We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best customer service I have ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The best customer service I have ever experienced”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The staff at Hadley's were always happy and helpful. I had family members with medical problems and the staff used their initative to help this family member. I can honestly not express how amazing the stuff were.

The rooms were clean and cosy.

The bistro has good honest cheap pub food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Katarina M,
Thank you for your review. It is inspiring to hear such positive comments. We are so happy you found every aspect of your stay enjoyable and hope you will return to Hadleys Hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    278
    59
    22
    6
See reviews for
88
330
47
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Yes this hotel is elderly but be gentle. The staff are fabulous - obliging to the end. The young man on reception when we arrived at 3am was outstanding (courtesy of Quantas cancelling our flight and sending us on a 3 hour road transfer (with no luggage) - he gave us emergency supplies and spent a great deal of time the next day chasing down our missing luggage from Quantas. We also encountered Rosie with the red hair and she is an undoubted asset to the hotel. The beds are the most comfortable we slept in during a 4 week road trip. Hobart is lovely. Yes the bar shuts early but if you are thirsty the pub next door is open till 3am with great beers (try the Matilda Bay tasting board). We loved Hadleys and will recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Trisha B
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hadleys Hotel. Thank you for your positive comments regarding your experience with our staff. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the entire team. It’s great to hear our beds were the most comfortable you slept in during your 4 week road trip. Hadleys Bar opens from 4.00pm – late daily, offering cosy surrounds for a casual meal or a relaxed drink at the end of a day spent exploring Hobart’s hidden secrets. Our Happy Hour runs just a little longer than usual…Monday - Thursday 5.00-6.30pm & Fridays 5.00 -7.00pm. Thank you for recommending Hadleys Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Pattie Reptik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights in April. The staff were lovely and the hotel has real charm. As most of the reviews say on the website, the place in undergoing renovations, but the rooms are lovely and clean, with plenty of space.

Particularly great location, just a short stroll down to Salamanca. Have already recommended this place to friends, and will definitely stay here when I come to Hobart next time.

Room Tip: Check out Hadley's website and book directly as I got a free room upgrade, rather than going thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear NicGarland,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so pleased you appreciated our lovely staff, the charm of our Hotel and found your room to be clean and spacious. We are centrally located in the CBD and within easy walking distance to many of Hobart’s attractions, activities and cultural experiences. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had three excellent dinners at the Bistro in Hadley's Hotel. The variety and preparation of the meals were great and cooked to perfection. They were very reasonably priced and could not be faulted.
The bar and waitress staff were very friendly and efficient at there work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Chris L,
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals at Hadleys Hotel and found them cooked to perfection and reasonably priced. It’s great to hear also that the bar and waitress staff you encountered were friendly and efficient at their work. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We weren't even staying at this hotel but a connecting hotel, when we wandered into Hadleys.
We met receptionist, Rosie. Wow!! What an asset to your business. She told us everything there was to know about Tasmania with a smile. As we had missed the tattersalls shops, she gave us info on how to do this online.
Nathan and Lisa in the bar were also exceptional!! Cannot comment on anything but the hotel and staff. We are coming back just for Hadleys soon.
Well done!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mickstew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mickstew13,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It’s lovely to read your kind words concerning our staff members and I know they will appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you to Hadleys Hotel soon!
Kind regards
Hadleys Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

All the good things I have read about this hotel are true.its got character. The service is excellent, with the staff being very helpful and friendly. It's located in walking distance to the Salamanca market, which is a big plus. Will definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta1967923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Carlotta1967923,
Thank you for your comments. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the character and location of Hadleys Hotel and found our staff helpful and friendly. It’s encouraging to receive positive feedback regarding our service and a fantastic compliment that you would definitely stay again. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

On arrival at Hadleys for a four day quiet and relaxing holiday we were impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. The reception staff went out of their way to arrange alternative and upgraded accommodation for us when they realised that the original room allocated within our specified booking was not suitable.They stressed the point that we needed to be comfortable during our stay.We found all staff to be courteous and obliging as they looked after us in a timely and efficient manner. We would not hesitate to return to Hadleys when next in Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear john s,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate your very kind words about our staff and your feedback will certainly be shared with the entire team. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting Hobart.
Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Hobart
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Property: Hadley's Orient Hotel
Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing