We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect anniversary experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Perfect anniversary experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I work in the same street as Hadleys and so had walked past many times and was aware of it's historic associations. Looking for something special for a wedding anniversary, I took my husband for afternoon tea then surprised him with the room I'd booked in advance. Actually , we'd been upgraded to a suite so it was a better surprise than I'd planned.

The hotel is old-fashioned in the nicest way. Graceful and sedate with a lovely atmosphere. Furnishings are solid and modern features like bathrooms, TV etc are excellent. It was warm in the depths of winter and our street-front room quiet. The breakfast was monumental, with everything you could desire.

Special mention of the staff who were efficient, attentive and warm. We got the feeling they liked working at Hadleys.

I should make mention of the location, which wasn't important for us but which is very central.

Thanks for a memorable anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 968Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear 968Marie,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and allowing us to be a part of your wedding anniversary celebrations. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced a memorable anniversary.
Thanks for the special mention about our staff being efficient, attentive and warm. They do enjoy looking after all of our guests and always appreciate positive feedback.
We hope you will drop in and visit us next time you are passing by.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    274
    58
    22
    6
See reviews for
81
321
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
219 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I chose the hotel based on the Stay 3 pay 2 deal I got direct on their website. Rosie G was very helpful when I hadn't got my email confirmation as was the other Rosie when we checked in :)
The location is fabulous, within walking distance of Salamanca, the main town and all attractions.
The car park is around the corner a bit but you can park just outside (paid) and they give you a card for the car park ($15/day).
There was no one to bring our luggage in from outside but we are not sure if this is standard or the bellhop was busy.
When we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to a 2 room suite. Lovely- the only complaint ( we had the one that looked out towards the water (no water view)- was in bedroom 2 the wall was near something maybe washing machines for the cleaners?) which turned on early in the AM. I am sorry but I cannot remember the room number.
However, an upgrade is an upgrade and the fact we had a lovely bathroom, 2 separate bedrooms, a dining table and a lovely sitting area in front of the tv, we were happy.
There is no kitchen but there is a small fridge and a kettle.
In the bathroom we had a spa bath.
This hotel is just lovely. There is a breakfast room that has good value breakfasts.
Their bar is like the old style speakeasy bars and did great chips and a great Toblerone cocktail for us.
The decor fits with the heritage of the hotel, so please do not expect fine lines and modern decor.
Location as mentioned is exceptional and the airport bus does stop right opposite for you.
Loved it and would recommend to my clients.

Room Tip: The particular suite we were in (number escapes me now sorry) was right at the end of the corridor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildflowerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear wildflowerb,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear you loved your stay and would recommend us to your clients. Our central location certainly does appeal to our guests as it is within walking distance to Salamanca, the CBD and most of Hobart’s attractions. Thank you for alerting us to your only complaint and our Maintenance Department were alerted to your feedback immediately and are addressing the situation. Our restoration project is well and truly underway (due for completion in September 2014) with works taking place on our accommodation rooms, corridors and public areas - with a strong focus on the heritage aspect of the property. We hope you will return to experience these exciting new changes at Hadleys Hotel and we thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I wasn't a guest but had quite a few hours wait for an airport shuttle on a rainy hobart day. The staff were kind enough to stow my rather heavy bag and hang out in the bar where I had a lovely early dinner and a relaxing few hours. Great atmosphere and really friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Alice W,
Thank you for providing this positive feedback. We are so pleased you had a lovely dinner and had the opportunity to relax in the bar, enjoying the great atmosphere and really friendly staff. We hope you will come back and stay at Hadleys Hotel next time you are in Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Located near the city centre and the harbour, the hotel has an old charm ambience. I enjoyed my 4 days stay in February, when the weather is perfect for a stroll to Salamanca waterfront and the harbour.

The hotel interior is late 19th century architecture furnished with modern facilities made the stay very memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear hduc,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your 4 day stay in February and made the most of our central location – within walking distance to the city centre and the harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved the old style elegance of Hadley's, we stayed for 2 nights (About halfway through a month long holiday. It was nice to stay in a hotel which was not a part of a typical modern chain.) The reception and public rooms on the ground floor certainly have an old world charm. Hearing the grand piano being played (well), whilst enjoying a drink in the bar after dinner made for a feeling of sophistication. The bar staff were very friendly. We enjoyed an excellent buffet dinner at he hotel on our first night in Tasmania. Breakfasts were good, being a typical buffet style. Our room was on the first floor, it was comfortable and clean, but furnishings were a bit tired and quirky. The bathroom was fairly basic and could do with a major upgrade. Guest laundry facilities were insufficient for a hotel of this size. we got in first, but others in our group complained of a lot of waiting around. Despite the minor moans, we would recommend this hotel and would happily stay again if we were back in Hobart in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Andrew W,
Thank you for providing this feedback and for pointing out the areas you felt could be improved. You may be interested to learn that we have begun restoration works on our accommodation rooms and we are very excited about the upcoming changes and improvements. We envisage taking Hadleys Hotel back to her former grandeur with an emphasis on the historical and heritage significance of the building. We are pleased you would recommend Hadleys Hotel and would happily stay again. We do hope you have the opportunity to return to Hadleys to experience the exciting enhancements.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had a lovely room with crisp white sheets and all conveniences except an ironing board. Staff were very friendly and followed up an airport shuttle that had left without me. Great location in the city near the Salamanca Markets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzantsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mzantsi2,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to post a review. We do apologise that your room was not equipped with an ironing board. Please be assured that we are checking each room to ensure they all contain the obligatory conveniences. For future stays with us please don’t hesitate to contact Reception, open 24 hours, as they are able to rectify most problems immediately. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location and found our staff to be very friendly. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at hadleys. Lovely rooms with a comfortable bed. Enjoyed the High tea as well as the Buffet Breakfast. Fantastic service by friendly professional staff. Worth staying to get that old world experience. The building is just gorgeous. It's also light and very clean. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellayia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Bellayia,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hadleys Hotel and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Property: Hadley's Orient Hotel
Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing