We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Location is outstanding, we had wonderful service from a young lady on the desk. Breakfast was included with the package and was delicious and plentiful. Only downside is the room was a little small and it didnt have a light - just a lamp! Very comfy beds and the decor is lovely. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear TravellerNZ101,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are certainly valued. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    272
    58
    22
    6
See reviews for
81
319
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the Hadley. The staff are truly attentive. Josh helped us in finding a good restaurant at short notice which was a great recommendation. He is perfectly suited to the hospitality industry. The hotel certainly has an old world charm but that lovely charm is matched by the staff's attention to detail, friendliness, and responsiveness. We stayed in Room 302 which was more than a room but a spacious suite.
The hotel is in a great position; in the CBD but so close to Salamanca.
We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and ate in the bar area one evening. Meals were great.
I would definitely return to the Hadley for our next trip to Hobart.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a great balcony overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterOfAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear PeterOfAscot,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to our staff and your special mention of Josh is appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Hobart.

Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Having had it recommended by a few websites, my husband and I toddled along to Hadleys this afternoon for high tea - as advertised outside the hotel itself. But when we asked to sit down, we were told that high tea is only available if booked at least 24 hours ahead "because we need notice to bake the scones and things". What sort of capital city central hotel cannot provide a few cakes and sandwiches? Very disappointing, and not much by way of an apology either. No wonder this "olde worlde" hotel seems to be losing out to its more brash, modern competitors.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susievintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Susievintage,

I am sorry you didn’t get the opportunity to experience Hadleys Hotel High Tea. It has become a very popular way to spend an afternoon in Hobart. We do advertise outside the hotel with our poster clearly stating that bookings are essential. We ask our guests to book ahead to enable us to prepare all the components of a traditional High Tea; freshly baked scones with jam and cream, delicate pastries, gateaux and a selection of fresh sandwiches.
Whilst we can often accept last minute bookings, unfortunately we were not in a position to do so on this occasion without compromising the quality of your experience, which is why we turned you away with an apology.
Should you be returning to Hobart, we would be delighted to host you and your husband for High Tea. Please contact us at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au or 03 6237 2999.

Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I pride myself on writing balanced reviews so I will start with what's good about Hadley's. Fantastic location in the center of Hobart's CBD. Lovely reception staff who couldn't be more helpful and welcoming.

There were some disappointments however when it came to the very basics. Having jumped in the shower after a long day out and about exploring only to find that there were no towels of any description in the bathroom. It's not great to have to chase after towels when you are standing there dripping wet. Then the following day we returned to find that we had no toilet roll whatsoever in our bathroom (there was three there when we left that morning) and again the towels were missing. Certainly the staff acted when we called reception but we were annoyed that we constantly had to do this.

We were delighted to find a guest laundry in the hotel and we set about using the facility only for the clothes dryer to break down half way through drying our clothes. We reported this to the manager who said he would come down shortly. We waited for 40 minutes and had to chase him up again. It was the lovely Receptionist to stepped in to offer to dry our clothes elsewhere in the hotel.

You could do a lot better Hadley's by just getting the basics right. It's a lovely old hotel. Yes a bit tired but I don't think anyone really cares about that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear tcinsley,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Great to hear you enjoyed our CBD location and found the staff helpful and welcoming.
I am sorry that you had to contact reception to have your towels and toilet rolls replaced. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping department for immediate attention. This is a basic service one expects when staying in hotels.
I apologise for you not receiving a prompt response to your report regarding the break-down of the clothes dryer and having to follow up. It has since been repaired by the external company who own the machine. We will be reviewing our policies and procedures so all staff are on the same page when it comes to any request.
We are working hard to make improvements to the hotel and appreciate any feedback. We have already begun implementing upgrades to the property and are planning some refurbishments in the near future. Please feel free to contact me on feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au should you wish to discuss this matter further.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went to Hadley's Hotel for Christmas lunch and overall it was great. The smorgasbord lunch was excellent, a really good variety of food to choose from. The service was excellent and the staff did everything they could to make the day even more special.

We only had 2 issues, both which we mentioned to the staff. The restaurant where we were seated was in the atrium, which has a glassed ceiling. As it was quite a warm day (about 27 degrees), the atrium was like sitting in a sauna. The sun was beating down and some people had to be moved to other areas. There was one woman there who I thought was going to pass out. She was sweating from head to toe. I know that the weather is not controlled by the hotel, but the ceiling fans were completely inefficient, and there was no air-con. Our other issue was that the fresh prawns were frozen. However! As we were sitting in a very hot room, the prawns soon thawed out on our plates!

Overall, the Hadley's experience was good. I would definitely go back and recommend the restaurant to others. If they can sort out the glass roof, it would be a beautiful place to have a meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Maria D,

Thank you for joining us for Christmas Day lunch and taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the smorgasbord lunch and the wide variety of food available to choose from. Thank you for mentioning the staff and the excellent service you received, I will certainly pass on this significant feedback to them.

I would like to assure you that the prawns were fresh. I discussed your comments with the chef who confirmed the prawns were delivered fresh and seems that they were frozen as a result of being packed on a considerable amount of salt and ice to keep them cold in the dining area. We apologise that they arrived on your plate frozen.

As you mentioned, Christmas Day was quite a hot day and we don’t currently have air con installed in the atrium. The glass roof certainly traps in the heat and the ceiling fans are quite high to offer significant air flow. This is a matter we are aware of and looking into a suitable solution.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again for Christmas Day lunch this year.

Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuross Head, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is perfectly placed to walk down to the attractions of the harbour and Salamanca. The elegant foyer is a perfect reminder of the grand era of the hotel's past. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient in handling our booking in the context of the recent change of ownership. Our room 301 was another reminder of the past - entering into a small sitting area divided from the roomy bedroom with double glazed doors, and a separate bathroom. The electrical fittings need attention as some did not work. The dining room which was part of the original hotel with its lofty ceilings and ornate fireplaces is an absolute delight compared to modern hotels which all seem the same. I do hope the new owner restores and refurbishes the hotel to its former glory with sensitivity to its historical significance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Gwyn S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hadleys Hotel. Our CBD location is within walking distance to many of Hobart’s attractions and the waterfront precinct. No need to use the car!
We are delighted you enjoyed the elegance and old world charm of Hadleys Hotel. We are quite proud of its historical significance and do hope to restore the hotel to its former glory.
I will pass on your kind comments to the reception staff and your observations of the electrical fittings have been passed on to our maintenance department for attention; this feedback is appreciated.
We do hope you will come and stay with us again next time you are visiting Hobart.

Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

On booking in , a couple were complaining--never a good start. The reception staff were friendly and helpful , I ended up feeling sorry for them. Basically the the hotel is being refurbished--or so we were told. The room was small and dingy--the safe did not work or the television . As we had paid for an upgrade , I dread to think what the standard rooms are like. The whole atmosphere of this hotel is gloom.
We asked the staff if we could use their safe but they had not got a clue of what to do--offering no receipt until we asked for one. Not their fault , but poor training.
We were woken at 6.30 am as they laid the tables for breakfast. We did not eat in the restaurant as it was uninviting and empty , with a gloomy atmosphere.
Every time we asked why things did not work or were unavailable we were told it was because of the refurbishment. Here is a suggestion--close the place , refurbish it , or offer people a discount whilst the (so called) refurbishment takes place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear maxandrosie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry you left us feeling so unhappy. We do strive to ensure each of our guests have an enjoyable stay and are satisfied with our service and amenities. We are working hard to raise standards and provide consistency across the hotel. Our staff are all new to the property and are undergoing regular training on policies and procedures.

Since taking ownership of Hadleys Hotel 3 months ago, we have made many changes and upgrades including; complimentary wifi for all guests, complimentary in-house movies, new flat screen televisions, furniture, lighting and guest amenities. We are proud of the historical aspect of the building and are working hard to restoring the property back to its original grandeur.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter further with you and can be contacted via feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au

Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#11 of 46 in Hobart
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Property: Hadley's Orient Hotel
Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing