We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night family stay at the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge on Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 night family stay at the Lodge”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I absolutely LOVED out time at the Lodge. The hospitality was fantastic, and we were always able to ask for help or directions when we needed to, as we were very new to Hobart. The location is so convinient for exploring the city, as everything is within walking distance (restaurants, historic sites, Salamanca markets). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any family, couple, or anyone who enjoys friendly hosts, a comfortable living environment, wonderful breakfast and much MUCH more. Book the Lodge on Elizabeth now!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely - they have noise reduction and ensuites, and because we were travelling wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    58
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
143
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was in Hobart for work this week and had booked a two-night stay at a hotel near my work location.
Despite being told I had a 'VERY quiet room' I had to move from this hotel after just one night because of the shocking noise from a beer garden practically right below my bedroom window!
I moved to The Lodge.

My experience there was so different! My hosts were very attentive and helpful. The room was beautifully furnished and squeaky clean. The bed and linen was great, as was the ensuite.
There was a bit of noise from Elizabeth St but nothing compared to the previous hotel.

The Lodge itself has to be seen to be believed; it is a stunning mansion, and so warm and inviting compared to newer hotels. The location is unbeatable for anyone needing to be close to the city, but not right in.

The only thing I would change is the size of the tea-cups. So many hotels have tiny cups instead of good, big mugs for those of us who love a big cup of tea on arrival!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing away from Elizabeth St. They also have a self-contained one-bedroom garden room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 563Plainsgirl563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at The Lodge on Elizabeth for three night but would have loved to stay there much longer. It is located within walking distance of the CBD, harbour, Salamanca market and great restaurants. Jeff and Julie were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and there is a really good continental breakfast buffet. I can only say one thing, the next time we are in Tasmania we will be staying at The Lodge on Elizabeth but for a longer time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffTheBeatenPath2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Lodge on Elizabeth for eight nights during a month stay in Tasmania. It was everything described by Jeff and Julie and they were very obliging with advice and help. I returned for a further night after a camping trip and they had kindly arranged for the same room as I'd previously had making me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hegcooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Lodge on Elizabeth. Jeff welcomed us to his heritage B & B. The rooms were comfortable & the spa bath an added treat. We made use of the homely guest lounge with its complimentary port, books & older magazines (1960's).
We didn't mind the 20 minute walk from the waterfront. We also recommend the walk across to the botanical gardens, about 30 minutes.
Our only disappointment was that the continental breakfast lacked the home made goodies that make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My Wife and I stayed At the Lodge on Elizabeth for the first three nights and the last two nights of our Tassie Holiday. The welcome we received from Jeff was nothing short of being welcomed by a friend. The whole place is very elegant with the period style furnishings. We stayed in two different rooms. On our first stay we had Room 6. When we booked this room it was the only one available and Jeff pointed out that it was small and cramped. That it was, but it was still very comfortable for the two of us and was superbly appointed, clean and comfortable. On our second stay we had room 10. A huge room with beautiful furnishings and a large Spa bathroom. Again Very clean and comfortable. The Continental Breakfast could not be faulted, with a huge selection of cereals, breads, juices and much more.

The Lodge on Elizabeth is well located and is a short stroll to the Restaurant area on Elizabeth Street or a leisurely 15/20minute stroll into the city shopping area.

Jeff and Julie have a good knowledge of what to do and where to go so if you want to know anything, ask them and they'll go out of their way to help you.

Car parking is on street and a parking permit is needed which will be supplied upon request

There is a beautiful lounge room again with elegant period furniture, ample reading material and you can have a complimentary port whilst reading or resting.

A big thank you to Jeff and Julie for being such great hosts and if we ever go to Tassi again I know where I'll be staying in Hobart

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A classic B&B with a host who went out of his way to be helpful. The port and sweets in the living room were a lovely touch in the evening that offered the opportunity to share experiences with other guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Elizabeth

Property: The Lodge on Elizabeth
Address: 249 Elizabeth St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grace and grandeur of this Stately Georgian Mansion. The Lodge on Elizabeth is elegant heritage accommodation, located just a short stroll to the Hobart CBD. All rooms have their own ensuite with the larger more luxurious rooms featuring spas, four-poster, half-tester or antique beds. Sit in the drawing room and enjoy complimentary port. Rejuvenate in our courtyard garden, so close but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the Hobart city. Previously the home of many Tasmanian notables including one premier, The Lodge on Elizabeth bed and breakfast accommodation was built by convicts in 1829 and is listed by the National Trust. We are conveniently situated within minutes walk to approximately 20 North Hobart restaurants with a wide variety of cuisine. There are many tourist attractions within close proximity for both the adventurous and those looking for something a little more tranquil. The Lodge on Elizabeth in Hobart, Tasmania is an affordable indulgence with personalised service and the warm hospitality that you would expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge on Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Elizabeth Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing