We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hobart
Nearby Hotels
Argyle Motor Lodge(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Woolmers Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair on Cavell(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Savoy(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Customs House Waterfront Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
187
397
219
54
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
397
219
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsembers restaurantbathurst streetfourth floorfamily suiteroom serviceclean hotelbuffet breakfastcomfortable bedsmall balconyundercover parkingwould stay againwithin walking distancefree wifian upgradecar parkcity centreper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay was a short holiday package deal (3 nights) & the central location suited us well. The ground floor public areas including the bar & restaurant were tastefully furnished with well groomed,friendly & competent staff. Reception staff were also very good. Our queen room was plain & basically furnished - the bed was comfortable but the addition of an armchair or small sofa would have been appreciated. Cleaning/servicing of the room was generally good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Barbara D,
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon I hope.
Regards
Janine Livingston
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is below average. Looks worn. Corridors remind of dormitories. The inside rooms are not comfortable. While there the installation of the air-conditioners was just in place. Bathrooms are old and bathtubs were scratched - not even thought of having a relaxing bath there. Plastic shower curtain added to the whole picture of a cheap hotel. Doors were opening and my biggest worry was that the door handle would smash the mirror door of the wardrobe, and there was nothing to stop the door. Breakfasts did not impress either - very limited choice, cold and tasteless eggs, undercooked pastry... There was so much dust on the furniture, that every move of the blanket makes you sneeze with the dust going up to the air
Overall, some motels are much more presentable.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay. It's overpriced and not worth the money
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Antonina K,
I am very sorry you were not impressed by our hotel. We are in the process of renovating the bathrooms so you may well get a new one if staying with us again. I will also be following up on yor other observations. Thanks for taking the time to tell us about them
Regards
Janine Livingston
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was obviously in a room yet to be refurbished (I hope). The shower head and pressure is great, but be careful getting onto the bath as it is quite slippery. The bath is shallow (ankle height) and the bathroom has mould and hair stuck to the ceiling. The toilet also sometimes won’t stop filling, so I needed to turn it off at the wall. Be prepared to be woken by the noisy water pipes from the other rooms.

The powerpoints are all quite low and difficult to reach. Double glazing is required for both the street noise and keeping the cold out.

Some of the staff are very helpful, while others don’t appear to want to be there. If you don’t get parking as part of your deal, you have to pay for it.

On a positive, the bed was comfortable, and it’s in a good location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mamely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mamely,
We appreciate your comments and these will help us as we refurbish following our takeover of this hotel last year. We are constantly working on making all possible improvements. Do try us again sometime.
Regards
Janine Livingston
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Anniversary trip for my partner and I. We booked a King suite, with balcony and spa. The spa was only an averaged size bath with jets, not the cleanest either. The room was very decent sized, complete with a main and family room. They had a coffee pod machine, however no instructions on how to use it. The bed was very comfortable and had plenty of spare pillows and a blanket. 11am check out was also nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Jelina B,
Thank you for your views. The Nespresso coffee machines are proving very popular and your suggestion of putting the instructions for use in the Room Compendium is a very good one. We always try our best to offer a late check out if requested and I am glad that this proved useful for you. Hoping to see you next time you are in town.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We only had one night there but we will highly recommend it. Very clean, nice and happy and very helpful staff, cheap parking and very close to all things you want to see. Nice easy walk to the harbour etc. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back also appreciate the free WiFi even though it seems to be a bit slow to be found.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Bojangles1954,
Thanks for the review and the compliments. I'm glad we fitted the bill. By the way, we are working on improving our internet speed with the new NBN that is coming to Hobart.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews