We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay was a short holiday package deal (3 nights) & the central location suited us well. The ground floor public areas including the bar & restaurant were tastefully furnished with well groomed,friendly & competent staff. Reception staff were also very good. Our queen room was plain & basically furnished - the bed was comfortable but the addition of an armchair or small sofa would have been appreciated. Cleaning/servicing of the room was generally good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Barbara D,
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon I hope.
Regards
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    281
    176
    45
    20
See reviews for
100
276
42
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is below average. Looks worn. Corridors remind of dormitories. The inside rooms are not comfortable. While there the installation of the air-conditioners was just in place. Bathrooms are old and bathtubs were scratched - not even thought of having a relaxing bath there. Plastic shower curtain added to the whole picture of a cheap hotel. Doors were opening and my biggest worry was that the door handle would smash the mirror door of the wardrobe, and there was nothing to stop the door. Breakfasts did not impress either - very limited choice, cold and tasteless eggs, undercooked pastry... There was so much dust on the furniture, that every move of the blanket makes you sneeze with the dust going up to the air
Overall, some motels are much more presentable.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay. It's overpriced and not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Antonina K,
I am very sorry you were not impressed by our hotel. We are in the process of renovating the bathrooms so you may well get a new one if staying with us again. I will also be following up on yor other observations. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about them
Regards
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was obviously in a room yet to be refurbished (I hope). The shower head and pressure is great, but be careful getting onto the bath as it is quite slippery. The bath is shallow (ankle height) and the bathroom has mould and hair stuck to the ceiling. The toilet also sometimes won’t stop filling, so I needed to turn it off at the wall. Be prepared to be woken by the noisy water pipes from the other rooms.

The powerpoints are all quite low and difficult to reach. Double glazing is required for both the street noise and keeping the cold out.

Some of the staff are very helpful, while others don’t appear to want to be there. If you don’t get parking as part of your deal, you have to pay for it.

On a positive, the bed was comfortable, and it’s in a good location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mamely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mamely,
We appreciate your comments and these will help us as we refurbish following our takeover of this hotel last year. We are constantly working on making all possible improvements. Do try us again sometime.
Regards
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Anniversary trip for my partner and I. We booked a King suite, with balcony and spa. The spa was only an averaged size bath with jets, not the cleanest either. The room was very decent sized, complete with a main and family room. They had a coffee pod machine, however no instructions on how to use it. The bed was very comfortable and had plenty of spare pillows and a blanket. 11am check out was also nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Jelina B,
Thank you for your views. The Nespresso coffee machines are proving very popular and your suggestion of putting the instructions for use in the Room Compendium is a very good one. We always try our best to offer a late check out if requested and I am glad that this proved useful for you. Hoping to see you next time you are in town.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We only had one night there but we will highly recommend it. Very clean, nice and happy and very helpful staff, cheap parking and very close to all things you want to see. Nice easy walk to the harbour etc. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back also appreciate the free WiFi even though it seems to be a bit slow to be found.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Bojangles1954,
Thanks for the review and the compliments. I'm glad we fitted the bill. By the way, we are working on improving our internet speed with the new NBN that is coming to Hobart.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamander Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff at reception and @ Embers the yummy restaurant that does awesome pizzas. Room actually accommodated a family of 5 properly and since 2 of our nights were Friday and Saturday and the rate included buffet breakfast I thought it was good value for inner city.
Wifi working in the rooms would have been an improvement.
Eileen

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eilzout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Elizout,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and also the pizzas we serve; they are proving very popular. See on your next visit to Tasmania.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good location, helpful staff, pleasant room and bedding. Rooms appear to have been refurbished and has good guest parking. Stayed here for one night . Everything was excellent . Breakfast was as expected. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 974sally_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear 974sally,
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our refurbishments have hit the right spot. See you again soon I hope.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Property: BEST WESTERN Hobart
Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing