We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Graham Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
363
322
67
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
322
67
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teaold world charmgrand old hotelrestored hotelturn down servicesuperior roommurray streetold stylestep back in timespa suitesalamanca marketscar parkfamily roomsalamanca placebed was very comfortablereception staffcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Booked mystery hotel through wotif titles superior room with breakfast. Extremely disappointed once we found out where it was. Check in was fine but to find out car parking was off site and at least a 5-10 min mission every time you wanted to leave was stupid. Considering there are more hotels in Hobart that are not only cheaper but provide on site parking and for free, will not stay again. Room was very average and outdated. If this was a superior room I would hate to see the standard rooms. TV was barely loud enough to hear and rooms were not very well soundproof so if you turned up to loud the whole floor would hear. Toilet barely worked when flushed everytime. Breakfast was average, although half of the times were barely stocked and was messy. Only good thing was the location.
Overall horrible experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 21,101,984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear 21101984,
We are sorry to hear your comments. Our guests arriving by car are welcome to park in the no-parking zone at the front of the hotel (allocated for this purpose), to unload their bags and check-in. They are then directed to our off-site, secure, under-cover parking located 270m down the road from the hotel. Alternatively, street parking is an option but parking signs should be read and understood.

Our accommodation rooms are named according to the type of bedding in each room e.g. a Standard Double features a double bed and Superior Queen features a queen size bed. Hadleys Hotel was built in 1834 and is one of the oldest hotels in Australia. We have tried to retain the heritage feel throughout the building and within our accommodation rooms with the unique, Victorian style furniture and fittings – we are currently working through a significant refurbishment program (due for completion in September 2014) and feedback so far has been very positive.

We are sorry to hear you experienced concerns with your television and toilet. For future stays, please notify Reception (available 24 hours a day) immediately regarding your concerns as they are always happy to assist with any issues or facilitate a room move if required.

We are pleased to hear you found a positive in the location of our property,

Naturally we would like all of our guests to depart with a smile on their face and be happy to return. If you are returning to Hobart and would consider staying with us again please feel free to contact me at feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au and I will personally arrange.

Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Booked a superior queen room for $119 on wotif, price included wifi and full breakfast buffet, also a 2 for 1 drink voucher.

Parking is no longer available on site but is available close by for $15 per night, we parked on the street...be mindful that if you park on the street paid parking starts at 8.30am.

Staff at reception were friendly on check in and check out. Staff member in the bar/small restaurant friendly and helpful.

Room was large with a small sitting area. While the building in old and some of the furniture seeing better days (scratched and some stains)....the carpet was newish and the room was clean, bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet and I slept reasonably well.

Dinner served in the bar area was delicious. I had a lamb roast for $13, real lamb...not the thinly sliced lamb...roast potatoes and pumpkin with steamed carrots and beans. I really enjoyed the meal. Two glasses of wine for the price of one...made for a relaxing evening meal :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear 2shea,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed your roast lamb meal, served in the bar. Hadleys Hotel was originally built in 1834 and celebrates her 180th birthday this year! We are soon to begin some restoration works around the hotel and within our accommodation rooms and we’re working to restoring the property back to its former grandeur. We hope you’ll return to experience the exciting new changes. Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked through wotif, on an overnight stay,
Front desk receptionist was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome.
We were soon in our room on the 3rd floor, there is an elevator, thank heavens,
Room was very clean and full of character. My wife was overjoyed when she discovered the bath. Room had a heat pump so was warm and cosy.
My only suggestion to improve room would be to have a clock radio.
Breakfast was ok, I think chef was having a bad day, bacon cold and Bain Marie lacking in produce, but the muffins were good as was the lady fussing about and chasing eggs.

Look we enjoyed Hadley's and probably stay again, my tip is parking outside the front door on meters is free between 6pm and 8.30 in the morning, and there is cameras watching. Otherwise it costs $15 for parking via the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SLACKESTBLADDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear SLACKESTBLADDER,
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are pleased to hear you received a warm welcome from our front office receptionist and found your room warm, cozy, clean and full of character. Thank you for your suggestion regarding a clock radio. We recently purchased new clock radios for each of our rooms which have now been distributed in every room throughout the hotel. Your comments regarding your experience at breakfast have been passed on to our head chef for immediate attention and we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We do hope you will return to Hadleys next time you are visiting Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked Hadleys via a Wotif deal and I am happy I did. It is a great old hotel in a fabulous position close to the Brook Street Wharf for the Ferry to MONA and easy walking distance to Salamanca.
Great, friendly and helpful staff who offer that extra bit of conversation - nice when you are travelling alone.
I can recommend a stay here. Room was a good size, linen very clean and bathroom etc fine.

Room Tip: If you cannot carry your bags up a few stairs make a special request as there were still 3 - 4 steps after catching the lift. Not a problem for me but might be for some.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VPATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear VPATraveller,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it’s great to hear you found our location convenient and within easy walking distance to the waterfront and Salamanca. Thanks also for your kind words concerning our staff, they do appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have now stayed at Hadleys on 3 separate occasions. First time was amazing and gave my son the true hotel experience but after my last stay was less than desirable left me disappointed that I had not given my other son the same experience, I must say that this time around our stay was more than desirable.
Who would complain about an upgrade to a superior queen suite with our own personal balcony. The staff were lovely and the receptionist went out of here to help me with our wireless network. A very big thank you too Pattie Reptik and staff for restoring our faith in good old fashion customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear cjstr,
We are so pleased you chose to return to Hadleys Hotel and that your stay, this time around, was more than desirable. Thank you for providing this feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time you are visiting Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews