We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Tuross Head, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heritage experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is perfectly placed to walk down to the attractions of the harbour and Salamanca. The elegant foyer is a perfect reminder of the grand era of the hotel's past. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient in handling our booking in the context of the recent change of ownership. Our room 301 was another reminder of the past - entering into a small sitting area divided from the roomy bedroom with double glazed doors, and a separate bathroom. The electrical fittings need attention as some did not work. The dining room which was part of the original hotel with its lofty ceilings and ornate fireplaces is an absolute delight compared to modern hotels which all seem the same. I do hope the new owner restores and refurbishes the hotel to its former glory with sensitivity to its historical significance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Gwyn S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hadleys Hotel. Our CBD location is within walking distance to many of Hobart’s attractions and the waterfront precinct. No need to use the car!
We are delighted you enjoyed the elegance and old world charm of Hadleys Hotel. We are quite proud of its historical significance and do hope to restore the hotel to its former glory.
I will pass on your kind comments to the reception staff and your observations of the electrical fittings have been passed on to our maintenance department for attention; this feedback is appreciated.
We do hope you will come and stay with us again next time you are visiting Hobart.

Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    282
    60
    22
    6
See reviews for
90
336
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

On booking in , a couple were complaining--never a good start. The reception staff were friendly and helpful , I ended up feeling sorry for them. Basically the the hotel is being refurbished--or so we were told. The room was small and dingy--the safe did not work or the television . As we had paid for an upgrade , I dread to think what the standard rooms are like. The whole atmosphere of this hotel is gloom.
We asked the staff if we could use their safe but they had not got a clue of what to do--offering no receipt until we asked for one. Not their fault , but poor training.
We were woken at 6.30 am as they laid the tables for breakfast. We did not eat in the restaurant as it was uninviting and empty , with a gloomy atmosphere.
Every time we asked why things did not work or were unavailable we were told it was because of the refurbishment. Here is a suggestion--close the place , refurbish it , or offer people a discount whilst the (so called) refurbishment takes place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear maxandrosie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry you left us feeling so unhappy. We do strive to ensure each of our guests have an enjoyable stay and are satisfied with our service and amenities. We are working hard to raise standards and provide consistency across the hotel. Our staff are all new to the property and are undergoing regular training on policies and procedures.

Since taking ownership of Hadleys Hotel 3 months ago, we have made many changes and upgrades including; complimentary wifi for all guests, complimentary in-house movies, new flat screen televisions, furniture, lighting and guest amenities. We are proud of the historical aspect of the building and are working hard to restoring the property back to its original grandeur.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter further with you and can be contacted via feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au

Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Although the hotel is centrally located I was very dissappointed at the poor maintanence.
The room I was in 314 I think.
I went to put on the bedside lamp and got an electric shock.
I examine the lamp and found exsposed wires at the back.
I also noticed it had a brand new electrical label saying it had been inspected that day and was safe for 2 more years.

Clearly they just put the labels on all appliances wuthout proper inspection of testing.

Very,very poor.

The reaction of the staff was one of that they were not surprised.

The managements responce to this was barely credible. There was no manager I could speak to and I got brief 20 second mobile call enroute home with a curt sorry.

Seems Hadleys dont think its very important that one of their guests nearly gets electrocuted of that their electricians do dodgy certifications.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear chris w,

Your initial report was of course very concerning for us and we immediately replaced all similar lamps and addressed this issue with our tagging contractor who has reassessed any relevant wiring.

I have spoken with our Front Office Manager whom you spoke with on the phone. He noted that you were driving and for this reason made a point of keeping the conversation brief.

It is disappointing to hear that you felt that the initial reaction from staff was unsatisfactory. I have spoken to our staff member with whom you initially spoke and she remembers the conversation well and she was very concerned about your experience. She recalls apologising and enquiring as to whether you required medical attention, which you declined.

We value all of our guests and uphold a high level of duty of care. Experiences such as yours are never pleasant and I would like to encourage you to contact me directly at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au if you would like to discuss this further.

Thanks
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I booked this room as part of a pre-pay package which included an upgrade to a ‘superior’ room. So the room was a reasonable size and the furniture OK but the rest of the room still had a tired feel to it, in particular the bathroom suite which looked (for those who can remember that far back) like something out of the 70s.

The location is great being in the CBD and a couple of minutes’ walk from the main shops. Internet and coffee making facilities are provided free. If you have car there is a charge of $15 per day/night. However, since the hotel does not have its own car park you need to use the one down the road so you have to walk as well as pay. Alternatively, street parking is free after around 6pm and before 8.30am (and all day Sunday) so you could park directly outside between these times and nip out at 8.30 to feed the meter for 1 hour (max) at $3 for an extra hour on top.

Breakfast came as extra and I did not have this although at around $20 for a full buffet it looked reasonable value if you wanted a full start to the day bearing in mind the cost of a basic breakfast meal and a coffee in the nearby cafes.

Overall, the hotel seemed to provide reasonable value but not terrific value compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi FrequentFlyerMan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the CBD location, close to shops, the waterfront and Salamanca Place.
Our management team have only recently acquired Hadleys and we are working towards restoring the property back to its original grandeur. We have begun upgrading a number of items in guest rooms including televisions, furniture, lighting, guest amenities, etc.
I am sorry to hear that you did not feel you received terrific value and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you should you wish. I can be contacted at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au
Thanks
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and a nice central place to stay.

Rooms are tidy and well presented. Bathroom was clean. Front staff polite.

Value, probably not worth the $150 pn I paid last min, it's more of a $120 hotel.

If you like old world charm, big wide and spacious sitting rooms, etc then this is a must for ur visit to the beautiful city of Hobart.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KJO74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear KJO74,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found your room tidy, well presented with a clean bathroom and enjoyed the ‘old world charm’ of our spacious sitting rooms.
We apologise that you felt that your room did not offer value and I would be happy to discuss this with you further if you wish. Please feel free to email me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au

Thanks,
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed four nights at Hadleys in a double bedroom it was comfortable and the hotel did have old charm. The meals we had were sufficient for us and not too pricey. It was a convenient place to stay to see Hobart and surrounds. Paid parking was available close by so we could get out and explore.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main street but we had a room facing the back, so there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Suziepi,
Thanks for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to write a review.
On behalf of all the staff at Hadleys, we are pleased you had an enjoyable and comfotable stay and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Hobart.

Thanks
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

An older hotel with high ceilings and interesting architecture. Rooms a good size (I was in an upgrade I think). Bed was comfortable and pretty quiet on 3rd floor at night. Staff were very nice tocdea l with. Breakfast was just ok. Very handy to anywhere in cd.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank robmigrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear robmigrates,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hadleys Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed the CBD location and the characteristics of the hotel – interesting architecture, comfortable bed and good sized rooms.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, your comments will certainly be shared with the entire team.
We hope to see you again when you next return to Hobart.
Thanks,
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Property: Hadley's Orient Hotel
Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing