We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hobart
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Look if you want 5 star, spa apartments with glorious views - don't stay here. If you are after a basic room as all you'll do there is sleep - then why not. Easy walking to the city centre and from there to the waterfront. Nice breakfast. Clean rooms though a little "tired". Perfectly acceptable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Neil A,
Thank you for those comments. I hope we can look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    281
    176
    45
    20
See reviews for
100
276
42
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penguin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We had a two day package and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The curtains would not close without falling off the hooks and it was good but basic.
I didn't like the position but that is my fault as I didn't realise we were not close to Constitution Dock and I missed looking at the water.
We had a power failure and had to walk to the fourth floor carrying all our goodies from Salamanca. The manager took us up the stairs with a torch, but he could have offered to carry our heavy bags. It was quite a feat for three old girls.
Probably would stay here again but mainly because of were it is situated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lynne F,
Thank you for the feedback. Although we are not on the water it is only a few minutes walk to the dock. I am very sorry you were affected by the power cut. The electricity for our part of Hobart was out for over an hour that day. I am pleased to say this is very, very unusual but I am sorry that it adversely affected your time with us.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caulfield, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

stayed overnight, found staff very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable.my business partner and I enjoyed a few ales at night, and a great breakfast in the morning. Found it very affordable with the package on offer. would highly recommend for a no fuss place that hits all the marks , will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a accommodation and breakfast package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear John M,
We are so pleased you liked your time with us and that you will be back.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Set in a central location, minutes walks from Centro mall which leads to two other malls! The rooms are very clean and the staff were very nice and welcoming, unlike other hotels I have been too where you could be completely ignored by the staff. Mark, was very helpful and also was very knowledgeable as to where the best attractions where. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, the chef was very attentive and helpful. Some places you can't get a good breakfast like this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xboxwoman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear xboxwoman87,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I love to read that our staff team are friendly and welcoming and also that our breakfast is providing a good start to the day for our valued guests. Hoping to see you again soon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

As far as a no-frills hotel goes, Best Western fits the bill. It's fairly cheap with a special on, and the rooms are of a decent size. There are some strange things about the hotel. If you are a light sleeper, you may have some issues. Although Hobart has to be one of the quietest cities around, the rooms on Harrington manage to be fairly loud (due in part to the mechanics opposite, but probably more due to a lack of soundproofing). The bathrooms are incredibly outdated and would belong in a YMCA, but it seems they're in the process of changing this. Wifi was exceptionally slow, but it was appreciated that it was free. The bed was incredibly comfortable, but the bedside lamps did not have lightglobes in them.
Overall, for a cheap hotel with a comfortable bed, with helpful staff in a convenient location? Decent choice. Looking for something a little extra? There are better options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krrr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Krrr4,
Thanks for your comments which we will be acting on. We are busy renovating to get all floors and rooms up to scratch. There is good news about the internet. We have just been connected to the NBN and our WiFi is now fast and reliable. I hope we'll see you in the future to take advantage of it.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The location is great and the buffet breakfast is excellent but the rooms are very sad. If the rooms were refurbished properly, this could be a 4 star location but the rooms we had were 2 star at best.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mark C,
Thanks for your comments. We have been busy refurbishing the rooms since we took over this hotel and you must have been in a room we have not reached yet, but we will soon. I hope you will be able to come back in the future to see the improvements.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with friends for a girls weekend getaway! The rooms were clean & very comfortable beds! The staff were friendly and breakfast was awesome! Reasonably priced and a good central location close to everything in Hobart! Also across from a car rental place if you need a car!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OZLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear OZLJ,
I'm very pleased you had a great weekend with us. Come back soon.
Regards,
Janine Livingston
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Property: BEST WESTERN Hobart
Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing