We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style hotel with potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Arrived for Australia Day weekend and there was no parking spots available, which the hotel has in a local car park (5 mins walk away), however there is free parking in the street from 6pm, so if you leaving early save a little money and just street park. Staff were friendly all weekend, especially bar staff and we were well looked after. It is a hotel with lots of character and its great that the hotel are trying to retain that but it just falls short of being really smart, room was looking a little tired and it probably could do with a refurbishment but, that said, it does have a lot more character than some of the modern hotels that you tend to find these days. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xsunseekers-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear xsunseekers-x,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do offer secure, off-site car parking (subject to availability) and charges apply. But, many of our guests have commented that a car is unnecessary as Hadleys is within walking distance to most of Hobart’s attractions, shops and the waterfront precinct. We are pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly and that you were well looked after. I will pass on your kind words to them which I know they will appreciate. I think you will be interested to learn that some major restoration works are due to begin shortly at Hadleys and we are very excited about the upcoming changes and improvements. We are delighted to hear you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very disappointed with the standard of the room; I expect much better for the price paid. Though the room (1 bedroom suite on level 1, Room 103) is large, chipped paint is found everywhere. The water tank of the toilet was leaking and the incident was reported twice before the problem was rectified. Smelly liquid was found in the kettle; the second kettle did not work and the third kettle was as dirty as the first one. Housekeeping was inconsistent; toilet paper was not replenished unless requested during the 5 night stay. The only positive is that the bed was comfortable, however, we paid to upgrade to a king size bed.

Note that the rooms facing the main street (Murray Street) are very noisy because of the pub on street level.

Room Tip: Room facing main street, Murray Street, could be quite noisy due to the pub on street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nutri305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear nutri305,
Thank you for your review and taking the time to speak with me over the telephone.
We appreciate you alerting us to the incidents you experienced and apologise for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay. We have passed on your comments to the various department heads for immediate attention.
Thank you for pointing out the improvements which need to be made, we will be addressing these shortly when the hotel will under-go some major restoration works which includes double glazing the windows at the front of the building. This should cut down the noise levels from the street below quite considerably.
As discussed, I would like to send you a follow-up email but I don’t have your email address. Please contact me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au
Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights...needed to book a third but was told fully booked out and to try elsewhere. In room Breakfast was forgotten first morning..so they rush around and finally got us some. I asked for complementary breakfast the next day which they honoured.
Pros. Location. good shower pressure and lotions etc. Reception area looks gorgeous. Friendly staff. In house movies.
Cons.
Small rooms (not much they could do about it really...maybe fold down luggage racks?!) Thin lumpy pillows. Stained pillowcase. Dissapointing breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JacSTARRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Jacinta84,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed our central location, good shower pressure, friendly staff, our gorgeous reception area and complimentary in-house movies. We are sorry you felt breakfast was disappointing and I would appreciate it if you would contact me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au to discuss further. The more information we have, the more equipped we are to rectify the situation. Your comments regarding the thin, lumpy pillow and stained pillow case have been presented to our Executive Housekeeper for immediate attention. We apologise for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Large room with queen and two single beds. Old fashioned decor. Bathroom old broken towel rack and soap holder, patched paint on walls in room. Chipped paint everywhere. Standard of presentation and overall room terrible. Disappointed as great location and for price paid expected much better

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Juanita I,
We are very sorry to hear you left Hadleys Hotel feeling disappointed. Naturally we would like all of our guests to depart with a smile on their face and be happy to return. Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please contact me on feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au
Thank you for pointing out the improvements which need to be made, we will be addressing these shortly when the hotel will under-go some major restoration works. We hope you will visit again to experience these exciting new changes.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Generally love quirky old historic hotels. Our very small room was toward the atrium. The bed was a double size. Not suited for two tall people. Our feet were off the end and the narrowness made turning over difficulty. There was no space for two large suitcases and carry-ons so moving around the room was a challenge. The room was stuffy and without an individual room thermostat, no ability to change the air flow or temperature. Opening a window didn't help because it faced the atrium where hot air rose to the top, no ventilation to the room. It was two miserable nights. The bar had character and a good happy hour. The breakfast was okay lots of choices. But the staff was slow to refill items.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bksquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Bksquared,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt Hadleys Hotel was disappointing. For future stays, please notify Reception immediately regarding your concerns as they are always happy to assist with a room move. We will soon begin restoration works on the hotel and part of this will include installation of air conditioners in the atrium rooms and addressing any ventilation issues.
Our Happy Hour runs a little longer than usual…Monday – Thursday 5.00pm-6.30pm and Fridays 5.00pm-7.00pm, so there’s plenty of time to relax and enjoy some of Tasmania’s finest wines, whiskies and local brews. Our full buffet breakfast, served daily in Restaurant 1834, should satisfy all appetites with its great variety of choice. Our staff do work hard to constantly replenish the food stations ensuring there is enough breakfast for all guests. I will most certainly pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage department to confirm that all staff are aware of breakfast procedures.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed three nights at Hadleys which is in a great location, arrangement with parking is okay, it works. For the price one can't really complain for an inner city hotel. We also like to choose venues that have a bit of history to them as does this hotel.

We had a room on the top (4th floor) facing the street but it was stark and dated. The entire hotel is due for the reno it's apparently going to get. Bed was comfy and linen really nice and it was clean with lovely bathroom smellies. Staff was always friendly and helpful and breakfast was pretty good the first two mornings. The third morning it appeared they had a different chef, hot stuff not so good. Only suggestion would be to warm their plates for their hot brekky as they cooled it down quickly.

The major complaint we would have is we literally did not get any sleep on our first night being a Saturday night. The noise from the drunken, screaming, swearing revellers in the street below was abysmal, while people were also doing wheelies and screeching around the corner in cars. This bedlam continued on well after 4.30am but don't know how much the hotel can do about this as it's outside their property. Ask for an internal room as there's really no view anyway! Thankfully, Sunday was much better and Monday night even better still.

Room Tip: Choose an internal room or one that doesn't face the main street if visiting on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear HappyTravelsQld,
It’s great to hear your positive comments regarding our staff, central location, comfy beds, clean linen and lovely bathroom amenities. Thank you for your suggestions regarding warming our plates for the hot breakfast, your comments have been passed on to our Head Chef for immediate attention.
We will soon begin restoration works on the hotel and part of this will include a big focus on the history and heritage of the building. There have been some interesting and historical events occur at Hadleys Hotel and we would like to share them with our guests and the residents of Hobart. The hotel rooms overlooking Murray Street, at the front of the building, are already in the planning stages to have double-glazed windows installed to replace the current windows. This should cut down the noise levels from the street below quite considerably.
We apologise for any inconvenience your room location caused throughout your stay, for future stays simply inform our Reservations team of your needs when booking and they will be happy to allocate your room accordingly. If you have any issues during future stays with us please don’t hesitate to contact Reception, open 24 hours, as they are able to rectify most problems immediately.
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed one night and it fitted our purpose just fine. Good value, efficient on-line booking, friendly reception staff. Great location, minutes from Salamanca Place.

Room was clean but small and quite dimly lit. OK for one night but would not recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Dave G,
Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff and efficient on-line booking system. Thank you also for mentioning that your room was clean, our housekeeping department work hard cleaning our rooms and appreciate your recognition. I do hope you will come back again and I would recommend booking a Superior Queen Room for that extra bit of space you missed on this stay. For future stays simply inform our Reservations team of your needs when booking and they will be happy to allocate your room accordingly.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £77 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing