We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and a nice central place to stay.

Rooms are tidy and well presented. Bathroom was clean. Front staff polite.

Value, probably not worth the $150 pn I paid last min, it's more of a $120 hotel.

If you like old world charm, big wide and spacious sitting rooms, etc then this is a must for ur visit to the beautiful city of Hobart.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KJO74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear KJO74,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found your room tidy, well presented with a clean bathroom and enjoyed the ‘old world charm’ of our spacious sitting rooms.
We apologise that you felt that your room did not offer value and I would be happy to discuss this with you further if you wish. Please feel free to email me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au

Thanks,
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    277
    58
    22
    6
See reviews for
85
326
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed four nights at Hadleys in a double bedroom it was comfortable and the hotel did have old charm. The meals we had were sufficient for us and not too pricey. It was a convenient place to stay to see Hobart and surrounds. Paid parking was available close by so we could get out and explore.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main street but we had a room facing the back, so there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Suziepi,
Thanks for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to write a review.
On behalf of all the staff at Hadleys, we are pleased you had an enjoyable and comfotable stay and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Hobart.

Thanks
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Queensland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

An older hotel with high ceilings and interesting architecture. Rooms a good size (I was in an upgrade I think). Bed was comfortable and pretty quiet on 3rd floor at night. Staff were very nice tocdea l with. Breakfast was just ok. Very handy to anywhere in cd.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank robmigrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear robmigrates,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hadleys Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed the CBD location and the characteristics of the hotel – interesting architecture, comfortable bed and good sized rooms.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, your comments will certainly be shared with the entire team.
We hope to see you again when you next return to Hobart.
Thanks,
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Great location then the good points stop. Smallest room we have ever stayed in could hardly get a single case in and then be able to move around. Old CRT TV and furnishings from a council clean up. Very disappointing for the cost. There are much better and cheaper hotels in Hobart AVOID HADLEYS

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Neil D,

Thank-you for taking the time to review Hadleys Hotel Hobart and we are pleased that you enjoyed our central location.

We have recently taken ownership of our Hotel and are working hard on a daily basis to improve and raise the bar. As an example and to address your point about the CRT TV's, we are in the final stages of installing flat-screen tv's into all guest rooms having already run a new signal distribution system through the Hotel. You may have also used the complimentary wifi.

We are constantly working on our accommodation rooms to improve the guest's experience and value. We apologise that you felt that your room did not offer value and I would be happy to discuss this with you further if you wish. Please feel free to email me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au.

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Victoria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at Hadley's. I came back to my room to find bunk beds installed in my lounge area for incoming guests. No one asked if this was Ok by me. I accept that rooms need to be accessed for cleaning etc, but while I am here this is my space. The hotel has no right to come into my living area and cram additional bedding into it while I am still using it. I probably would have given permission if asked.
I travel frequently for work and leisure and have never seen this level of disrespect towards a guest.
(See photo)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havana57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Havana57,

Thank-you for your review and we apologise for the obvious inconvenience caused.

Our Housekeeping Department service all rooms daily. As is the case with most Hotels, we have a stock of what we refer to as “Rollaway Beds” which can be wheeled-in and out of guest rooms easily to allow for extra bedding requirements. These beds are delivered to rooms on request from our guests – sometimes prior to arrival and sometimes during a guest’s stay.

These two rollaway beds were destined for another room and were placed in your room by mistake as part of your daily service. It was an honest mistake. They were removed immediately upon you notifying Reception that they were in your room.

All Housekeeping Departments respond to a wide range of guest requests 24-hours a day. Adding a rollaway to a room is a common request and one that our Housekeeping Department fulfil on a daily basis. We apologise that two were placed in your room and please rest assured that this was in no way to “prepare” the room for the next guest. We value the privacy and safety of all of our guests and we apologise that you felt that yours was encroached upon during your stay.

I would be happy to discuss this matter further with you if you wish and please feel free to contact me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

First the good points – the hotel has a great location and is in a lovely building.

After that, however, it goes downhill. The room was expensive, poorly designed and rather shabby. The towel rail fell off whenever you touched it and we were told that it had been on a list of repairs for some time; there were no bins in the bathroom/toilet areas; there was one small CRT TV in a large family room (old, beaten up and with an intermittently operating remote); the carpets in everywhere other than the reception area were badly worn; the room had 1 red wine glass, 1 spoon, and mismatched cups and saucers (in a 4 person family room). The most annoying thing was that after telling the hotel we needed parking when booking, and again when calling on the day of arrival to confirm, when we arrived they said there was no record of this and that we would have to use a public car park a 10 minute walk away. As it was the weekend, we could park on the street 2 blocks away but this showed a lack of professionalism.

This could be a really great hotel if the rooms and common areas were upgraded and the staff better trained. The location is excellent and the building itself quite interesting. This seems like a hotel where they do not expect to ever get repeat business so they don’t try.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWSmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear D N,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location and appreciated the building - built in 1834.

As new owners of the Hotel there are some challenges which we are working through. We are working hard on a daily basis to present a great value property from all angles and to give you an example we have installed a new television system through the Hotel and are in the final stages of intalling flat-screen TV's into all accommodation rooms.

In terms of carparking, we apologise that our carparking system was not communicated. While we do not offer on-site parking we can offer carparking at $15/night at Trafalgar carpark, a 5-minute walk away.

Naturally we would like all of our guests to depart with a smile on their face and be happy to return. If you are returning to Hobart and would consider staying with us again please feel free to contact me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au

Thanks,
Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Property: Hadley's Orient Hotel
Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing