure which address I sent it to!" and the final answer was "we are not responsible after posting it", I followed it up with the post and even went to the wrong address "which they said they received it and sent it back" but I never got my earings back. and they didn't even appologize.very irresponsible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends for a girls weekend in Hobart. Excellent location, right in the heart of Hobart. Just next door to the ferry that goes to Mona, 5 minute walk to Salamanca where the Saturday markets are great, and there is a heap of restaurants and cafes. Convenient to drive anywhere around Hobart with it only being a few minutes to get out to the main highway. 2 bedroom premier apartment was roomy enough for the 4 of us, and the balcony over looking the piers was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here if you want to settle in for a great few days in beautiful Hobart.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Rochelle H,

Thank you for providing us a review of your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier. It is wonderful read that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay in our two-bedroom premier apartment. We feel very fortunate to be in such a beautiful position on the harbour of Hobart; and we agree what better way to experience this than to relax on your balcony overlooking the water.

We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Guests Services Team, they will be happy to know you found them both friendly and helpful.

If you are ever visiting Hobart again, we hope to welcome you back to Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a great stay in a lovely and very clean room. It was wonderful being right on the water. Location was fantastic and the staff were welcoming and very helpful. We would have loved to have spent more time there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Kris66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear 66Kris66,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is wonderful to read that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed our unique location overlooking the harbour.

If you are returning to Hobart, we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

great location and views over the docks. Close to everything and a wonderful room. Even better when we left our mobile phone there they were able to organise a taxi to get it to us at the airport. even better they rang the next day to check we received it. cant ask for more than that.

Room Tip: ask for a north facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick and Rowena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear mick and Rowena E,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your time with us at Somerset on the Pier and I am so pleased we were able to assist in getting your mobile back to you, I will be sure to pass on your thanks to the Guest Services Team.

From all the team at Somerset, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great location near Salamanca however worst service and above a noisy bar. It is an old and outdated apartment. When arrived we asked Richard at the front desk to put us in the quiet end of the hotel however he put us in the second most noisiest room. Thoroughly annoyed as my partner and I couldn't get any sleep. Would not book here again and also would consider twice of booking at the Somerset/ascott accommodations again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vanida84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, Residence Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Vanida84,

Thank you for your feedback.

My apologies for the noise issue you encountered on your stay with us. Due to the central city location we occasionally get some noise from bars & restaurants however we always contact these businesses if any guests are feeling inconvenienced and have the noise turned down.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Best view, paid 385 per night for 2A1C, happy with the price. Room door need some paint job, upstair bedroom has this humming noise at night, interconnecting with next apartment, can hear next door watching TV, no restaurant on site, incorporate with bar downstairs, however that place got some much tourists, so we didn't eat there. Receptionist who check us in wasn't very happy to be there, housekeepers are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exp E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Exp E,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Somerset on the Pier Hobart. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the harbour from our special location on Elizabeth Street Pier and found our Housekeeping Team friendly.

We are very sorry to learn however that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations, and that we were not able to make your stay more comfortable. Please accept our apologies, this is not the high level service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. If you don’t mind providing the room number you were in, we would like to ask Engineering to look into the apartment in question, please email our Residence Manager, Marc.Green on frontoffice.sop@the-ascott.com as he would like to make sure we follow up on your valued feedback.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#3 of 48 in Hobart
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on the Pier Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Property: Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Address: Elizabeth St Pier, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Oakford)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#15 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on the Pier Hobart 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a conversion of a 1930s pier building, award-winning Somerset on the Pier is the epitome of old world charm mixed with contemporary style. Located on the shores of Hobart’s waterfront, each serviced apartment boasts beautiful panoramic views of the River Derwent and historic Sullivan’s Cove. Somerset offers 56 one bedroom and family apartments with complimentary wireless internet, fully-equipped kitchenettes, contemporary decor; and a loft-style design exuding space and comfort, perfect for both the business or leisure traveller. Offering a welcome alternative to a hotel, Somerset is the ideal accommodation for a weekend away or an extended stay. Hobart’s central business district, restaurants, shopping precincts and main attractions including Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market, Battery Point, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and the ferry to the Museum of Old and New Art - MONA are all on your door step. Hobart is one of Australia’s most picturesque capital cities and Somerset on the Pier is the gateway to exploring everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset on the Pier Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On The Pier, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On The Pier Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing